We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, no frills”
Review of Hotel Erenler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Erenler
Ranked #94 of 1,078 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2012

For the price this place is good value. The staff, think it's two brothers are very helpful and easy going. The rooms are basic but clean and airy. There is free wifi and the shower room was spotless. My only criticism would be the rock hard pillows. I was travelling on my own and I felt safe here. I had to leave very early to catch my flight but it was great as an airport shuttle bus stops right outside. The staff will sort you out a ticket for a bargain 5 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank serena_7426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed for two nights in a mixed dorm, though i saw the privates and others. For the price i paid, it was decent (for a hostel). But as a hotel, i would not call it great. Things can be improved - fixing things in the kitchen (though they don't allow cooking, but i fixed tea - it was OK), cleaning (and may be upgrading) the refrigeratior. I didn't see A/C, but there were fans. Showers can be subdivided to add more showeres (only 2 on the floor). The positives - nice caring staff (they talked the other guest in the dorm to not smoke inside -sorry coming from NYC, i found the consept of smoking inside alien), close to everything, old charm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yidd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a very basic hotel and is quite old built. It is located in a quiet street off the main tramway (off Gulhane station).

Distance from...
Gulhane Tram Station: 2 mins walk
Gulhane Park: 5 min walk
Hagia Sophia/ Sultanahmet Mosque: 10 min walk

The rooms are avergae/small size. The beds and pillows were basic. Bathrooms were clean but again basic. TV was pretty useless as it only had local channels. WIFI only worked in the corridors and not in the room - I was told this is a temporary problem only. The staff was friendly and helpful - helped arrange taxis and free advice as you need. One of them could speak English fine, none else. There is no food/breakfast service however you can make your own tea in kitchen.

I thought this was very good value for money on my first visit to Istanbul (£30/double room) but I later found out (on my second/third visit) that you can get much much better in same price or a few £ extra in even closer location to Hagia Sophia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back, the one facing the street can be a bit noisy when windows opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hotel Erenler is stashed away in an excellent location in Istanbul's Old City, just a few hundred meters from major sights such as Hagia Sophia (600 m away) and the Blue Mosque (1 km). The hotel's website is great (http://www.hotelerenler.com) and offers all the information you need to get to the hotel. The trip from Ataturk airport via metro and tram is easy and the hotel rests just 100-200 meters north of the Gulhane tram stop. They also have airport pickup available for 25 euros, which is expensive seeing how easy the distance is to cover by public transport that costs a total of 4 TL (about 1,75 euros).

The inside of the hotel seemed bizarre in shape. The staff only exchanged a few words with us, but they seemed friendly enough. We had booked a twin room, yet we received a basic room with four beds, shared bathroom and shower, free wifi, a small table with two dirty plastic chairs, no tv or aircon and only a single plug on the wall for electricity. I can imagine it might not be enough for four people.

The beds were a touch on the harder side and the accommodation seemed only somewhat clean. Also the blanket on my bed was too short to cover my very average length body fully, which resulted in lesser sleep quality. The shared toilet was a very small, unclean room with two toilet stalls of which one caters to the western and one to the eastern standards (crouch-to-poo). I found it amusing that a garden hose had been used to remodel the water tap.

For its location Hotel Erenler is a very good choice, but for accommodation quality there must be better options within the same price range (15,5 euros per night) in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

All right, I paid 9 euro a night for a dorm room. You can't expect much for that price. The room was fairly clean and I did like the big shower rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the other guests were great. The only problem I really have with this establishment is that you can get a better hostel for 10 euro a night, more comfortable with free breakfast and air conditioning. But Hotel Erenler is quiet, and the location is hard to beat - right next to the tram line with a lot of the classic Istanbul sights just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seam_by_seam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The room was basically a squar with beds crammed into it. Nothing else. Not even a plug socket or a fan or even the ability to have the windows slightly open but still locked.
Shared toilets were disgusting and if it weren't for the nice guy at the front desk I'd have given this place one star.
If it wasn't in a major city it would struggle to charge $1 for a nights stay - We stayed one night and if we had have been booked in for longer would have checked out early.
In a very loud location too.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

This motel is a quite valid place for staying in order to visit a pearl like Istanbul.
It is really near the train station (5 minutes by feet) and so really near the harbour,
Not so many services, a really 2 places small room, but it`s all you need for a short/medium staying as turist in istanbul.
The bathroom is personal in certain room (I think a 2 place room with private bath is not more than 20 euro by night).
People working there is friendly and provide a valdi service as well.
If you want a plcae to stay in Istanbul at a lower cost, this is perfect, but reserve teh room with to much time of advantage!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elucalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Merih 2 Hotel
Merih 2 Hotel
#1,008 of 1,159 in Istanbul
33 reviews
Subrosa Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,078 in Istanbul
87 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Galata
Golden Galata
#121 of 1,078 in Istanbul
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Old Mile Suites
Old Mile Suites
#44 of 1,078 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#15 of 1,078 in Istanbul
205 reviews
Kocak Pension
#344 of 1,078 in Istanbul
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erenler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erenler

Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Tayahatun Sok. No:11 Eminonu/Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,078 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $17 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Erenler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing