We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eating”

Meat House Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: Located in the very heart of the Historical Peninsula , Meat House is your stop flavor for Turkish Cuisine at Sultanahmet. Just sixty meters from Hagia Sophia , Sultanhmet Mosque and The Topkapi Palece its on the calmest and most peaceful street in the neighbourhood yet again you reach Sultanahmet square with just a few steps and join the crowd in the center bustling with activity. Supported by the comments about us we are a restaurant with a strong menü of authentic Turkish cuisine. Beef steak, all kebaps, pides ,pizzaz ,cold starters ,olive oil dishes ,vegeterian dishes, fish and shrimp fresh bread made instantly and all alcholic & non alcoholic drinks. All our products are made with daily bought vegetables lamb and cow meat. With our genial personel and hospitality making you feel home we are expecting you all to taste the delicasies in Meat House
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great eating”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is great for a quick no frills and cheap meal. It is a no-frills cafe style restaurant. The decor is basic but its looks hide the very good value meals that are available. The staff are friendly. The place is clean. Whilst it does not attempt to compete with the pricier and more lavish restaurants in Sultanahmet, in terms of presentation, it certainly does hold its own in quality and value for money. There is no hesitation in recommending this restaurant. The restaurant itself is confident of satisfying customers- the waiter told us that if we did not like the meal we did not have to pay!! We paid!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatrickSaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    158
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“How can you not love a Meat House?”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Something that may not be clear from TA reviews of the Meat House is that it is an informal eatery, more or less a cafe that does (very good) full meals. The lights are up bright, the waiter is wearing his street clothes, and a TV was playing horse racing (thankfully with the sound turned off). Don't come in expecting a starred restaurant and you will be on the right page. At one point a 50-something bloke wearing butcher's/chef's whites appeared from the kitchen to have a smoke on the street and he exuded such an air of "Man knows his meat" that we knew we were in safe hands. The adana kepab is properly spicy, and the Iskender kepab also has more fire than many others. It comes with two big dollops of yogurt. The standard lavash comes with it. We were impressed to see that our neighbours were brought a fresh, hot bread with each course (which is a good thing because these loaves go cool and crispy within a few minutes of deflating at the table). All up, it is pleasingly cheap for the amount of taste on the plates.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a great little restaurant with amazingly good food for such a tiny out of the way place. Our taxi driver recommended it and with some hesitation, we agreed to try it after a visit to Topkapi Palace. We were very pleasantly surprised and it turned out to be some of the best food we had on the entire 2 week trip to Greece and Turkey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppompei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is the first restaurant we had our dinner when we arrived in Istanbul last October. It was recommended by a local and we never really expected anything about the place but much to say it exceeded any unconscious expectations. Really excellent food (fairly priced), friendly people and a nice quiet location where you can just chill after. One of the place we will definitely visit again when we go back to Istanbul.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geribeari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have visited this little restaurant several times on two different trips, delicious, freshly made pizza are a treat, served with a lovely glass of cold white wine!! at a reasonable price. It is positioned away from the main tourist street, relaxed and friendly, really enjoyed, thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetcourtneydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing