We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Areas of Istanbul

Historic Areas of Istanbul
Book In Advance
Private Tour
$62.05*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage
Ranked #2 of 1,001 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The old city was better than advertise and an excellent example of preservation of the palaces and mosque of the Byzantine and Ottoman empire

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Milo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,839
    1,631
    192
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiesanuova, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“città pulsante a qualsiasi ora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

mi è piaciuto tutto di Istanbul, la gente, il cibo, le moschee, i mercatini, i ristoranti ecc
We went in this beautiful hotel the first days in oktober 2013. we had there beautiful days. the suite is very confortable, the people there is very kind, the breakfast was very well and the rooms are very clean. we will certainly come back in this hotel during our next trip in Istanbul.
gemma and pompeo Reale from Italy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BEBSOLEBLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Awesome place cradle of civilisations well preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Preservation, the amazing layers of cultures, the revelation of truth
Vestiges of Ottomans oppulance Very friendly people . Great city to revisit 3 days are not enough !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SassyFY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost Disney-like Historic Highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The usual Top Sites in Istanbul are Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Toptkapi Palace and Bassilica Cistern. It was amazing to see how nicely situated they are -- easy walk from one to the next -- almost like a Disney planner had laid it out. Don't get me wrong -- there's nothing Mickey Mouse about these fabulous historical sites. If you like great architecture -- be prepared to have your breath taken away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TIF06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I thought Cairo was manic and this was the same without the camels and donkey carts. People everywhere so not for the faint-hearted but just being part of the millions of people who have walked these streets and seen these sights is so exciting and life-affirming.Deep breaths and go for it-its amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynmar31849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Areas of Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Historic Areas of Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing