We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Livin' the Life at Agora Life Hotel”
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
Ranked #58 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I just came back from visiting Istanbul for a week. I randomly booked the Agora Life and I'm so happy I did because this place is awesome. The rooms were comfortable, clean, modern and I had an amazing view from the Bosphorus suite.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly, helpful and they spoke English. They gladly helped me arrange for a private guide, taxis, reservations at restaurants, etc. The level of outstanding customer service and attention to detail made me feel like I was staying at a really nice apartment building with a front desk that I had known for years. I never felt anything less than their best and most important customer and the other guests I spoke to felt the exact same way.

The breakfast downstairs was great. Lots of cereals, breads and cheeses. The breakfast attendant, Ugor (sp?), also made me eggs sunny-sided up every morning without any extra fuss. Towards the end of my stay, he had the eggs ready for me and I didn't even have to ask. That kind of attention to detail and willingness to go above and beyond was typical of my stay at Agora Life.

Lastly, the location was ideal to tour the old city. It's easily 5 minutes away from Hagia Sofia. It's about a 15 minute taxi ride from the bars and clubs of Taxim but the ride was about 18 Turkish Lira. I personally liked staying but the old stuff and then taking a taxi to the bars at night. Agora Life is perfectly situated so you can visit some historic stuff, walk back to the hotel to rest and then go back out at night. My friends and I walked around during the day, came back, rested and then took a taxi to go out.

OVERALL - Customer service and a great deal are really important to me. I know there are other hotels that are slightly cheaper than Agora Life but I would gladly pay the extra few dollars to stay at a nice hotel that's clean, modern, perfectly situated and that comes with great customer service.

-Nicole, Lindsay and Stacy

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OfficeTravelLeague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 986 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

I only stayed for one night at Agora Life but it was excellent. Kadir, the owner, was really helpful and arranged an excursion for me as well as finding a good Turkish Hamam for me to visit nearby. Every time we chatted he was quick to offer me a delicious glass of Turkish tea. The room I stayed in was quite small but very comfortable and the decor is modern with new furniture and flat screen tv. There was free fruit and water on arrival which is a nice touch. The location is fantastic - 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. There is a superb fish restaurant on the road called Sultanahmet fish house too. Overall a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aldy_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

An excellent small hotel with superb views from the 3 bed Bosphorus room. Very spacious and light filled with small balcony overlooking the hamam. Staff were extra courteous and helpful. Excellent location for the old town and tram. Breakfast was well presented and would be even better up on the terrace in good weather.
Highly recommended...we were even given a lovely scarf as a Christmas present.
Very quiet.

Room Tip: Bosphorus had a huge window overlooking the Bosphorus. Hotel can arrange and monitor parking in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sofiasofia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Agora Life made our first trip to Istambul a very pleasant surprise. The Hotel has a top location near the old part of town and the main attractions. It's a small and familiar hotel with small but comfy rooms, and all very clean and new. We started our trip staying there and had a minor problem with the shower, when we came back before returning home they upgrade us to the suite for free :) What a rest before our flight. And with amazing views!

Tip: Grab a beer from the mini bar and watch the sunset in the rooftop - Amazing views

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for the suite in the top floor with the magnific view to the Bosfurus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joao74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hotel is centrally located, within walking distance from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and other points of interest like the grand bazaar.It was clean and nice.The staff were very quick to help us with any questions and very friendly. All in all a great hotel with a lot to offer in its surrounding area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepthi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very nice hotel, great location, clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Special mention to Mr khadir who is very helpful with organising trips and sight seeing. Definitely recommend it.

Atishma

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atishma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Visited with set of friends and had a fun stay in Istanbul.. enjoyed our stay at Agora life , excellent staff and service, very welcoming and helpful! the hotel is perfectly situated , just 5 min walk,in the centre of so many of Istanbuls major attractions.Great place and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preeti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,303 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,159 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#75 of 1,159 in Istanbul
409 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#77 of 1,159 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $64 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing