We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a spectacular location.”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #19 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in late December. The hotel is right next to The Blue Mosque, Hagaa Sofia and Topikapi Palace. Close to the Grand Bazaar, lovely location. Very nice breakfast, friendly staff, well maintained rooms.

Some minor flaws like a hot water kettle but nowhere to plug it in. Ditto for a table lamp in the room but nowhere to plug it in. Perhaps just a flaw with our room. These are minor things considering how many things the hotel got right.

Overall, a great value for Europe and Istanbul considering the incredible location! We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nfl49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILMAZ_CGR, Manager at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to put a comment about us.Another thanks for your constructive criticism. I want to mention that Hotel Seraglio was used to be my grandparents house since we had converted the building to a small hotel at the end of 2009. Unfortunately we had some minor flaws that we have overlooked before. Right now Hotel Seraglio is closed for a quick renovation to recover those minor flaws and also for regeneration after three years. Looking forward to see you here in Istanbul at Hotel Seraglio again...

Yilmaz Cagri
Manager of Hotel Seraglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

This delightful little hotel is located within walking distance of all sightseeing places in Old Town- Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topkapi Palace. Even the Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar and Dolmabache Palace are short tram rides away.

Extremely courteous and helpful staff- they greeted us with cool fruit drinks and Turkish Delights, provided maps and tourist information plus wi-fi details.
Clean rooms and fabulous breakfast spread. the hotel even offers complementary evening drinks/soups and snacks, which was a pleasant surprise.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sreedevi_palit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Seraglio for five nights during Christmas week. The staff greeted us with complementary Turkish tea upon our (quite late) arrival, and were pleasant and courteous throughout our stay. We were able to pay cash upon arrival, reducing our room rate considerably, and the cost included breakfast and transport to/from the airport, which was very convenient.

We treated ourselves to the Blue Mosque Terrace Suite, which, as the name suggests, featured a lovely terrace and a view of the Blue Mosque. The room was immaculately clean, with plenty of storage, a comfortable bed, ample towels, coffee/tea supplies, lovely toiletries (coconut-scented shampoo!), and plenty of extra blankets. We hate the sound of air conditioning/heating in hotel rooms so we never use it unless absolutely necessary - which made the extra blankets very useful!

We had breakfast a couple of times during our stay and it was very tasty. It was buffet-style with plenty of choice (pastries, cereal, cakes, breads, various spreads and jams, cheeses and cooked meats, soup, juices, coffee, tea - even warm milk for my cornflakes!). One of the gentlemen also cooked fresh omelettes or fried eggs to order. The breakfast area was convivial and clean.

As others have said, the hotel's location is excellent for sight-seeing. We felt very safe in both the hotel and the surrounding area. The streets nearby are full of small hotels, nice restaurants and cafes (including the excellent Dubb Ethnic), and handy mini-markets for late-night bottles of water and snacks. Oh, and plenty of friendly cats!

Our one quibble was with the noise while in the room. (Not, I hasten to add, from the calls to prayer, which - while waking us every morning at sunrise - we appreciate the hotel cannot muffle!) We had no A/C or heating on, and no fan on in the bathroom, and yet there was a persistent humming/whirring/droning sound for most of the night, occasionally punctuated by a "beep-beep". This did, unfortunately, impair our quality of sleep. There was also a lot of banging and crashing in the mornings, but I suppose this cannot really be helped in a hotel, especially one where many of the floors are wood/laminate.

Nevertheless, we had an enjoyable stay and would like to thank the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABookishBeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October 2011. Staff were very friendly and the front desk was very helpful. The location can't be beat! Close to the Blue Mosque and the Palace. We were able to walk everywhere. Our room, which was above the open-air restaurant was a fair size, very clean and well equipped. In the evening, we could hear voices at the restaurant but it wasn't something that disturbed us. Would recommend this hotel first and foremost for the location.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel is the main reason to choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

In terms of location, I can't ask for much more. It's steps away from Sofya, Blue Mosque and pretty much all the major attractions in Sultanahmet. We even walked to Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market, and it was a very pleasant walk. The tram is also steps away if you need to go anywhere further. The hotel is clean. Breakfast was decent. And the price was really reasonable. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avonord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in this small hotel for four days and had great time. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.Reception staff is giving all information about the area and the city. Rooms are very clean and location is perfect for all main spots. Definitely right choice.

Room Tip: Hammam superior room is very nice with your private hamam in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mourelo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel met all our needs. The rooms were clean and modern, the lobby and restaurant area were quite stylish. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#85 of 1,160 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,160 in Istanbul
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing