We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
108
36
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
36
7
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 152 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2010

My sister&i styed for 3dys.We loved the place so much,it has evrything we need.Saban the manager were very helpful to us,he made our vacation perfect.

Date of stay: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank softycutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Location, location, location!! You are within a few hundred metres of every majoy sight. Walking distance to the blue mosque, sophia, both bazzars, and tram stops to go anywheres else. The host is fanatastic, and extremly helpful! This was our favorite place after staying in turkey for three weeks, it was a great place to spend our last 6 days! HIghly recommended, do not hestiate to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmteed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

again, tripadvisor nailed it for us! saban, who either owns or manages the apartment building, was my contact point and from the the time i sent my first e-mail to him requesting a reservation to the time we checked out, proved professional and warm. we traveled for 3 weeks via "standby" travel since my husband works for a airline. with this, we never know if we will even make our destination...we ended up being delayed by a day and saban was responsive to our e-mail updates and even was able to work out our staying an additional day to make up for the day we missed.

we stayed in the bascilica cistern apt which is essentially the apartment blow ground level. it was perfect! clean (and this is my big big big thorn while traveling), had a fully working kitchen, which we did not use, huge flat screen tv, whcih we did not use, a total of 3 sleeping spaces (one twin bed in the main room and a double in the bedroom). the bathroom was adequate...all new appliances. while is wasn't the four seasons (and if you are reading this, you probably aren't intrested in the four seasons anyway, right?)....chuckle chuckle..it was worth the money paid and we would have probably paid more..so saban, if you are reading this, ask for a little more!

just little about us (this always helps me determine where i stay as we are are sort of past the point of staying at a true hostel in the sense of sharing bedrooms etc.). we travel 4 weeks a year internationally, live in the US, are in our late 30s..and one of us just turned 40:), and prefer to spend our money on food, rental cars, different activities....who needs more than a clean place to stay if you are active?...we were only in our room to sleep which was not alot. i am a stickler about cleaniness (as i stated before)...i have actually checked out of rooms for lack thereof! i can handle bad water pressure, cube-like rooms, no tv etc. but refuse to sacrifice cleaniness. ekim apt met this and went wayyyyyyy beyond.

the only two cons i can think of is that: 1) we didn't have WIFI in our apartment which was important to us as we had to book our next city's stay via internet, and call our daughter on skype etc. we went to the reception area in hotel sur across the road which has some partnership with saban's company to share the reception area (i think). this was a minor minor minor thing though. it worked out fine.

2) we could also hear the neighbor above us really well in the bathroom..i guess the ventilation is wide open between the two bathrooms. we closed the bathroom door and ran the kitchen exhaust fan which provided white noise...my iphone has a white noise app, too which we use, too.

again, the value was incredible! everything was was way beyond my expectations. saban was a gracious host. i wish i would have taken pics of the place...the website and the pics on tripadvisor are very accurate though!

we will stay here again if we end up in istanbul by chance again!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This business had 2 buildings. The old building I only saw from the outside, and it looks charming. We stayed in 2 different rooms in the new building and I'm afraid I can't recommend it. Although the rooms were spacious and newly refurbished they are charmless, not quite finished (eg electrical cords hanging out of the wall), cheaply done and the top floor room (although it has a nice little terrace and good view) smelled terribly of drainage pipes on and off through our stay. The hot water in the shower also wasn't reliable. Can't recommend this place even though the guy running it seems nice. Maybe the old building is good though.

Date of stay: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SabanOlcer, Owner at Ekim Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2010

Our dear previous and future guests.

Thank you very much for all your reviews so far and for choosing our apartments for your visit while in Istanbul.

The new building we have is only two months new, have placed a natural gas combi for central heating and hot water but it is not strong enough as we see at the moment when we switch on the heaters together with hot water. The guest is absolutely right about it saying the hot water is not reliable. We are going to add another one beside it and will use one for hot water and one for heating only and will solve this problem next week ( we have closed the entire building for reservations and will not have guests and break some walls for new pipes and repair again between november 8th - 12th, 2010 ). We will repaint all over the building and do the full decoration which we have not had the chance to complete.

We have closed the drain which was giving out bad smell on the balcony of the roof apartment and do not have this problem anymore.

We actually rented this building by the beginning of july, started constraction to renovate and got reservations starting from the beginning of september, we thought of finishing it fully in two months but couldn't as extra works came out and have not had the chance to do as it has been full always for september and october. We will finish it fully next week and welcome you in our guests best comfortably and get excellent reviews as well as the main building.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays and business trips again and again.

Your friend Saban from Istanbul.
EKIM APART - ISTANBUL - TURKEY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We hadn't had the best experience of Istanbul accommodation earlier in our trip. However, Ekim Apart was perfect for us. It's in a great location - nice and quiet yet close to all the hubbub of Sultanahmet and the city's busiest areas.

We arrived earlier than we originally said yet the owner Saban was there within 5 minutes to show us round and help us out. (As these are apartments, there isn't a reception desk so it's best to make your arrival arrangements with Saban). The apartment itself was compact but more than adequate for us - it was all very clean and well equipped. There's a 12 o'clock check out time which gave us chance to do a bit of gift shopping in the Grand Bazaar before travelling to the airport for our flights home.

If I go to Istanbul again (and I'd love to) I would try Ekim first - nice accommodation, good value and great location. It's worth saying how nice the owner Saban is. He's laid back and friendly and only seems interested in offering good accommodation, friendly service and reasonable rates.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkinsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews