We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #22 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, we felt very safe in their care. The private hamam suite was very nice to have after a long day of walking. This is the perfect location to stay! Very close to the blue mosque and ayasofya along with tons of shops and restaurants you can fill up a week of things to do without having to get into a car or tram. Great location great staff and very clean! Looking forward to going back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drisana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    173
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
209
537
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for about 6 days in Seraglio hotel and was really happy with the service we got. The staff went out of their way to make our trips easy and to make us feel like family. We always got very good instructions to some of the sites outside of Sultanahmet.

The best sites to go to in Istanbul are so close to the hotel and public transport is easily accessible. There are so many restaurants around and the Grand Bazaar is an easy walk.

The breakfast is not only substantial but very delicious with fresh orange juice made for you from the fresh Turkish oranges. During the day, a cup of tea or a bowl of soup is always ready to welcome you from your sightseeing.

We are going to stay at the hotel when we get back there next month.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at Hotel Seraglio for 5 nights in early February.We were greeted warmly by the kind and informative hotel staff.We all enjoyed our Blue Mosque Terrace Suite which has a private terrace with the view of Blue Mosque.The rest of my family stayed at the Hammam Superior room with the private Turkish Bath.It was an amazing experience to have the Hammam in your own room in winter time.Both of the rooms were wasre,very clean and quiet.The king size double beds were very comfortable,we had a great sleep.The buffet breakfast was also plentiful.It was a great touch that the hotel has complimentary tea time everyday.It was very cold while we were staying in Istanbul,but the entire hotel was heated very well which was a bonus for us.If we have a chance to come to Istanbul again,we will definitely stay at Hotel Seraglio again.Thank you for making our stay memorable as you wish your guests before they arrive at your lovely family run-hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank orsia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent hotel within short walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, etc. Friendly staff with good English. They make you feel very welcome. Our room was the Blue Mosque Terrace room and it was great! Plenty big enough for my husband, my teenage daughter and I. With the terrace just outside the door it felt like a suite. They gave us good restaurant recommendations and helped out with directions. Very accomodating. Loved the breakfasts. It had a very homey feel to it and we were always happy to get back at the end of the day. We stayed five days and were sorry to leave. I do not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a small hotel and very well located, but its great advantage is that all the attention the staff give to guests.
Our stay of 6 days was perfect, the rooms of good size and clean, and breakfast above average.
Our 3 year old son traveled with us, and every day received gifts from the hotel. That is, they do everything to make your stay perfect. They succeeded!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginaldo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Warm comfortable hotels slap bang in the middle of the old city. - walking distant to the Blue Mosque.Really good service from all the staff who went out of their way to be helpful.The rooms were well decorated with everything you need for a comfortable stay.Enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at Hotel Seraglio. We were warmly greeted with cay and an overview of the sights located in the immediate area of the hotel. It made for a nice introduction for my husband, who had never been to the city before. Before heading up to our room we were offered a complimentary meze platter in the hotel restaurant.

Our room on the 3rd floor faced the Blue Mosque, which is currently undergoing some renovations. It was a wonderful view from our large terrace. Lighting in the room could be better. There is an alcove with the closet that is unlighted except for the window, and it was quite dark.

The king sized bed was very comfortable and the bedding crisp and fresh. The location right next to the mosque was fantastic, but of course the call to prayer is audible and may wake you earlier than you expect. But we enjoyed hearing the chants and drifting back to sleep.

The bathroom is very spacious but unheated, so with several cold days, it was a little bit brisk in there. The tub/shower was one of the downsides of the room. The tub, which had jacuzzi jets, had not been properly cleaned, and on taking a bath bits of algae-like gunk floated out of the jets. Having owned a similar tub I knew how to clean it, which I figured would be easier than trying to explain it to housekeeping. The other problem with the shower is the shower doors, which do not close well, so water flows through the doors all over the floor.

The other downside of the hotel was the wifi. It connected very poorly with our iPads, and perhaps there was high traffic at times, but it seemed very slow much of the time.

The hotel's breakfast was great, including lots of cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruits, breads, hot items, and omelets to order. Fresh juice is an extra 2€.

The staff is quite nice and friendly and provided assistance whenever we requested it.

Tips for a couple places in the area: quite nearby between the Blue Mosque and Ayasofya is the Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hammam, built in the 16th century. It's a bit pricey but a wonderful place for a luxurious Turkish bath experience. Ad not far from the hotel is the meze and fish restaurant Giritli. The dinner is prix fixe, including a huge selection of meze, several seafood appetizers and a fish entree. The meal includes dessert and beer, wine, or raki. We thought it was a good value for price and quality (seriously amazing meze) at 105 Turkish lira.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatingandwandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeraglioHotel, Manager at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to put a comment about us.I am glad to relize that you were happy about your stay. Another thanks for your constructive criticism.We will be more sensitive about the points that you have mentioned. Looking forward to see you here in Istanbul at Hotel Seraglio again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,150 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,150 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,150 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,150 in Istanbul
729 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#32 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing