We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel,Excellent Service and Location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #22 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Mykonos, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great small hotel,Excellent Service and Location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have choosen this Hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. So we are so happy to find out that everything written here is true. Location cant be better. It is just steps away from the main attractions also very quiet and safe district with al small hotels and restaurants. The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull with anything we need they are willing to assist us 24 hrs.They really gave us the feeling staying in a family place rather than big complex.I would love to visit this city again if so I dont need to look anywhereelse.

Room Tip: Deluxe roo, was very big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimitris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    172
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
529
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. We are two adults and three kids (ages 11, 9 and 6). The room with the rooftop terrace was good for us, although our kids are small, so an extra cot would be needed for "regular" sized kids.

They helped us with recommendations for what to see, where to eat, where to do laundry, etc. Overall, couldn't recommend a prettier hotel in a better location at a better price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The3As
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in May and could not fault the hotel in anyway. The location was perfect for the sites, the rooms were a good size and very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If I return to Istanbul I will certainly stay again and havs recommended this to several people already.

Thank you for making our stay so good.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's located in Sultanahmet, the tourist center of Istanbul, a few minutes' walk from the Ayasofia, Blue Mosque, and Topkapi Palace. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful, friendly, and spoke excellent English. They let me use their cell phone to contact another hotel, served us tea the second we walked in the door (at 11 pm, no less), and made excellent recommendations when helping us plan our itinerary during our stay. The room was large and clean, and the shower was great. The AC worked well, and we were very comfortable during our stay. The breakfast was the best I've had at any hotel, replete with an omelette station, a large selection of fresh and dried fruits, vegetables, cheeses, pastries, breads, cereal, hot food (eggs and sausages), coffee, teas, and juices. They also served complimentary tea and cake in their bistro every day from 5-7 pm. Although we didn't eat at the bistro, their prices were very reasonable compared to the other restaurants in the area. The hotel had free Wi-Fi (we had great signal strength in our room two floors up), and all guests have free access to their laptop in the lobby. The only downside was the price - although the price was about average for the Sultanahmet area, we learned that we could have saved an ENORMOUS amount had we stayed only a short distance away from the tourist center of town. On the bright side, they give a 7% discount if you pay in cash upon check-in, which we took full advantage of.

Overall, excellent hotel in a wonderful location, but on the pricy side. If being directly in the center of Sultanahmet is important to you, you can't do any better than Hotel Seraglio. If you are ok with walking 10 minutes to get to the center, there are much cheaper options available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 children stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of June. We initially had some difficulty in getting 2 rooms for such a long period but Secil, who looks after sales and reservations, was extremely helpful and managed to sort out our stay. Her prompt and helpful emails probably made up our minds for us on where we wanted to stay, so a big thank you to her and to all her helpful staff who made our stay just perfect.
The hotel itself is a small boutique hotel, transport to and from the airport was arranged FREE of charge and we had our own shuttle bus for the journey which takes about 30 mins.
We stayed in the Hammam room for the first night and then moved to 2 doubles. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. Bathrooms have large walk in showers and toiletries and slippers are provided. There is free wi-fi with good connection in all the areas. Tea and coffee facilities in all the rooms. Breakfast is in the dinning area which is in the basement. There is plenty to stock up for a day off sightseeing. There is a further lounge/dinning area at the rear of the hotel which is the side closest to the Blue Mosque (on Akbiyik Cad) which is where afternoon tea is served - there is free tea and coffee and cakes (no soft drinks). Its also a good place to have an evening meal and the traditional food served is delicious. You can even enjoy a sheesha in the cool evenings on the terrace.
The hotel is about 3 minutes walk (up an incline) to the main square that lies in between the Blue Mosque and Sophia Museum. So you are right in the middle of al the attractions. The Topkapi Palace is about a 10 minute walk as is the Basilica cisterna.Its also a 2 minute walk to the Arasta Bazaar , where you'll find Jennifer's Hamam (see tripadvisor entry). The Ayasofya hamam lies on the edge of the square between the Blue mosque and Sophia museum and is also well worth a visit. So the location is just perfect.
We'd happily recommend this hotel, it may not have the frills of a large chain hotel but it has the intimacy and personal attention that is more than welcome in a foreign land.Perfect stay!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and facing the blue mosque , the minarets of which you can see from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southendwesthamfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our welcome upon arrival was one of the warmest greetings we have ever experienced. Arriving earlier than expected at 8:30 AM, of course our rooms weren't ready. We were offered a full breakfast, storage of our luggage, and use of the lobby computer, although the entire hotel has free wifi.
The room is a nice size w an extremely comfortable bed. Linens were changed daily. The bathroom has a wonderfully designed large walk-in shower w a flexible shower hose attachment.
Located in a charming area of cobblestoned streets, cafes, and other boutique hotels, it is a short walk to the major sites. The old prison, now The Four Seasons Hotel, is around the corner.
Made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, cereals, home made pastries, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, yogurt are some of the items offered daily for breakfast.
The hotel staff is very helpful, thoughtful, and welcoming. They made a lasting impression.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Great location, clean comfortable room, good bathroom etc. Staff were friendly and helpful and gave their honest opinion about the best way to see the sights, which we really appreciated, thanks especially to Kenan. Was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there, and we would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrewb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing