We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #2 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel Amira's staff gave us a warm welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. They helped us make the most of our 2 night stay by assisting us with where to go, what to see, where to eat etc.Everything we wanted to see (Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Grand Bazaar) are all within easy walking distance of the hotel which was great. The hotel itself was very clean and modern and my family felt very welcome and secure. The bedrooms were modern and clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and provided turkish foods as well as western food for the less adventurous. The roof terrace was a great place to have an afternoon or evening drink and provided good views of the old city and the sea. I would definitely recommend Hotel Amira for a wonderful city break in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wes942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,472 - 1,478 of 3,111 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Amira for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and it really did live up to its excellent reviews. Service is very warm and helpful, especially the two waiters on the roof terrace. The breakfast is abundant and top quality - and don't miss the complimentary afternoon tea. We also hired out the wellness centre for an hour, lovely jacuzzi and sauna and a nice respite from the busyness of Istanbul.

The main selling point for me was the roof terrace. Gorgeous views over the Bosphorus and towards the Blue Mosque. It's unbelievably atmospheric to sit on the terrace during the call to prayer, which you can hear from the many mosques surrounding the hotel. The location is great for the sights but Sultanahmet is not the best place for restaurants and bars, which is the hotel's only downside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djsage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hotel, very close to everything, but very quiet. The staff was fantastic, particularly AJ behind the front desk. He met us at the desk, took us for complimentary drinks and Turkish Delight while he explained over a map the things one can't miss, marking the best routes, best restaurants, etc. His advice was invaluable and delivered in a very witty style.

Room Tip: The bathroom was a little small, but very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Amira for part of our Honeymoon trip in Istanbul. The experience was amazing and the concierge was knowledgeable and very friendly. He helped us navigate through the city and showed us on the map exactly where to go and not go. When we got to our room there were flower petals on the bed which made for a romantic setting for our honeymoon. The location of the hotel was great - we were able to walk to all of the sites in a short amount of time and take an inexpensive taxi ride to the restaurants at night. On the day that we checked out we left very early in the morning. Since we were missing the free breakfast in the hotel (leaving before it started), they were kind enough to bring a small selection of the breakfast foods up to our room for us so that we wouldn't miss out. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone traveling to Istanbul who wants to stay in the old city close to the sites and daily activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JELG0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Selected Hotel Amira based on Trip Advisor and other reports. Winner!
Location - 10 minutes form key tourist attractions such as Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Cisterns and the key tram system through Istanbul. Good selection of restaurants and cafes in the immediate area.
Hotel - the amalgamation of 2 buildings to create the hotel adds an interesting atmosphere to the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent bathroom. Suspect that we did not have an 'entry level' room, but it was great. Breakfast was a special treat with daily variations for interest. Roof top bar provided an interesting view over the water and some worthwhile food for an easy night in.
Staff - very helpful before arrival in recommending local tour operators. The briefing we received from AJ set us up for our entire time in Istanbul.
A great choice which we would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldportz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have to come to love boutique hotels all over the world, and the Amira has all the best qualities of why we choose to stay at these. Exceptional service starts at check-in, which is personal and includes an orientation discussion with drinks on the roof terrace. The breakfast buffet is elegant and includes everything you'd expect on a fine Turkish buffet. Staff are always offering to help you. The rooms are spacious, modern and well air conditioned. Then there is the location in the Old City. You can walk a few blocks of the sea or away for the sea to all of the Old City attractions; everywhere is walkable. Finally, there are dozens of good restaurants in the area. We would stay here again in a minute. This place is an unforgettable treasure.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jermil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was very nice and clean, comfortable and pleasant. The people there were extremely helpful and so friendly and very accommodating. Location was perfect. The only downside was that you had to take stairs. They do have an elevator, but the way the building is set up (like two buildings combined), it doesn't go to every floor. This wasn't a problem for me since the staff is very happy to carry your luggage, but thought I would mention it for those who may have some trouble walking up and/or down stairs. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,166 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $70 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing