We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”

Historic Areas of Istanbul
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.66*
and up
Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace...
More Info
$41.83*
and up
Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage
Ranked #3 of 1,071 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good food, beautiful buildings, a cup of pomegranate juice for 2 Turkish lira crossing the bridge, oh! just perfect!!. I loved the city but I'll have to warn you, Istanbul is a smokers paradise. People smoke a lot!! and I don't even exaggerating they have their own trashcan for cigarettes. One morning I was walking down to sultanahmet metro and I felt like I was trapped in the airport smoking area, but I love pain if it comes with adventure. I absolutely will go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Siren2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,317
    1,717
    197
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piestany, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful city”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nice historical buildings, obelisks mosques. Lots of little shops with all sorts of goods, food and drinks. Worth to walk around and have a turkish coffee or tea.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful city”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is the most interesting and exciting city I have seen. I would recommend everyone to visit at least once. The Blue Mosque, Hajia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, the little cafes overlooking the Bosphorus Bridge are all an absolute must. It is an extremely busy city as you'd expect, but there is something for everyone and the atmosphere is amazing. Visit the Blue Mosque after dark, its all lit up and they have running commentaries on a daily basis in all languages explaining the history. Just be careful of the hotel you stay in. Some are extremely basic (even though they look great online).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KusadasiDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture and history”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Blue Mosque - cover head (women) and no shoes allowed. Beautiful stained glass.
Hagia Sophia - interesting history.
Underground Cistern - cool!
Topakia Palace - large grounds, guide recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Too Much to see in One Day”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

You can see all of the major attractions in one day with Travel Shop Turkey. Book via Esta Travel Group in Cyprus who work with Travelshop Turkey and ALICIA HERNANDEZ to provide the best tours of the city and the best historical attractions.....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KyreniaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Areas of Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Historic Areas of Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing