We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in the world”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bari
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best boutique hotel in the world”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Having stayed in over 1000 hotels for my job, I can say that all the good things that everyone says about this hotel are true. I don't believe it would be possible to find a better boutique hotel in Istanbul and I am certain that the quality/price ratio is one of the best in the world, not only in Istanbul. Often when you stay in small cheapish hotels there are one or two things which are a problem which you put up with because of the price. This is not the case with this hotel. It has no real faults. It has the best hotel bed I can remember sleeping in and even the food in their small Bistro is good. The personnel speak English and they recommend places to go to which are good, not because they are friends of theirs. If you can, stay in a deluxe room or one with the hamman, they are more spacious and well worth the extra few pounds you pay. You must also take advantage of their airport shuttle service. It costs a few pounds more than a taxi but what better way to start and end the holiday than being transported in luxury!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    174
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
212
539
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Location could not be better. Just a few minutes walk from the main sites in ild Istambul.
We just spent two nights in a standard room. The room.was spotlessly clean. The bed.was amazingly comfortable. TV with many international channels. Safe. Tea maker. Desk. Bathroom.size was good with a big shower. Just a couple of shelves were missing to put out stuff and two bulbes were not working. Toiletries were good.
The room.size was enough for a good night sleep. Window.with view to the patio. Extremely quiet.
The.breakfast is just great! You can have a fresh omelette. Good variety... Just one thing: fresh orange juice is charged at 2euros...
The staff are very kind and helpful. We were offered a welcome drink and there is a happy hour with complimentary drinks and muffins every evening.
Tip: if you pay cash you get 7% discount. Euros are accepted as standard. They have a room with a hamman and.another.one.with big.terrace with great views. All booked... But standard room was superb!
Thanks Seraglio!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheikhaCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We arrived before check in after a very long 19 hour flight from Australia, and even though they didn't have to, they had a room made up for us early. This hotel is fantastic. The staff were wonderful, the room was delightful, the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in while travelling and the breakfast was to die for!! The hotel also […] has a happy hour where it supplies free tea and coffee and cakes, muffins etc. Why would you go anywhere else? We will definitely stay there again. Many thanks to Kenan for all his help and conversation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaConner, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Probably one of our all-time favorite hotels--it's quaint and spotlessly clean and reasonably priced. Our room had a huge bathroom and comfortable bed. The staff speak fluent English and go out of their way to be helpful. They offer an amazing breakfast buffet that includes "made-to-order" omelette's, a variety of meats, pastries, and fruit--not what you usually find in an "included-with-room" breakfast. It's located just around the corner from many of the most famous historic sites in Istanbul such as the Blue Mosque. Numerous restaurants and great shopping are just around the corner. We hope that we'll be lucky enough to be able to return to Istanbul and be able to stay again at Hotel Seraglio!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at the Seraglio Hotel for 4 nights in July 2011 and I'm ashamed it's taken so long to write a review.
We arrived late afternoon and took advantage of the complimentary free transport that the hotel laid on from Ataturk Airport.
On arrival and after checking in we were each treated to a cup of Turkish coffee and given a comprehensive briefing of the locality, recommended restaurants and advised of the best tours to be had in Istanbul.
Our room, on the first floor, was absolutely charming; a huge room, with floor to ceiling windows and doors onto a lovely balcony with table and chairs overlooking the little courtyard, where we spent early mornings and evenings planning our sightseeing in this amazing city.
Breakfast was perfect and set us up for 4 days of relentless exploring - the omelettes were wonderful!
The location of the hotel was perfect - I am so glad that we didn't stay in Beyoglu as a lot of people recommended. As lively and interesting as it was, nothing could compare with the old city and it's superb restaurants and peaceful evening atmosphere.
We took advantage of the complimentary tea and cakes late afternoon in the bistro part of the hotel.
There is absolutely nothing to fault in this hotel - including the adorable kittens across the streeet.
When we left were both given memento key rings - a wonderful touch.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience old Istanbul.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room - it's really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We loved everything about our stay here: the location is perfect, on a quiet street two blocks from the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque, whose minarets we could see out our window; the room was surprisingly large and comfortable, especially for an old-quarter hotel, and the bathroom was shiny and modern; and most importantly, the staff were impeccable -- friendly and helpful and went out of their way to be of assistance and to make our stay special. We recommend them unconditionally.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archinerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

if you want to stay at a beautiful, charming little hotel in the old town of istanbul, this is your place! the staff is incredible helpful und friendly, the rooms are okay, the breakfast is great, everything recommandable. but the best thing is, it´s located at the heart of the old town, where you can breathe the great history of this town. enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pura_vida288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,156 in Istanbul
763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,156 in Istanbul
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#33 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing