We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although the rooms are small, everything else is perfect. The location is great: all major places of interest are within walking distance, lots of good restaurants and cafes nearby, a supermarket is just a minute's walk away. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is sufficient with a lot of healthy choices and everything looks and tastes fresh. The view from the rooftop terrace is awesome, and in my opinion, unbeatable. You can have breakfast there, or after a long day exploring Istanbul, have drinks at the rooftop terrace and just enjoy the view,

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imasuleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    191
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
412
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Agora Life hotel. Everything about the stay was excellent. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception and shown to the room on the second floor. The room was well equpped including very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and a bathroom with large shower and nice tolietries. The staff were very keen to share tips on sightseeing and suggested trips. We also met the very accomodtaing owner who took the time to make all guests feel welcome. Breakfast was a self-service buffet with omelettes also available. It was possible to take an elevator up to the rooftop terrace which gave fantastic views of the major sights such as Aya Sophia and the Bosphourous. The location is fantastic being right in the middle of Sultanahmet with the attractions such as the Mosques and the cistern all in walking distance, a real plus in Istanbul. It is also possible to walk down and across the river and up to Istiklal/Taksim. The hotel is not a chain hotel, it is an independent boutique hotel. If you prefer a more personal experience with friendly service this hotel is the choice for you. I really recommend this hotel as a top choice in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really is best for its location. In honesty it isn't a 4 star in my opinion. It feels more like a b&b. Rooms are very small. Initially on arrival my room was clean but following that the cleaner did a pretty bad job of cleaning it every day. The bathroom was not kept very well. Ours had flies swatted on tiles, which never got cleaned, a huge damp patch on the ceiling where water had leaked from the room above, cracked tiles. It clearly needs a good revamp. In addition bath towels were old and frayed. The room itself was very small and moving around was tricky.

The hospitality of the people who work at this hotel was very good. They were very helpful and polite.

Breakfast was a huge let down. Basics such as orange juice was not even served. The meal mainly consisted of a buffet of vegetables, olive and cheeses. I didn't bother with it a couple of mornings. You could take a tray up to the roof but had to keep coming to basement if you wanted refills.

Overall, I guess I got what I paid for but I have no idea how this hotel has been awarded 4 stars. Would I stay there again? Yes probably as its a perfect location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deepa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

On our first visit to Istambul beginning of September 2013 de choose Agora Life.
We arrived late night after a 15+h flight and when we saw the lobby and room size I was very disappointed.
However the following day when we saw where it was located, we agreed that it is a fair value for money.
I didn't like that breakfast is in level -1, however you have the option to take a tray with your breakfast buffet to the terrace on the roof, with a nice view of Istambul. However there are no waiters, so if you forget something you have to take the lift to level -1 and then to the roof again, that was quite irritating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGALA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is small but the views are amazing. We stayed on the 4th floor in a suite with views of the golden horn and the Hagia (Aya) Sophia. If you don't have a suite on this side of the hotel you can still see this view from the rooftop terrace. They let you take the breakfast trays up to the rooftop to enjoy your breakfast in a beautiful setting.
Even more impressive than the view is their customer service. Our prearranged taxi (not arranged by the hotel) was very late picking us up from the hotel. The owner and the manager were on the phone with the company and the driver trying to determine where the driver was. They tried coming up with alternates to transporting us and also using their own cab service and then ultimately carrying our bags 3 blocks away just to get us to the airport on time. Very attentive people throughout.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice Boutique Hotel, good position to Grand Bazzar & Blue Mosk in the, Old City of Istanbul. Staff were very helpful, recommend fabulous restaurant in the Fish Market and arranged a shuttle transfer to and from without charge.

Room Tip: Very nice boutique hotel, only sixteen rooms, very quiet and an excellent position only minutes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Although its a small hotel but clean, comfortable, luxury rooms, located in Heart of Istanbul near Haggai Sofia and near a lot of shops, restaurants ....really I'm impressed about this hotel thanks for them .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarwar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#65 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#64 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Property: Agora Life Hotel
Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing