We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seraglio Hotel "A life saver in Istanbul" (Literally)”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seraglio Hotel "A life saver in Istanbul" (Literally)”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is where it is at if you want to feel like you are at a home away from home. You really are their guest! not just another tourist. My mother andI arrived here from India on May 6, 2012 for 4 nights. The hotel is well situated, beautifully clean and decorated and the staff greet you like you are their long lost cousin! I am very familiar with the hospitality business as I am from Jamaica and this hotel has got it right!
The breakfast is lovely - the chef actually makes a better omelette than people who have gone to culinary school! Fruits galore, juice, figs, nuts all beautifully presented
If you speak with the people on front desk they are so HELPFUL and show you maps of how to get to places and how much you should be paying for this or that.
I had a chest infection (from India, and I suppose the temperature change) and CHARRAE, a member of the family that own of the Seraglio, took me to the Hospital himself! I felt like I really had my Big brother there. God bless that man!
I would recommend this as THE ONLY place to stay in Istanbul....I certainly won't ever stay anywhere else.....
We are about to leave this hotel to go home but we feel so strongly that we have to tell travelers that we are writing the review now!

Rebecca Tulloch
Kingston, Jamaica

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    173
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
208
534
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

First time to Istanbul you must first decide. North or South of the Golden Horn? Old town or New town? We like to take a mid afternoon break in our room so it was a no brainier. Old town and Seraglio. All the must sees are in Sultanhamet.

Flawless and free airport transfer (IST not SAW) to the hotel.
Cold coke and beer as soon as we stepped in the door and made our choices known.
Delightful and knowledgeable gentleman at the front desk.

The room was large and the AC was ours to control. None of this "it's cool outside, just open your window." Really. What's the point of finding a hotel with AC to help prevent us allergy sufferers when they let you know they don't deem it appropriate to make this advertised amenity available to you?

A 5 star shower for sure. No wash rag size bath towels with the thickness of Bounty Paper. Thirsty and big enough for all 6'5" of me. Quick and hot water in a shower I didn't have to squat and dance around to get wet.

Free breakfast includes omelets made to order. Delicious yogurt and good coffee. Fruit, pastry, meat, cheese and breads. Try the egg bread. It's French toast.

This spot deserves the TA rating that led us here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfwstrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We started our trip to Turkey at Seraglio and it was the perfect introduction to our 11-day stay. We haven't traveled much internationally and I didn't know what to expect, but the staff put us at ease right away and we instantly fell in love with Istanbul. They are really exceptional, giving us daily advice for getting to our destinations. The room was spotless and had everything we needed and the breakfast was excellent. I much prefer the intimacy and genuineness of a small hotel like this, over a big, impersonal mega-hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sioux_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

In the middle of April, 2012 we had the pleasure to be guests at the Seraglio. We found the hotel on the Trip advisor site. It turned out to be one of the nicest experiences in how a small family like hotel can make one feel. Excellent service with a staff that made us feel so very welcome, sort of like we were in their home. If we return to Istanbul I would stay at no other place. Anyone staying there will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location in the quiet nice part of the old town 2mins walk from the blue mosque. When we arrived we were welcomed with a complimentary drink and given a full run down of the city and all the key sites marked on a map! The rooms are nice, clean and pretty spacious. Great price and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Excellent service, great food, Awesome location.
The staff actually helped us on scheduling our 4 day trip to all the historical places in Istanbul.
They are partnered with an excellent Travel Agency.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabaAlavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the seraglio hotel last week for 4 nights and were delighted with everything. Kenan on reception was extremely helpful, the breakfast and tea were great and the location is so near to the main sights as well as very good restaurants. ( literally 5minutes). Would certainly recommend to friends. Thank you.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing