We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gets better every time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ekim Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ekim Apartments
Ranked #83 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gets better every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just returned from a short break in Istanbul and once again enjoyed the excellent service provided by Saban who strives very hard to make his guests as comfortable as possible. This year there was the added benefit of an airport transfer on arrival included in the price. We chose to stay for a couple of nights in the roof-top apartment in the Sultanhamet area which is a great location for all the main tourist attractions. We then moved due to a long-standing prior booking (with taxi transfer provided) for two nights to Saban's new block in Komkapi. This is about 15 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque but very close to the fish market/restaurants over the other side of Kennedy Cadessi. The new apartments are tastefully decorated and well equipped. The Tugra suite has a small balcony so that you can step outside or sit and watch the world go by. The studio is open plan but the kitchen is separated from the bedroom/living area and the bathroom has a lovely, large wet room. The area more residential than tourist but just round the corner is a pedestrianised area with lots of restaurants and you are only minutes away from the sea front. The only downside is that the apartment faces on to a very narrow street which can become very busy with traffic. However, I really liked this area and think it will become a popular choice for those who want somewhere that has a little more of a local feel. I would definitely stay in these apartments again and wouldn't book anywhere in Istanbul other than through Saban.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
61
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Ekim Apart apartment new building. At first, coming from the airport, we didnt wanted be here because was booked Ekim aparet old building, but it was closed for refreshing and manager offered us the new one. Location is a little bit different but as well ok. We stayed at roof room with terrace. Even weather was a little bit cold, view each morning and night to Marmara and Bosphorus was excellent feeling. From other window- the Blue Mosque a little bit. Rooms are really excellent equiped and very clean. Saban- manager is very very patient woth guests and do everything for them. We are really appreciate it. He is a best of all managers which i did meet in Istanbul. Everyone will be happy staying in his appartments in Istanbul even location from first moment doesnt looks best. We felt in this apartment better as in any 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Roof suite with Marmara and Bosphorus view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngaLatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Taxi on arrival in Istanbul at the time came for us. We were five days in the apartment. The location was very close to subway and bus. Stores needed were there all along. It was a small amount of noise during sleep in the morning. Heating and air conditioning was very good. Hot water was always available and we enjoyed Istanbul. We wish to thank Mr. Saban. He was very kind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Saban Olcer was very helpful, and driver met us at airport as scheduled. We did have some troubles with getting heat to work, but Saban always came to our rescue, as he did when we found the corkscrew was broken. I communicated with him via my iPod. Apartments were very clean, and the location was great, just around the corner from the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque and a short walk uphill to the Cemberlitas metro stop and the Grand Bazaar. Little shops and restaurants were nearby.
The apartments, however, are very small. We were in a larger one for a few days with a separate couch and a small balcony, then moved to a smaller one with just bed plus kitchen table and chairs.

Room Tip: If you want more room, pay for one of the larger apartments, as these are really pretty much small r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linnea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and I vacationed with my parents in Turkey in October 2011. I was so impressed with the level of customer service at Ekim Apart that I felt compelled to create a TripAdvisor account just to write a review. I have been fortunate enough to travel to over 50 countries and have stayed in hundreds of hotels that run the gamut, from filthy rooms in the Congo that resemble prison cells I have seen in remote areas of Africa to resorts on paradise islands that charge thousands of dollars per night. (Mostly through business trips for which my company has footed the bill.) Mr. Saban Olcer's attentiveness to our needs met the highest standards set by the the most exclusive of hotels. Now, I'm not saying that the Ekim Apart is a luxury hotel because it is not. Certainly, the quality of amenities reflects the price you pay. However, Mr. Olcer's service is what earns his hotel my 5-star review. I don't want to get into the details, but on more than one occasion our plans changed mid-trip and he was always more than accommodating. He is an honest and truly decent man, and I wish him the best of luck. I remember that he was in the process of opening another apartment/hotel in the same area and hope that he continues to enjoy success.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Three of us from Canada have stayed in this apartment for 6 nights (Dec 21-26, 2011). Saban is VERY friendly, VERY professional and flexible. The apartment was super clean but most important factor for us was the availability and services we were receiving from Saban and his team. I have reported few minor items which required attention and just in an hour all issues got resolved. He was ready at the airport to transfer us to the hotel. He even carried all of our luggage to our apartment and from apartment to car when we were checking out. Whatever Saban mentioned to us about the apartment, location and the area were true. All together it was a fantastic experience just because of Saban and his team. I will definitely stay with Saban again next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed there over a week over Thanksgiving. Two parties (one w/ 2, one w/ 2 adults + 2 kids). Great location, easy to walk to sites. Apartments were spotless and cleaned daily. Airport pickup arranged & worked flawlessly. Also arranged airport transfer on departure, it was right on time. Saban available to offer help and suggestions and see that all went well.

Altho the stay was excellent and we'd return in a hearbeat, folks should be aware that there's a lot of stairs to climb if you're on the top floor, as we were. The stairs can be tricky and portions w/out guardrails. The stove dials were hard to see. The pictures show exactly what it looks like, but after a week the place felt a bit cozy and we'd probably try to stay in his other building, a few blocks away, with slightly larger places.

Some cautions about area around Blue Mosque - nothing to do w/ Ekim Apartments - all of the taxi drivers encountered in this area (2/2), want 5 or 10 times the meter rate. If going to a place that's close by, try to walk it or take public transportation. If it's far away, take public transportation to get close and then get a taxi on the street - you might get somebody who'll use the meter. For return trip to airport, ask Saban for help.

The area abounds w/ people selling things or offering help - it's a tourist area. Usually the help comes w/ a sales pitch, usually about rugs.

There were several restaurants nearby and 100's of 'em in a few blocks, mostly aimed at tourists. Even the Rick Steve's recommended ones were just OK. We preferred Antep restaurant - 4 or 5 blocks away, which seemed to cater more to locals but welcomed tourists, we ate there 4 times in 9 days. Kid friendly, good food, and great value - their lentil soups were 1/2 the price of similar soup in restaurants along the tourist strip.

Several small C-stores were close by - we preferred a supermarket (smallish), which was a block or two further than Antep restaurant.

For coffee, wander around the Grand Bazaar and look for the wonderful smelling shop w/ a line of people getting coffee. This coffee is also available in stores (slightly higher price), but it's better when still warm from the roaster and cheaper at the "factory". The name on the bag says: "KURUKAHVECI MEHMET EFFENDI Turk Kahvesi"

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSYCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Suites
Sultanahmet Suites
#37 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Beyoglu
No:11 Apartments
No:11 Apartments
#32 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Istanbul Apartments Istiklal
Istanbul Apartments Istiklal
#64 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Sultanahmet
Topkapi Apartments
Topkapi Apartments
#57 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Apartment
Hippodrome Apartment
#114 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekim Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekim Apartments

Property: Ekim Apartments
Address: Kucukayasofya Mahallesi, Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu, No:46/A | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekim Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ekim Apartments in Istanbul, started in a charming 19th century Ottoman house in 2010 which was designed for our guests into apartments with modern facilities, nestled in the heart of the old city, splended around after in several buildings in the area. In a convenient Sultanahmet location, the houses are only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the most popular sites such as the Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome Square, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Mosaic Museum, Archaeological Museum, Topkapi Palace, Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar, Egyptian (Spice) Bazaar, Kumkapi fish restaurants and many other attractions. While retaining its period features, our apartments offer uncluttered modern luxury for everyone from the single business/leisure visitor to couples, families and extended families. Maximising light and space, each serviced apartment is furnished in an elegant, international style that exudes quality and comfort. Are you visiting Istanbul for a short trip or an extended stay and looking for a comfortable vacation rental or temporary accommodations? Hotels are great but Ekim serviced apartments are so much better. With our different types of serviced apartments, you will have large space to relax or entertain, to work, and if the mood strikes, you can even prepare a meal. Use one of our apartments in Istanbul for your next vacation, relocation or business trip and really enjoy your stay. Each apartment offers unlimited services to create the stay experience you desire in a space that combines the freedom and privacy of an apartment with the convenience of a hotel, offering total flexibility for short- and long-term stays. Ekim Apart, comprised of different types ranging from studios to three bedrooms apartments offer independence and discreet privacy coupled with the comforts and service you expect from a five-star hotel. Staffed on-site 24/7, our professional multilingual hosts will assist our guests with requests ranging from finding you a table at the area's best restaurant to organising tours all around Turkey. ALL OUR APARTMENTS FEATURE; Work / Entertainment & Electronics High-speed wireless internet, 220V outlets and adapters for non-220V devices, large flatscreen HDTV, DVD player, Bed & Bath Comfortable King size beds, towels and linens, bathrobes, slippers, extra blankets and pillows, wardrobe, private bathrooms, luxury toiletries, make up mirror, hair dryer, baby cribs (if needed, please inform us in advance), Kitchen American kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, stove, kettle, coffee and tea maker and toaster, complimentary tea basket, juice squeezer, dining table and chairs, full dining utensils such as cutlery, glasses, & dishes, Comfort & Security Safe box, iron & ironing board, individually controlled heating and air conditioning, reading lamps, And some services below; Daily housekeeping service, laundry and dry cleaning service *, 24 hour on-site concierge for your needs, airport transfer * (one way and free for stays 4 nights), on-street parking, tours and travel assistance, city map, restaurant and sightseeing reservations, translation and interpreter service*, * Service may require a nominal fee. LOCATION: Our central locations are within walking distance of Istanbul's most popular historical, cultural and tourist attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome Square, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the Egyptian (Spice) Bazaar, the Golden Horn and many others. Just a few minutes walk from the apartments' doors are the tram and train stations, offering rapid and easy transportation to all parts of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ekim Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing