We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be a 5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White House Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #1 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel deserves every good word that is said about it! There is nothing to fault. I was told twice by the Manager that this is not a 5 star hotel. I do not know why not. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises but just across the road there is a choice of restaurants and all very friendly even if you just want to sit down for a drink and savour the magnificent view. Meryem, at reception, was always very obliging and helpful as were all other staff. Breakfast was typical Turkish fare and this was served by very friendly staff and the choice was different everyday and certainly fresh. It also had a wonderful view that I did not tire of. Due to travelling arrangements I stayed at the hotel on three different occasions in the month of July and I had the opportunity to try three different rooms staying a total of eight nights. The rooms were all beautiful and very clean.

The location of the hotel is very close to all the main attractions and only a couple of minutes walk to the tram that takes you to all other places of interest. I have travelled extensively and I found this hotel to be far superior to most, if not all, others.

I can not say enough good things about this hotel and will certainly be visiting them again on my next Istanbul trip.

Room Tip: I have no negative comments about the rooms I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Sahibi at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

My Dearest Guest ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 3,503 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The White House does not quite warrant the rave reviews it gets here. While it's in a great location and tries very hard, there are too many negatives to give it 5, or even 4 stars. The airport pick-up is great, the staff are wonderful and do their best to help, but this doesn't make up for annoyances like the tiny, cramped rooms and undistinguished breakfast amongst other things. There is barely room to put anything down in the bedroom and the linen is spartan. The imitation, gilded bedside table with "antique" phone, clock and lamp takes up so much space as to be a complete nuisance. The bathroom was better and had a great shower, but again not a lot of space. My bedroom door lock failed more than once and there were no pillows in the room on arrival. As others have commented, although breakfast appears to have a lot of choice, the quality is poor. While it's good that every hotel in the world does not feel it has to provide the full US/UK style cooked breakfast buffet, one with the aims the White House clearly has should at least focus on fresh ingredients, decent juices, pastries, cereals etc. So all in all a good base in Sultanahmet, but a let down after all the reviews here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a small hotel with staff so attentive, you'd think it's a family run business. The rooms are extremely clean, with decor to rival most 5-star hotels. Positioned within 10 minutes walk of most major tourist attractions, there is no need to spend money on transport. Breakfast is both tasteful and abundant and the view from the terrace dining room is breathtaking.

We visited in December during snowfall which only served to enhance our magical experience in Old Town Istanbul. Our inability to speak Turkish was not a problem as the staff at the front desk made every effort to answer any and all questions we had. They advised us of where to go, and more importantly where not to go, and as a result we got an exceptional deal on a beautiful lamb leather coat we found at a manufacturer they had directed us to. Visiting a country without knowing a word of their language is sometimes a daunting experience, however Meryem and Aiden at the front desk ensured our visit was a memorable one.

We will definitely be visiting them again and won't be considering another hotel on our next visit to Istanbul. You don't have to take our word for it, because at more than reasonable prices they charge, you can afford to experience it for yourself.

Thank you to everyone at the White House Hotel, and we will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vatsilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

My Dearest Guest ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the White House Hotel in Istanbul and cannot say enough good things about the wonderful, gracious service. When I had to depart early in the morning for the airport, they opened the (fabulous) breakfast buffet an hour early -- just for me. The location of the hotel is also outstanding, on a quiet side street within easy walking distance of all the top sights in the older part of the city. My room was comfortable and absolutely spotless. Mariam at the front desk was particularly helpful to me one day when I took at taxi to the Chora Museum; she summoned the taxi and made sure that the driver did not overcharge me. I would not hesitate to recommend the White House Hotel to even the most discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTCWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

My Dearest Guest ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I picked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and I was really surprised.
The location cannot be better, it is close to every top sites (Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar,etc.)
Accommodation is comfortable and hospitality is wonderfull!
A real excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

My Dearest Guest ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have just come from one of the sweetest stays ever in a lifetime of great travel: after our tour of The Holy Lands and Petra/Jordan we took some time in Istanbul at The White House Hotel for wonderful, comfortable accommodation and most of all hospitality to the highest degree!! Their location is outstanding there in the old city a short walk from the major attractions!! But it is the warmth of the staff that was so endearing and if you want to relax with an attentive caring staff this is the place!! *****!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

My Dearest Guest ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Based upon my wonderful experience at this hotel a year ago, I did not hesitate to reserve this hotel again for our annual visit to Istambul. But, I admit I was a bit curious to see if the hotel relaxed its standards given the wonderful reviews by its guests. And, again the hotel did not dissapoint! Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks and a warm welcome. But, our surprise came when they opened the door to our room. First, it was the same room as I stayed in last year.But, I taught they ,are a mistake and gave a honeymoon room to us because the whole room was filled with lit candles, rose petals, a bottle of wine and a warm hand written note from the owner/ manager and a beautiful vase of flowers. I have never been so taken off guard in a hotel and I have been a special guest at places like Four Seasons, etc.
Everything else was as I experienced before and upon checkout received a beautiful rosé and sweets that again left me feeling special.
The owner/manager and all the wonderful staff here really understand what makes a stay special. I congratulate them for their consistency and hope they never loose this touch.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are a bit noisier,but if city dweller, no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank utka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2015

My Dearest Guest utka ,

Thank you for sharing your precious reviews here about our hotel.
We are happy to know you enjoyed staying in our hotel.
We wish to host you on your upcoming trips to the city.

Best Regards,
Owner
Harun CADIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
162 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel Istanbul

Address: Alemdar Mahallesi Catalcesme Sok No:21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $88 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Hotel Istanbul is located in the heart of the historical peninsula and it is within walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Archeology Museum, the Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, the Millennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome, which are the most important landmarks of the city. White House Hotel Istanbul is the ideal starting place for exploring this Ottoman capital city's endless historical sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your White House Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing