We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Fors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fors Hotel
Ranked #575 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Small Hotel but Very Neat & Clean. Hotel Staff Very Soft Spoken & Helpful. Peaceful Place. Will definitely stay again if I visit this place.

Very Gentle people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lion201us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
42
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

There is nothing bad about this hotel, I really find it difficult to believe that anyone would give it anything but five stars. It is not a luxury hotel, but instead is exactly what it proffers to be. It is a small hotel in a central part of Istanbul with friendly staff and a welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are clean and well kept, the beds comfortable and linen fresh. Even the small details are there, the fittings for the room are ornamental yet not gaudy and the bathrooms are bright and clean.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager who provided us with plenty of information and leaflets about what to do while we were there and generally offered us a very warm welcome to his hotel and city. Eager to explore we asked for directions to the hippodrome. The only downside to this hotel is it is at the bottom of a hill, however, I think you will find that everything in Istanbul is on a hill. It is very very hilly. If you are disabled this may not be the best place for you to visit, as in general as we found accessibility lacking (although improving).
The breakfast at the hotel is a continental breakfast and whilst simple is plentiful and well cooked and typical of this country. The staff are probably the friendliest I have ever met, and I have stayed in hotels more expensive than this one where you perhaps would expect to be paying for improved service. I arranged a pick up from Sabiha Gocken through Fors and this went without a hitch unlike my friends whose stay overlapped ours and went through their agent.
I really can not rate this hotel highly enough, no it is not a luxury hotel and the price reflects this. However it is excellent value if you want somewhere you will be welcomed with open arms, and made to feel you never want to leave.
Special thanks to Nufer whose welcome and genuine friendship made our stay all the better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at the Fors hotel from 31 Oct 2010 to 6 Nov 2010. Our first room was extremely small, and we changed rooms to one on the second floor after a couple of days that was bigger. Both rooms were spotless clean, with all the amenities one might wish for: TV, mini bar, wireless internet. The hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district and was convenient to all the historical sights, the Grand Bazaar and the tram line. What made this hotel really special for us, was the staff. Everyone was really friendly and Areef (forgive my spelling) was outstandingly helpful in every way. He helped make this "a trip of a lifetime"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoce
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

It is my first to write a review, but I have never been in situation, that my expectitions and expirience would be so far apart.
I have traveled all over the world, so I feel I have some expirience about hotels.
We booked the room over internet. Everithing started on our arrival. It was at 03.00 AM. The guy, that worked over the night put us in the room behind the reception. When asked if it is a quiet room, he said, that is the only room they have. So we took it. After unpacking our bags, we tried to go to sleep ASAP, but first shock was, uncowering the bed. It was obiously, that someone was using it before us, and it was just coverd with bed blanket. Not to mention, that we noticed that wrap, that should mean that toilet is cleaned was broken, and the little hotel shampoo bottle was in the shower and half empty. We demanded, to get another room. The guy found one on 1st floor. After checking the bed, we went to sleep. We found out in the morning, that the trash box in full of garbage from the people that were there before us. The cleaning lady did not empty trash box for two days, until we left it opend in the middle of bathroom. The cleanig lady also does not change the toilet paper, so you have to go to reception and ask for new one.
The problem is also, that the wireless internet does not work; you can connect to hotel, but tho hotel is not connectet to internet.
The hotel also does not have any control about mini bar in the room. They tried to charge us some things we did not use 3 times.
There was also big noise in the night, usualy after 02.00 AM. We saw, that there is abiously runed a brothel in the house, or at least they are renting rooms for one our. In room next to our, that was not ocupaied, had at least two couples in the last night of our stay. When talking to the receptionist about wat was going on, he said he does not know, and he does not know who those people are.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel is OK - new and realy clean but on the web sites they say that have free parking nearby. In fact the parking is on the small street in front of hotel - totaly unsafe.
Like the hotel, the staff is at begining but friendly.
The rooms and bathrooms are small, the view from the window is at ugly roofs.
The hotel have a good location for the people that come with the plane and want a hotel in Old Town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

we stayed at the fors hotel for 5 days in august, and although i do not normally post on websites i felt that i must this time...
the hotel and staff were brilliant throught out our stay,the rooms were clean and tidy.... and were very pleasent and tastefully decorated,
the breakfast was very welcome to get us on our way.. beds were comfortable, and had no problems sleeping at all after our long tiering days exploring....
admitidly, we prob had the smallest room, but we were in istanbul, and we came to istanbul to see the sites and wouldnt be spending a lot of time in the hotel..
the rate s of the rooms are very resonable and great value compared to other hotels in the area..
it is in a quiet area just 10 mins walk from all major historical sites.
1 downside was that the hill it was on was quite an incline.... we had to go up this hill everyday to get to the sites, BUT i would say that unless you stayed on the main street (bars, restaurants, tram lines etc.)..... you had a hill to climb... either way... as we discovered that istanbul (sultanhamet) is a hilly area.....
overall very good..... and when we visit again in the near future we wouldnt consider anywere else to saty.....
regards jo and lewis

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewiswensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

we family of six stayed for 7 nights in fors hotel ,very pleasant ,clean hotel .The staff are very helpful especially YUNUS he is very friendly with smile all the time.the kids enjoyed the hotel and we all pleased with it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOURFAMILY2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#481 of 1,141 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#562 of 1,141 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#404 of 1,141 in Istanbul
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#895 of 1,141 in Istanbul
357 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,141 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#754 of 1,141 in Istanbul
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fors Hotel

Property: Fors Hotel
Address: Piyerloti cad. Kadirga Hamam sk. No.10, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fors Hotel is located in the old peninsula of Istanbul within walking distance to it's highlights; Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace Museum, Archeological Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Milennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome. All of them in walking distance within few minute. This charming and elegant hotel is an ideal destination for those who wish to live old Istanbul in a modern and luxurious environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing