We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Seraglio for a few days in late August and have nothing but great things to say about it. The hotel is small and cozy with a great location only a 3 minute walk away from the some of the tourist favorites. Kenan at the front desk was very friendly and was able to give us tons of suggestions on what to do. I would definitely recommend staying here when in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adam761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Situated close to Sultanahmet Square, Agia Sofia and the Blue Mosque as well as the tram line to the Galata Bridge and beyond this well-run hotel is an ideal place to recover after an exhausting day's sightseeing. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a king-size bed and facilities - shower, air conditioning - which worked well - and all was spotlessly clean. Staff, especially Kenan at the front desk, were welcoming and ready with help and information whenever needed but never overwhelming.
Breakfast was a feast that could set you up for the day, with sweet melon and plump fresh figs, yogurt, cheese and olives, mini crepes and choice of freshly made omelettes - or just toast if you wanted. We also appreciated the complimentary tea /coffee/lemonade, fruit and cake served daily to hotel guests in the bistro at tea time.
We just couldn't think of any negative points and, of course, would happily stay there again !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeonyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We found Hotel Seraglio on TripAdvisor and were very pleased. After touring around Turkey for nearly 3 weeks, we really appreciated the huge shower and comfy bed, something other hotels often lacked. The location is great and the neighborhood has lots of restaurants and a convenience shore. The room has a minirefrigerator to keep your Efes (beer) cold and a kettle to make tea or boil water to refill your water bottles. Complimentary tea/coffee, cake and fruit were served at the hotel's bistro in the afternoon. The staff were friendly and helpful. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I chose to book a Hamman room at the Seraglio Hotel for our 5 night stay in September 2012. Excellent decision - great location walking home each night to our hotel past the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia was perfect!
The bathroom with the hamman shower was enjoyed greatly. Room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, no noise from outside and lovely big windows to a fairly quiet street.
The staff were very helpful all the time, breakfast plentiful choices and the afternoon tea free of charge was enjoyable and welcomed!
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again in a flash!

Room Tip: We chose a hamman room - RM 202 - was great - no noise, big windows that could be opened and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Seraglio wants you to remember it! Very good value for money and in the heart of the old quarter of Sultanahmet, Hotel Seraglio pleases with its warm welcome, wealth of information and I don't think I've ever seen a hotel room as clean as this one. We had the least expensive room of the hotel's 14 rooms for five days. It was large with a blissfully comfortable king-size bed, and walk in shower in a large, sparkly clean bathroom. I wanted to take it home with me . . . Our room was close enough to the blue mosque to hear the Iman calling if we were on our balcony; indeed Hotel Saraglio's position kept us in and amongst Istanbul's finest Turkish culture in comfort, but without breaking the bank. The staff were friendly but unobtrusive. It was efficient, everything worked and the breakfast provided was a great start to the day. In fact, when we had an early start to Galipoli, our packed breakfast practically kept us going for the whole 16 hour day. Fabulous and totally recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaylaTW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and it was just right for us. Nothing particularly fancy but very clean and huge rooms. Breakfast was OK-fairly traditional with omelette, cheese, meats, bread, cereal, fruit etc. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful - welcome drink on arrival and will sort taxis out of needed. This hotel was perfectly placed for some excellent restaurants and all of the main sights including the blue mosque, Topkapi Palace etc. Had some slight issues with noise from outside and other rooms but overall a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

chosing hotel seraglio for our 1st trip to istanbul made it just perfect, the cutest littel hotel right in the heart of sultanahmet, extremely quiet and clean.
staff especially (kenan and jelal) were so helpful with just the right attitude.
few steps a way from it all. our kids were welcomed with gifts, breakfast was great
i definatly recomand it :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
940 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing