We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Location & Friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #4 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Good Location & Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was an excellent hotel for its location, facilities and hospitality. All the staff were wonderful. We were given very useful information on arrival and helped in every way to make the stay excellent.

Istanbul itself is amazing and definitely needs a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puvisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,518
    288
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
425
1,560
170
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

All the positive reviews were met on our five night stay. From this location, we could walk up ten minutes to the Blue Mosque and then all of Sultahemet. Very nice breakfast each morning and tea in the afternoon. The staff is fantastic, great with suggestions and guidance and help making reservations for Hamam, or whatever we needed. The wake-up call for the way too early international flight came with a knock on the door and two hot coffees! The rooftop lounge area looked great and had nice views, but was closed for services in the winter and was really too cold to stay and enjoy. Looking forward to the return.

Room Tip: We had main floor off the entry and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Amira for three nights earlier this month. I took the metro from the airport then transferred to the tram. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the tram station. The staff were exceptional. I was immediately welcomed and was given a drink in the hotel restaurant. I was given a very detailed orientation from AJ. Any questions and concerns were immediately answered.

My room was clean and spacious. I travel solo and expected a very small single room but was quite pleased with my double bed. The view from my room was of the hotel next door which looked lovely from the outside. There was also a beautiful antique car parked on the street beside the hotel. In the room there was a flat screen TV, a desk with chair, and a small seating area with table in the room. There was a small fridge stocked with beverages for purchase. A complimentary bottle of water is provided daily .Robes, slippers, and a wide variety of toiletries were provided. The bathroom had a shelf for storage of toiletries. There was a bathtub/shower combination with glass enclosure.

A large buffet breakfast was included with the room. Each day there was a large variety of foods. My favorite was the bread/pasty station. Coffee, tea, juice, and water are served each day. There is a small additional charge if you would like an omelet for breakfast. Afternoon tea is also included. A variety of pastries, tea, and Turkish delight were served daily. The staff in the restaurant/bar were excellent. They were very helpful and answered any questions that I had about the food/drinks.

Several major tourist attractions are within walking distance. I walked to the Sultanahmet Camii (Blue Mosque), Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, and Istanbul Archeological Museums. I took the tram to and from Taksim Square.

If you speak English and no Turkish, do not worry. I conversed in English with each staff member at the hotel with no problems. I truly felt safe and very welcome at this hotel. I will stay at Hotel Amira each time that I visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rngonetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

a small room, which is the normal in Sultan Ahmet area, yet very comfy, nice location, very clean, and super excellent helpful stuff.
the breakfast menu is fairly acceptable, though on the last couple of days , i had very noisy neighbors on the hotel, the stuff did their best to stop that but they didn't care :) yet i enjoyed the place, and would definitely consider staying their again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MA1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the top two hotels I have ever stayed in, and I am a seasoned traveler. I almost every way, large and small, hotel Amira delivers the ultimate in service and accommodations. The desk staff all speak perfect English and are able to help with any reservations, directions or other needs. Umbrellas at the front door, in case you forgot yours. Included wifi. Best breakfast buffet I've ever seen, with eggs, cereal, cake, tea, coffee, salads, dried fruits, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants. Free tea and snacks between 4pm and 6pm. Also, happy hour glass of wine (a large glass) for 4 euros at that time.

When you arrive, after you have checked in, they provide a free glass of wine to each adult, and someone sits down with you and shows you the city attractions on a map. Sim was the lady who talked with us, and she spent substantial time orienting us for our stay. They truly take the approach of making you're trip a success, and not just your hotel stay.

There is a standard keypad safe in the closet big enough to hold a laptop, iPad, etc. You program the combination as you like.

Downside to this location: Be prepared to be awakened by the call to prayer from 3 adjacent mosques (one of which is the Blue Mosque). I'm not sure whether another location would be quieter, but here you will definitely be awakened. It did not bother us much. Time varies. 6am in February. Much earlier in the summer, I believe.

Room was clean and tastefully appointed. Everything we needed was provided. The only thing which didn't work was the bathroom fan. initially, it made a noise so we didn't turn it on. then, it seems they noticed the problem and disabled it (room 801). We got the larger room, and it was plenty big. The smaller one would probably have been fine. Slippers and bathrobes. Complimentary bottle of water each day (do NOT drink or brush your teeth with tap water in Istanbul). Taxi station just outside the door. Tram stop is 10 minute walk away which provides access to the Spice Bazaar, Grand Bazaar, and New District. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are 10 minutes and 15minutes walk away.

There are so many little things which they did here that made our trip so much easier and more enjoyable. Many thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Unsunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took a cab from the airport to the hotel, initially the driver didn't know where to go but we figured it out in the end! The location of the hotel is great. There were always people around - we stayed out late most evenings after dinner and wandered back and felt quite safe. It's an easy walk to most of the nearby tourist attractions. The only thing to note is there there are some steep streets around the hotel so if you are elderly or have mobility issues, that may be something to think about. But most people with a normal amount of fitness will be more than fine. The room was spotless, the bed extremely comfortable. There's aircon, which is necessary in Turkey! The service is wonderful, staff are very helpful with recommendations on where to eat/what to see etc. Breakfast is good - try the 'local' tea, served in local glasses and small saucers. Being vegetarian, I stuck to the pastries and cereals with milk (along with the tea) but my friend tried some of the other things on offer and said it was fine. There was a computer with free internet access in the breakfast room, but mornings was peak time to use it, and while the connection was adequate, it's not the fastest thing in the world. But we really enjoyed the hotel and our time here, cannot fault service and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussieladytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful place...cozy and delightful...
The staff simply makes you feel at home immediately...esp the kind of enthusiasm they show to make your trip to Istanbul absolutely memorable. The food esp the breakfast and the thoughtful team time spread are way too good. The staff is extremely well behaved and helpful. We just had to step out of the hotel and all the must see attractions were within 10 minute walk(walk on a beautfiul cobbled street). They present you with an immensely detailed map of the area(and the must see places) that makes your getting around very simple and easy.
Rooms are lovely esp the one looking over the Bosphorous.

We recommend this place for you bestest stay in Istanbul:)

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the Bosphorous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smaranika d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#1 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#3 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#13 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Property: Hotel Amira Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing