We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bosphorus Strait

Bosphorus Strait
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.14*
and up
Bosphorus Dinner Cruise From Istanbul Europe Side
Ranked #8 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dbayeh, Lebanon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Cruising the Bosphorus (Bogaz) is a unique experience. When you are in the ferryboat, you can enjoy seeing both sides (European and Asian) and the bridges linking them. In addition to that, different islands (Adalar or Princess Islands) can be observed, and all in the same view! You don't need to turn your head or to stare, everything is available, amazing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CedroLibani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,677
    2,368
    439
    68
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a nice change of scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

After walking and touring all of the sites of Sultanhamet, the cruise is a nice change where you can sit and just take in your surroundings. It does give you a great perspective of the layout of the city. We opted to take the long route which leaves from just beside the Galata bridge at 10:35AM and takes about 1.5 hours (including a few stops) to reach its last stop Anadolu. There you are given 3 hours before departure to walk up to the castle, view the city and the opening to the Black Sea, and enjoy a nice lunch (with views of course).

It was also great to sip some Turkish tea during the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fascinating area, and worth a boat trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

No matter where you choose to look out across the Bosphorus - whether from Galata Tower, from the Asian side, or from a waterside cafe, it's difficult not to be awed by the significance of the this strait.

We took the city authority Sehir Hatlari Bosphorus Cruise up the the Bosphorus, which we really enjoyed. We got the audioguide, which gave plenty of information about the many buildings and monuments en route. We took the full cruise to the northermost town before the Black Sea, Anadolu Kavagi, spent some time there, and returned shortly afterwards. Keep your eyes peeled en route, as you might even see dolphins, as we did!

They have two options this Spring – a full cruise for 25 TL which departs from Eminonu at 10:35am, and between April and October also from 1:35pm, and takes about an hour and a half to reach Anadolu Kavagi. Yoros Castle is a 20 min walk uphill from the town. Boats return to Eminonu at 3pm, and in the summer additionally a bit later at 5pm.

Alternatively the short cruise is a 2 hour round loop starting and ending in Eminonu, leaving at 2:30pm, and costing 10TL.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LianneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The strait that makes Istanbul so special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky to enjoy terrific weather on the boat, the city looked very beautiful on both sides of Bosphorus. It is a nice way to feel the sunshine and understand the former grandeur and vicissitudes of Istanbul. I took the half day cruise arranged by my hotel, which gives you opportunity to wander around several off the beaten track sites along the shore. In my opinion, the places we visited were a bit underwhelming, and for the price (80+ lira per person), the guide was not really informative. Just hop on any boat in Eminonu port, it's much cheaper and offers the same views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luEabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
268 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Even with kids this is so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

River tours can be over-rated and I thought this is one of them. Look for boats on other side of the bridge (tukloy?) from the spice market.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosphorus Strait also viewed

 

Been to Bosphorus Strait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing