We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Aprtm: Troy...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Istanbul Apartments Istiklal
Ranked #68 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Aprtm: Troy...”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Troy is a nice small Apartm. with a very nice view over the ancient roofs of Beyoglu and the hills of the Golden Horn. It's very well located, in a quiet and characteristic corner, but near to the center( Good Restaurants, shops etc.) and 50 min. walk to the Sultanhakmet Mosques and Museums area. You can count on the efficient kindness of all the Staff and the precision and relayability of the owner, Mr Necdet. It has been a very good choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It was a great pleasure accommodating Marco who had special requests such as finding organic food restaurants. We even tried to upgrade the guest to our Cihangir building where we had hoped he and his son would be more comfortable being close to the organic shops and restaurants.
However he insisted staying in the flat of his original reservation to be rather close to more authentic areas of the city.
All the best wishes and hope to see you again , Marco.
Necdet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    55
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
62
69
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We are a middle aged couple, well travelled and accustomed to European apartment accommodation.

Pera Apartment was our home for 8 nights across the end of December and into January 2014. Unfortunately, our opinion of the accommodation is similar to Ellibelly1 who reviewed Pera in the middle of 2013 and found it to be very average.

The apartment is located in the Talabarsy area of Beyoglu which was basically a seedy slum with many heritage, but decrepit, apartment blocks where Kurds, Africans and other displaced communities lived in cheap accommodation. The government, in its wisdom, kicked most of them out over the last 12 months or so and has started an "urban renewal" program over blocks and blocks of the area. This program is currently in the demolition phase - hence all the building shells surrounding the apartment building (which is presumably staying as it seems in good order).

The whole area looks like a bomb site. It's filthy and rundown. The demolitions (one of which is currently taking place right next door to the apartments) produce constant dust which, even with every door and window closed, result in a layer of dust settling on every surface in the apartment. Over a period of 8 days you can imagine what this was like as each day of demolition work added another layer of dust to flat surfaces, bedding, chairs, couches and the floor.

I understand that these works are totally beyond the control of Istanbul Apartments but, at the very least during this period, I think it's reasonable to expect a daily wipe down of all surfaces and the floor. Note that the inability to open any windows meant the apartment became very stuffy -and forget trying to have siesta in the afternoon.

A word about the locale. We like colourful areas, have lived in them in our home town and have enjoyed areas such as Pigalle in Paris for the life and energy they exude. We never felt unsafe in Pera apartment - the local streets have a nice sense of community - but glue sniffers, transexual prostitutes and seedy characters aren't for everyone. One thing which did disturb us was a knocking on the door at 10:30 pm after we had gone to sleep. By way of a rather terse conversation through closed and locked door we ascertained the unknown man had arrived to fix a heating problem which we hadn't in fact reported. It turns out there was a legitimate mistake made by apartment management but it shouldn't have happened.

Another issue that irked us was the total lack of any 'provisions' in the apartment. In other European apartments we've stayed in there is generally something left behind by the previous guests - the remnants of some dishwashing detergent, half a jar of jam. SOMETHING! But there wasn't even the last half of a roll of toilet paper - after a 12 hour flight we had to hastily find a mini mart and stock up on the essentials. I know we will be leaving behind toilet paper, laundry liquid, dishwashing liquid, a small umbrella useful for drizzly winter rain, a box of sugar cubes, a tin of coffee and some unused soap - I do hope the next guest is able to use them. But I do wonder ...

Some other observations:

1. The noisy refrigerator referred to by a previous reviewer is still noisy enough to badly disturb sleep. It clearly hasn't been effectively serviced since it was noted by the reviewer in June 2013

2. The balcony is unuseable - not only is it covered in dust, there is nothing to see except half demolished buildings and rubbish.

3. Pera Apartment is on the top floor. There is no lift and it is a very steep and difficult climb with luggage. Not suitable for anyone except the reasonably fit.

4. The television has one operating channel - a very interesting fishing program. Not.

5. There was a terrible smell emanating from underneath the kitchen sink.

6. Also as noted by a previous reviewer, curtains are inadequate for privacy. If you're on the toilet make sure you shut the door because the window across the road will get a great view.

And some good points:

1. There is plenty of hot water and water pressure is good

2. We liked the area - it's great for public transport which we used extensively and exclusively - and surrounded by terrific places to eat.

3. There's a washing machine!

4. There is, strangely, a hair dryer

5. Beds are comfortable and towels and bedding are clean (at least they are until the dust settles)

Summary: I wont be back. Istanbul Apartments should have alerted us to the demolition work or, at least, provided a daily cleaning service to wipe down surfaces and mop the floor. The apartment and its furnishings are shabby (not chic I'm afraid) and overall everything is pretty damn ordinary.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are sorry that the guest left unhappy. Obviously some of the negative aspects could have been corrected immediately since our staff (office) is right by the building: missing toilet paper, smell from the kitchen, laundry detergent (available upon request for free).
Previous guests' leftovers, such as sugar/coffee/olive oil/aspirin/bottled water etc. are not left in the apartment for the reason of health related security. We would not like to be liable for any possible health problems.
The guests are right about the construction work in the street that caused noise during the working hours on weekdays and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. About the additional cleaning of the flat due to the excess dust, also that would have been done for free upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

this is my third time in Istanbul apartments this time i stayed with my 7 month old son and husband, it was very quiet and comfortable with baby, apartment Alti good size and it had everything we nedeed.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Istanbul Apartments to using our accommodation.

It was a sincere pleasure to serve you and hope that you and your friends/family enjoyed and were satisfied with our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, requests or comments you may have about your past and future visits to Istanbul Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul Apartments in the near future.

Sincerely,
Necdet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The appartment was outstanding nice and clean but the service was best the really know how to care I wished I have 10 stars I would have given thanking you to Hasan and Mahmut best of luck.
The neighborhood was very interesting - great breakfast eatery down the street, lots of stores selling authentic clothing and spices, and a community loud speaker that seemed to be broadcasting a call to afternoon prayer. Everyone we encountered during the daylight was personable and kind.

Room Tip: Flat Galatasaray on the third floor had lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Istanbul Apartments to using our accommodation.

It was a sincere pleasure to serve you and hope that you and your friends/family enjoyed and were satisfied with our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any questions, requests or comments you may have about your past and future visits to Istanbul Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul Apartments in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ayse & Necdet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have stayed at istanbul Apartments for the third time with my daughter. Our friends from New York also stayed in another one-bedroom apartment in the same building near Taxim and Istiklal. The staff still consists of the same persons as before and the service rendered is just great. They are very helpful and we cannot ask for more. The apartments were clean and the amenities were sufficient. Internet works very well.

Room Tip: We stayed at Galatasaray and Taxim apartments on the 2nd and third floor. Taxim had a balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZEEENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Istanbul Apartments to using our accommodation.

It was a sincere pleasure to serve you and hope that you and your friends/family enjoyed and were satisfied with our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any questions, requests or comments you may have about your past and future visits to Istanbul Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul Apartments in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ayse & Necdet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at Istanbul Apartments several times as a family. On our last visit I was there with 3 friends on a long weekend trip to Istanbul. Our apartment was spacious, clean, well appointed with everything we need for a comfortable stay. The location is great, close to Istiklal street, Cihangir, Asmali Mescit and Taksim. Great sightseeing during the day and fantastic place to explore the nightlife. The owners Ayse and Necdet are very helpful and the staff are great; nothing is too much trouble. We really felt well taken care of and enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend Istanbul Apartments!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Istanbul Apartments to using our accommodation.

It was a sincere pleasure to serve you and hope that you and your friends/family enjoyed and were satisfied with our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, requests or comments you may have about your past and future visits to Istanbul Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Istanbul Apartments in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ayse & Necdet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have stayed with them on 4 occasions for extended periods. Very courteous and eager to assist and make your stay comfortable. Their e-mail service is efficient and quick, normally somebody is there within a few minutes to deal with whatever problem you have. Customer relations and service is excellent. Thank you Istanbul Apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbulapt, Owner at Istanbul Apartments Istiklal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We offer accommodation for short-stay as well as extended stay. We love returning guests because that gives us the satisfaction knowing that the guest is happy. We will keep on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#169 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#275 of 1,156 in Istanbul
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#180 of 1,156 in Istanbul
734 reviews
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#29 of 1,219 in Istanbul
108 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,219 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Apartments Istiklal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Apartments Istiklal

Property: Istanbul Apartments Istiklal
Address: Tel Sokak 27 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Istanbul Apartments Istiklal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Apartments offers luxury, deluxe, standard, economic-class short-term rental apartments in the very heart of Istanbul, just fifty meters from the famed Istiklal Street (Taksim-Beyoglu-Galata-Pera-Tunel-Galatasaray-Tepebasi), with its unrivaled reputation for restaurants, cultural monuments, shopping, entertainment and cultural pursuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Istanbul Apartments Istiklal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Apartments Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing