We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel in the heart of sultanhamet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
terre haute, IN
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel in the heart of sultanhamet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We only stayed in the seraglio one night, but will stay there again when we return. It's small but very clean, the staff is wonderful and the location is perfect. The only downside was that we were quoted a price in dollars and then charged that amount in Euros! We booked through Priceline and when we contacted them about it, they refused to do anything about it. So beware!

Room Tip: We didn't request a specific room, but there are some that are better than others. Will do so ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    172
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
528
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, but what made it so great was the helpful staff. Special kudos to Celal, who gave us top notch information, whether it was about a Sufi dervish service, a fantastic local restaurant, or information on Istanbul redevelopment. Other pluses: we were upgraded to a room with balcony, and the breakfast was delicious (although we could have done without the pop music videos in the background). We had one of our best Istanbul meals right in the hotel cafe/restaurant, and the location is a mere 5-10 minute walk from Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, and the tram lines--no need to take taxis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

we stayed in the blue mosque suit. The room is very comfortable and the view is of the mosque is fantastic. There is a very large terrace, and it's a lovely place to enjoy a meal from the hotel's room service.

This is the first hotel I have stayed at in Istanbul where the service has been good and you are treated like a guest. I still think the hotels in Istanbul are on the drab side. They all serve the same breakfast (ok if you like cheese!) and have the identical toiletries. I wish they had a little more individual character.

the hotel is well situated for visiting the old city and there are easy transport links to Taskim. Not a good place to stay if you want bars and nightlife. Oh and the call to prayer at 4.00 am is louder than you can possibly imagine.

I would definitely recommended this hotel based on the room in which I stayed.

Room Tip: if you can, stay in the blue mosque suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel had very comfortable rooms, with plenty of cupboard space which means your stuff can be readily stored, out of sight. The rooms are are pleasantly decorated. We had a balcony but it was a bit chilly to sit out much when we were there. It contributed to a feeling of spaciousness however. The bathroom had a lovely large shower and all was very clean.

We had dinner one rainy evening in the hotel restaurant, which was a pleasant meal. The breakfast had a tasty range of foods for selection.

The hotel is ideally located to local attractions and we particularly enjoyed seeing the nearby mosques lit up at night. Quite a spectacular sight. The Arasta bazaar is two minutes walk and the metro nearby. No problem with wifi, worked as it should.

We were given complimentary transfer to the airport which was most appreciated. The owner was helpful and friendly. All in all, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A high up room gave us a glimpse of the cup ocean - we saw dolphins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakegp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arranged to be collected at the airport, at time of booking and again via email before boarding our flight to Istanbul, yet there was some confusion. We waited at the airport for nearly 40 minutes, and were not met with anyone who was there to collect us. We called the hotel after acquiring a Turkish sim card, and only then were we attended to.

At the hotel, the staff were very warm and welcoming. They apologised for the situation at the airport; it's simple things like that that make things ok. We were very well looked after. Our room was quite large, the bathroom well stocked, we had a room facing the street. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on. Breakfast was lovely, and very healthy.

The hotel is immensely well located. Short walk from everything in the guide book. However, as a result, you may be woken up to prayers from the mosque, and possibly noise from the street. It was not a problem for us, but it may be for those who prefer peace and quiet. Personally, I would recommend this place. It's neat, clean and affordable, in a good location, with lovely staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Seraglio was excellently located, we were about a 3 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, 5 minutes from Topkapi Palace,10 minutes from the Grand Bazaar, and about 20 minutes from the Spice market and the harbour. The staff were very helpful, as soon as we got there the receptionist gave us a map and told us where to visit and how to get there. I liked the apple tea they served in the restaurant so much the barman went out and bought me some from the local supermarket! The breakfast buffet was sufficient and had a selection of cooked and continental options. For dinner one night we went to the restaurant opposite the hotel called 'Cooking Alaturka'- I would definately reccomend this, we had a 4 course meal and a bottle of wine which cost 200 lira for 2 of us and the food was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Istanbul in late May. Perfect hotel in a wonderful city! First and most important, the staff was the best. They couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. Great room with a balcony and a very comfy bed. We stayed five nights and found the location to be just right. We looked forward to breakfast every morning because it was so fresh and delicious. The cafe was great too...we enjoyed a delicious dinner there our last night. I highly recommend Hotel Seraglio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing