We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value”

Golden Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Palace Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Orange, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good value”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very conveniently located hotel just inside the gate of the old city with a friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and easy access to the incredible historic sites in the Sultanahmet area. It is just inside the old city gate so the street does have a fair amount of traffic at certain times of day but we felt the hotel to be very good value for the price paid. The breakfast is typical Turkish, which we like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
11
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there for one night and the hotel was good. It was very close to the Blue mosque and Sultanahmet tram station. But the problem is that the way from the hotel to the city is very steep uphill. The room was also clean. The hotel didn't have elevator. But the breakfast was not good at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Areham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I did stay, there is like a palace. Stuff are helpfully, clean and fastest. Room's air is too fresh. I like that. Excellent. My favorite turkish hotel. Breakfast was amazing and sea look is so nice. If you wanna comfortably, fresh and silent place you are looking true place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayalzede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Arrived at this hotel on 3rd May at 11.30pm only to be informed that there were no room reserved for us! Even though I had a hotel voucher from Travel Republic stating otherwise, the receptionist was adamant that she did not receive a reservation but surprisingly received the money for the room bookings? hmmm after offering us one night with one of us having to sleep on the floor although we booked for 4 nights; the receptionist moved us to a really awful hotel (Rose hotel, old city, Istanbul) to stay there for the remaining 3 nights.
The staffs were friendly but I felt that this was due to the fact that they screwed up! I have spoken to travel republic who confirmed that they had emailed for rooms to be reserved, this is still currently being investigated...don't waste your time booking with this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went again to Istanbul, we love this city, and stayed at the Golden Palace. The hotel is clean, slightly worn, but definitely clean. Mattress is almost new and comfortable, the host is kind and helpful, price is fair. Hotel is a few minutes walking from amenities like Agia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, tramway stop, restaurants, shops, the Grand Bazar. Taxis as like as shuttle to the airport are a few steps on the righ from the hotel door.

Andre & Irene

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
Thank Andrea_Martano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a budget hotel and do not expect anything else, then you will be happy otherwise disappointed. The staff speaks good English and are very helpful. The rooms are not sound proof so a noisy neighboor could be a problem. Also the AC was noisy. Breakfast just below average. But it is price wise a good choice and the location is fantastic. Very close to major attractions and close to tram and ferry boats. Try to call the hotel directly and negotiate price, I am sure you will get better price than from the internet.

Room Tip: Check the noise from the AC before choosing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I can't believe some people actually like this place. We were accosted by travel agent at the airport and they talked us into booking here. When we saw our room, we asked for a different one and they would not let us change rooms. Then we asked for a refund and they refused that also.

We decided to stay one night because it was late and we were exhausted. It rained that night and the bathroom ceiling leaked and caused a mess in the bathroom. It was so bad, we booked another hotel even though we had to pay for 2 hotels.

There are so many great choices in the old town, don't waste your time with this place. The train is close by and the noise was awful as well. I usually write when the experience is great, but this was so bad I had to write about it over a year later.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,277 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#212 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#157 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palace Hotel

Property: Golden Palace Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Sokak. No 29 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Golden Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing