We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful”
Review of Istanbul Walk

Istanbul Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.64*
and up
Bosphorus Full-Day Sightseeing Tour: Golden Horn and Bosphorus Cruise, Spice...
More Info
$89.61*
and up
Istanbul by Night: Turkish Food Tour
More Info
$28.68*
and up
Whirling Dervish Show in Istanbul
Ranked #90 of 415 Tours in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Istanbul Walks - Istanbul and Turkey Daily City Tours
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“be careful”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Istanbul is definitely a city that should be visited at least once.
But the problem is that tourists who are visiting the city aited many unpleasant suprises.Almost all the taxi drivers and traders in particular those in the Grand Bazaar are able to rob you in all possible wayd, which is very difficult to avoid.
I recommend to everyone to pay using credit cards and if you need some cash take cash usin the cash machines only, because it is the only way to avoid falsified money.
My advice is not to buy anything at the Bazaar than in stores outside Bazaar.
The restaurants on the open near the Bazaar should definitely be avoided because the food is bad and very expensive.
I can recommend restaurants that abound around the Blue Mosque.
For the shopping is best to visit a large shopping center in Tasim.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cincili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    58
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I offers multiple floors of exhibits, ranging from Neolithic Anatolia to stuff around the time,of Alexander the Great. There is a area dedicated to the settlements of Troy. Numerous sarcophagi form Egypt (mostly later time periods) there are many artifacts from ionic Greece (Asia minor) statues, mosaics, and stelas. However, when I was there it seemed like an entire wing was closed due to reconstruction (or something) so I missed so key things, which was rather disappointing. So do some research first.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice walking tour”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visited Istanbul for 3 days so I did walking tour and also did my walking in many area in the city.
the tour was very good I think anywhere in Istanbul good to see it
I visit Blue mosque better visit it in the morning as at noon it is pray time non-Muslim cannot go inside the mosque .I saw also Hagia Sophia and palace
other time I went to bazar and specie market it is very nice
also I like the food and there is many restaurants with all type of food grill ,sea food etc.
most of the shop you need to get discount
you will like the city as all things is there places to visit, shopping ....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank advisor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great visit and nice and very professional guide”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are a young couple from Barcelona who decided to take the istanbul classics and highlights tour with a local guide as istanbul has lots of amazing and interesting stories behind.
Our guide, Emir, is very fluent in English and has a deep understanding about istanbul history. On top of this he is very pedagogic, funny and flexible.
The visit was everything but boring and I would recommend Emir services to anyone looking for a local guide who gives an added value service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Míriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walking tours”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I did 3 walking tours with Istanbul walks, the tour guide Selma was extremely knowledgeable and well spoken. Can't wait to go back and do more walking tours as they have many more. My tours were of the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM2857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Walk also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing