We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Context Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.83*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Venice's Jewish Ghetto
Ranked #129 of 409 Tours in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We organize small-group (6 people max) walking tours of Istanbul, led by scholars, professors, and experts in a given topic. A finalist in National Geographic's Geotourism Challenge, Context walks offer a sustainable alternative to large group tours.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Graduate student-level tour so if you just want things pointed out then pay less & get less. If you want a great history lesson from a very knowledgeable guide, this is for you. Tiny groups (we had three people one day and just the two of us the next day). Claire was our guide at Topkapi Palace yesterday and Ebru at Hagia Sofia today. Great perspective difference between an American expat and a native Turkish guide. Truly memorable both days. HIGHLY recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    1
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selma, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Curated Lunch”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Curated Lunch with docent Renan Yucel while in Istanbul last week. Everyone in our group of five declared that this was one of the highlights of our visit to Greece and Turkey.

The walk included tours of markets, tastings of local specialities, introduction to the best food shops and lunch at Ciya, where we were warmly greeted and served a delicious feast. In fact, I believe the Turkish cuisine is now my favorite.

Thank you Context Travel for once again providing excellent service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingfisher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take this tour!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We did two tours- the Hagia Sophia and the Golden Horn Tour, and they were both excellent. Claire, our guide, was so knowledgeable... she really made the history come alive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful knowledgable guide”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited the Topkapi Palace with Claire and were the only people on the tour. She answered every question and showed fanatastic knowledge of the building and Turkish history. We learnt far more than if we had gone alone. Well worth the cost and we are recommending it to friends and will use Context elsewhere. If all the guides are as good as Claire it is well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bombered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth the time”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took the Hagia Sophia tour late april with Claire. It was a super tour, well organized and about 3 hours in length. She took us through and told us all kinds of information we would have otherwise not known. And was happy to spend more time in areas where the group (4 of us) had more questions. Overall, it was a fantastic experience & I would recommend it to anyone looking for more information on the historical sites in Istanbul. I had originally signed up for a guide around the city, which to me felt like a guy who would guide me to buy things from his friends. I was very disappointed and told him so, at which point he recommended Context if I wanted 'historical' information rather than a sales pitch. He was right, you should go).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steveinhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Context Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing