We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay!”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Seraglio for 6 nights in end Sep/early Oct 2013. Before booking with the hotel, I have a few email exchanges to find out more information and Mrs Secil Oney YILMAZ of Sales & Reservation has been most helpful and prompt in feedback. As we booked directly with the hotel, airport transfer was provided. We arrived just before 8am, our check-in was efficient and we were taken to our room right away (instead of having to wait till the standard check in time) and given complimentary breakfast. After a long flight, this welcoming gesture was very much appreciated.
The hotel staff were friendly. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The water pressure in the the bathroom was very good. Breakfast came with an egg-station and enough varieties (at least for us). We also enjoyed just sitting at the hotel bistro facing a quiet street to chill out at night. There were a few convenience shops nearby. Above all this, what was most important was the fantastic location of this hotel which we could simply walk to nearby tourist sites, many restaurants and cafes, and the tram station. We especially liked the food at Albura Kathisma and Rumist restaurants, both within 5 mins walk from hotel. Arasta, a nearby bazaar, is worth a visit. Overall, we were very glad we chose Hotel Seraglio!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GLCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was the perfect location, everything in the old city was walking distance! From the moment we arrive in the middle of the night, we knew we had chosen the right hotel. The kindness and attention to detail that we received were the best. Great variety of good, fresh food for breakfast and comfortable beds.I would definitely return there myself and will recommend this hotel to friends. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJL235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here whilst in Istanbul for a few days. Great boutique hotel and friendly helpful staff. Great quiet position in Sultanhamet within walking distance to most of the major tourist sites. Rooms were big and spacious, although make sure you ask for a room on one of the higher floors. The bathroom they we had was huge and had a lovely walk-in shower. Be aware that being quite so close to the Blue Mosque it is likely you will be woken by the call for prayer at around 6AM. Not so much of an issue for me, but may be for some. Breakfast all very good - cereals, toast, fruit, juice and some cooked meats and eggs.

Be slightly wary of some of the trips offered to you by the reception. We were offered a whistle-stop tour of the major sites for around €50pp due to our short stay, which we decided not to do and luckily was unnecessary as you can walk to them. We were also offered a boat trip for around €35pp which we did do and I can honestly say it was the dullest 4 hour boat trip I have ever done with nothing included (no drinks or food or entertainment) bar some inaudible commentary and a quick 30 min stop at a small touristy fishing village. Best to check out the shorter and cheaper boat trips at the stands around the square by the Blue Mosque. Definitely worth going for a meal at the nearby Rami Restaurant which has a great open balcony on the top floor with stunning views of the Blue Mosque.

Also worth going to the local Bazaar at the top of the hill in the evening, where there is an outdoor cafe with live entertainment.

All in all really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Seraglio and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Suggest a higher floor room which will be quieter and offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was really impressed by the hospitality I experienced. On top of that, the rooms were very quiet and the location was very convenient; only a step to major tourist attractions. Easy access from/to the airport too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, tucked in a quiet corner near the main sites in Sultanhamet. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfasts set you up for the day. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TripadviceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

In a lovely area with many good restaurants close to hand. Our room had a small balcony with an inward view. It was clean & fairly spacious for the 3 of us(room 101. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had the opportunity to visit Turkey recently and stayed in Istanbul at two different points on the trip; we stayed at the Seraglio based on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there. We found everyone at the hotel to be warm and welcoming; the rooms were clean and well-tended and extremely comfortable; the breakfast buffet was incredible, and the hotel bistro/restaurant was lovely - we chose to eat dinner there at least a couple of nights including our last night in town. There was nothing about the hotel we didn't love and in fact came to see the return to the hotel for the latter visit as a kind of "going home". I would highly recommend the Seraglio and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: One room we stayed in, the "superior" room, had an in-room hamam - quite the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
940 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing