We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service, beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #20 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing service, beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I can definitely say they have the best service of any hotel I've stayed at. We arrived in the evening and were exhausted from our flight plus one of our bags was lost by the airline so our moods weren't that great but when we arrived we were greeted with a beverage and Celal gave us all the information we needed to know about the hotel, he even said they would take care of our lost bag issue. The next day after we came back from sight seeing we asked them if they had a chance to contact the airline they said that our bag is upstairs in our room! I was very impressed that they took the time to help us out and were very prompt. The hotel is in an excellent location, in the heart of Sultanahmet. We could easily walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, and Grand Bazaar. The only time we took transportation was to come back from the Spice Bazaar. The tram stop is also walking distance. We had our 6 month old baby with us and all the places we went including the tram and the hotel itself are stroller friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable, the washroom was also very clean, the shower was huge! There is maid service everyday so you always come back to a clean room. At night the hotel is very quiet so you can get a good night sleep. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a wide selection and it is always served with a smile. They arranged a boat cruise for us and it was very enjoyable, the bus arrived on time and dropped us off at the spice bazaar afterwards so we didn't need to return to the hotel but they would have taken us there if we wanted to. The airport shuttle was on time and they even stored our luggage because our check out time was 8 hrs before our flight so we could enjoy the day of sight seeing before we left. We loved our stay and want to thank the staff at hotel Seraglio and we will definitely be staying there next time we are in Istanbul!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    171
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
528
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose this hotel for convenience to all the sights, but especially for our room at the top with its own private terrace and breathtaking view of the blue Mosque and Sea of Marmara. I came here with my family to celebrate a 'big' birthday and we couldn't have picked a better place. The staff were welcoming, very friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful in making reservations for dinners etc. the buffet breakfast was outstanding, the free transfer from airport to hotel was a bonus and all in all it cannot be faulted. Would I stay here again? Of course!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a few very enjoyable days at this hotel. I would thoroughly recommend it. The staff couldn't have done more for us and everyone was so helpful and good natured.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the sites of interest in Istanbul and if you want to visit somewhere further away, the reception staff will help with your choices and mode of travel.

We were very impressed and would visit again.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which had a small dressing area and ensuite. I am told by our friends that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTON, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and for the price it can't be beat. Walking distance to transportation and the Blue Mosque. The staff is great, food/tea is amazing. Worth looking at if your travels bring you here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARSHALL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Super location, staff amazingly helpful, spotlessly clean, lovely family atmosphere, apple tea in the afternoons a bonus. The hotel was recommended by my sister who had already been and was everything she had said. And don't overlook eating in the hotel in the evenings. Only realised this on the last night! Possibly the best meal we had.Thank you. Joy Murphy Leicestershire.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester hills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked our stay through their website - 4 night stay - and received a free transfer from the airport (IST) to the hotel. I would recommend taking the free transfer this way as you can easily take the tram and subway back to the airport from the hotel very cheaply (~4-5 TL/person). As soon as my husband and I got there we were offered something to drink/eat and were given an informative verbal and visual "tour" of Istanbul from the large map in the lobby. We informed the front desk that we were expecting a friend of ours to be joining us the following day and I really appreciated the courteous way, but with safety in mind, they questioned him once he arrived just to make sure he was the friend we were waiting for!
Breakfast is served every morning from 8-10:30 and they have a make your own omelet station that my husband and friend took advantage of. The fruit was fresh and while the cherry and peach juice was included I did notice that it cost 2 euro for orange juice. I'm not sure why - so we just went with the cherry juice - yum. They also serve complimentary tea, coffee and snacks in the Bistro every day from 5-7 which is well needed after a long day of exploring.
We stayed in the Blue Mosque Suite - 303 - which has its own terrace and an amazing view of the Blue Mosque. Yes, the call to prayer is loud, but you're in Istanbul...it's going to happen and you're not going to be able to avoid it, so just deal with it. The beds were comfortable and it was a big room that was good for 3 people. The shower...O.M.G. The best water pressure ever. If you are debating on which hotel to stay at - pick this one if not for all the other things everyone mentioned but for the water pressure. You won't be disappointed.
Someone wrote that the reception was able to do currency exchange - we were never given this impression and were told to exchange money on the tram line - an easy/quick walk from the hotel. In fact - all the big attractions are within walking distance from the hotel - you make 2 lefts and the 2nd right and there you are!
You won't be upset with your decision to stay here - it really was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsmdtomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Oh and of course the staff! Four of us stayed here for a 79th birthday for my partners Mum, the staff made a special cake at last request, so a big thank you for making our trip special.
The location is perfect for all the key tourist sites and trams to other ones. Local cafes and restaurants are close by in a trendy like area, however the hotel food is so good and better value you can easily eat in! Complimentary tea in the late afternoon is a nice touch. The rooms are clean and a good size, bed comfortablke and an excellent shower all add to a great three day break.
Definitely recommended!
One tip, don't take the Fish Restaurant leaflets in the hotel, research and do your own thing!

Room Tip: Bit tricky as the Mosque calling will wake you up. We saw two rooms and both were excellent, try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN_BBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing