We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place good for family with kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #20 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place good for family with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in March and were traveling with a 4 yr old. We stayed for 4 days and booked directly with them through their site allowing a free transfer from the airport and discount for cash payment. The airport transfer when arriving was difficult to find in the crowd of signs. Even after identifying ourselves, we had to wait almost 25 minutes for a ride to become available while the company attended to others that came after us. Was not fun with a toddler.

Hotel was very good and accomodated all our requests. We enjoyed the apple tea they serve in the afternoon. We also enjoyed some food from the bistro. The breakfast was very good and filling. Room was comfy and cozy. The place is close to blue mosque, hagia sophia, and topkapi palace. We just walked easily with our son and there was a comfort that we could easily walk back as soon as our son wanted.

We requested a late checkout and were accomodated. The ride back to the airport was arranged through the reception (extra charge). The ride made us all sick!! the driver was in a crazy rush and drove really bad.

Hotel is excellent. Transfers? don't think so!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ProffX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    171
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
528
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

All good about this hotel. It is a small concern which makes it's homely and friendly, all staff very accommodating and professional, they seemed exceptionally good with young children and babies,which was nice to see(although we were childless). The room we stayed in was of a very good standard, very clean and roomy, with large comfy beds and en- suite was also spacious and well equipped. Breakfast Buffett had plenty to choose from.
The room we had overlooked the back, which was lacking in a view, but not a problem for us, apart from the noise from an extractor pipe / fan which would intermittently kick in. The front of the hotel overlooks other quaint little hotels and the street is tucked away a little, so is quite. The location is minutes away from the blue mosque, aya Sophia, top kapi palace and grand bazaar. Night time is safe to walk around in, we had no problems walking back to the hotel every night. The only thing lacking, we found, was a roof terrace which would provide a view of this beautiful city from the hotel. Nonetheless, we visited other roof terraces of hotels during the week which we were made welcome at, all in all a lovely place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cluckington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Courteous personnel willing to help you with any of your queries. Surprisingly included in the price was the afternoon coffee/tea! Excellent location in Sultanahmet! A lot of the most important sites are in walking distance.

At times wifi signal was weak and surfing was impossible. However the Hotel has a laptop access point in the front desk, so if you are in need of accessing the internet, you have a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for a week in November (an adult couple, no kids), and found it very welcoming and relaxing, especially after the crazy airport arrival. The hotel is on a quiet street in then old town, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We felt very well taken care of here. I recommend the "Hamman Deluxe" room - it has a quasi-Turkish bath (with shower, not bathtub), which felt lovely at the end of a long day walking, and was large enough for two. This area is near the Blue Mosque, so you will hear the call to prayer in the early AM, but that was no problem for us.

PROS:
Free breakfast; Attentive staff; Comfortable beds; Quiet location; Convenient location near all the major monuments and a pleasant stroll to the ferry docks.

CONS: No elevator, so you do have to trek up the stairs a bit. With all the lovely Turkish food we were eating, we didn't mind that at all, but it could be an issue for some travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Istanbul in early March.This was our 2nd time but definitely was the memorable one.We are lucky that we found this charming hotel for our 6 nights stay.Hotel Seraglio is the best place for Istanbul.You can not beat the location,only 5 min. walking distance to all of the major attractions.Best staff,all the hotel team is very attentive and professional.Our room was the lovely Hammam Superior room.We had our own Turkish Bath.If you are lucky enough,book thr Hammam room since they have only 2 at all.Large and clean rooms,free tea&coffee facilities,safe in room,free WI-FI with an excellent signal,comfortable large bed.Buffet breakfast was just excellent with the free omelet station.We will be definitely returning back.Book directly via official website to get great promotions.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherinestewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Seraglio for two nights in mid-March. The room I was given was beautiful and had the usual amenities (hairblow dryer, slippers, shampoo, conditioner, etc.). It was located in a quite part of the old city and I had a wonderful sleep on both nights I was there. While I am sure there are many nice hotels in Sultanahmet, where Hotel Seraglio EXCEEDS is in its HOSPITALITY. Upon arriving at the hotel I was offered a complimentary beverage of my choice and given information regarding the city. That itself was quite special. The owner was an incredibly friendly man and was so welcoming and informative. After a mix up concerning the room I was staying in on the last night, the owner of the hotel went above and beyond what he needed to do to compensate for this problem. He not only allowed me a late check out to coincide with my mid-night flight, but he also provided me a private car to drop me at the airport free of charge. This is the type of customer service that one does not see anymore. They truly care about their customers and their happiness and do what they can to meet their needs and make up for any mistakes that may occur. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly return to it when I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Marrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm so glad we stayed here for our 3-night stay in Istanbul. The service was great. Upon check-in, we got an intro to the city while our luggage got moved to our rooms. The front desk staff really go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We had a view of the Blue Mosque from our window. Breakfast was very good with an omelet station. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was big and super comfortable. The shower pressure was amazing with very hot water. Best of all, the location is perfect close to the historic tourist sites. I would not stay in Taksim unless you are big into nightlife and want to go clubbing every night. There are plenty of hookah bars and restaurants in this neighborhood as well.

The only negative thing about the hotel was the spotty Wifi. There were a couple of networks available, but I had trouble connecting to all of them.

Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the wonderful stay! It made our time in Istanbul all the much better. We felt so welcomed, safe, and comfortable during the entire time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariajeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing