We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the Sultanahamet”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In the heart of the Sultanahamet”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel came recommended by a friend and I can now only pass on a high recommendation too. I stayed five nights and from the airport transfer thru the managers assitance in dealing with my lost luggaage out of Casablanca to a wonderful room this hotels stacks up and ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: The hamam rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangk0kTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    174
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
212
539
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Seraglio is located just 5 minutes walk from Blue Musk, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia and tram station Sultanahmed.
But it's the service that makes it so good.
All stuff were super friendly yet highly proffessional. Kenan was very helpful with his wise advices, with giving us the feeling of being welcome. He kept this approach when we met him off duty on the street in a rainy evening. (thanks for the sweets shop tip Kenan...).
Breakfast was great with good selection, and again, excellent service.
room was very clean and comfortable.
All in all - perfect

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoavbenarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILMAZ_CGR, Manager at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment about us. Glad to read that you had a good time here at Hotel Seraglio . Kenan specially sends his greetings to you. Also as the members of Hotel Seraglio Family; all of us looking forward to see you here in Istanbul again....

Yilmaz Cagri
Manager of Hotel Seraglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in November. Our room had a balcony which looked directly over the Blue Mosque - fabulous until 5am on the first morning when we were rudely awakened by the call to prayer! however when in Rome...Hotel is small and simple but very comfortable and the staff were extremley helpful

Room Tip: If you have ear plugs go for the Blue Mosque suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILMAZ_CGR, Manager at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. Looking forward to see you here in Istanbul again...

Yilmaz Cagri
Manager of Hotel Seraglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in late December. The hotel is right next to The Blue Mosque, Hagaa Sofia and Topikapi Palace. Close to the Grand Bazaar, lovely location. Very nice breakfast, friendly staff, well maintained rooms.

Some minor flaws like a hot water kettle but nowhere to plug it in. Ditto for a table lamp in the room but nowhere to plug it in. Perhaps just a flaw with our room. These are minor things considering how many things the hotel got right.

Overall, a great value for Europe and Istanbul considering the incredible location! We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nfl49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILMAZ_CGR, Manager at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to put a comment about us.Another thanks for your constructive criticism. I want to mention that Hotel Seraglio was used to be my grandparents house since we had converted the building to a small hotel at the end of 2009. Unfortunately we had some minor flaws that we have overlooked before. Right now Hotel Seraglio is closed for a quick renovation to recover those minor flaws and also for regeneration after three years. Looking forward to see you here in Istanbul at Hotel Seraglio again...

Yilmaz Cagri
Manager of Hotel Seraglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This delightful little hotel is located within walking distance of all sightseeing places in Old Town- Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topkapi Palace. Even the Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar and Dolmabache Palace are short tram rides away.

Extremely courteous and helpful staff- they greeted us with cool fruit drinks and Turkish Delights, provided maps and tourist information plus wi-fi details.
Clean rooms and fabulous breakfast spread. the hotel even offers complementary evening drinks/soups and snacks, which was a pleasant surprise.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sreedevi_palit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Seraglio for five nights during Christmas week. The staff greeted us with complementary Turkish tea upon our (quite late) arrival, and were pleasant and courteous throughout our stay. We were able to pay cash upon arrival, reducing our room rate considerably, and the cost included breakfast and transport to/from the airport, which was very convenient.

We treated ourselves to the Blue Mosque Terrace Suite, which, as the name suggests, featured a lovely terrace and a view of the Blue Mosque. The room was immaculately clean, with plenty of storage, a comfortable bed, ample towels, coffee/tea supplies, lovely toiletries (coconut-scented shampoo!), and plenty of extra blankets. We hate the sound of air conditioning/heating in hotel rooms so we never use it unless absolutely necessary - which made the extra blankets very useful!

We had breakfast a couple of times during our stay and it was very tasty. It was buffet-style with plenty of choice (pastries, cereal, cakes, breads, various spreads and jams, cheeses and cooked meats, soup, juices, coffee, tea - even warm milk for my cornflakes!). One of the gentlemen also cooked fresh omelettes or fried eggs to order. The breakfast area was convivial and clean.

As others have said, the hotel's location is excellent for sight-seeing. We felt very safe in both the hotel and the surrounding area. The streets nearby are full of small hotels, nice restaurants and cafes (including the excellent Dubb Ethnic), and handy mini-markets for late-night bottles of water and snacks. Oh, and plenty of friendly cats!

Our one quibble was with the noise while in the room. (Not, I hasten to add, from the calls to prayer, which - while waking us every morning at sunrise - we appreciate the hotel cannot muffle!) We had no A/C or heating on, and no fan on in the bathroom, and yet there was a persistent humming/whirring/droning sound for most of the night, occasionally punctuated by a "beep-beep". This did, unfortunately, impair our quality of sleep. There was also a lot of banging and crashing in the mornings, but I suppose this cannot really be helped in a hotel, especially one where many of the floors are wood/laminate.

Nevertheless, we had an enjoyable stay and would like to thank the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABookishBeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October 2011. Staff were very friendly and the front desk was very helpful. The location can't be beat! Close to the Blue Mosque and the Palace. We were able to walk everywhere. Our room, which was above the open-air restaurant was a fair size, very clean and well equipped. In the evening, we could hear voices at the restaurant but it wasn't something that disturbed us. Would recommend this hotel first and foremost for the location.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel is the main reason to choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,459 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,155 in Istanbul
763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,155 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#45 of 1,155 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#27 of 1,155 in Istanbul
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing