We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever”
Review of Tunel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunel Residence
Ranked #74 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
1 review
“The best place ever”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel location is really great, the rooms are very well designed and furniture is fantastice, the kitchen is fully facilitated with all important tools, dishwasher and washing machines are available in suites, rooms are big enough for a medium family, staff are wonderfull, English speakers
Very warm environment you feel like home

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
54
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My friends and I stayed in Tunel residence in May 2012 for 4 days and from the moment we entered the room we felt at home.It looks more like a cosy apartment with a nice decoration and a handy kitchen.The bathroom was quite good and the room had plenty of closets ( I'm almost in lack of space for my clothes in other hotels).
We didnt got the time for the swimming pool and spa but it looked good.The hotel staff are really nice and are well informed of the near attractions.Dont expect to see a lobby when you enter the hotel its just the reception and the lifts, but there is a very good restaurant by the hotel which I strongly suggest.
The hotel location can be the best thing about it. Just across the street is the metro station and its 5 minutes walk to Galata tower and the lovely Istiklal street.
Over all I was pretty satisfied with the hotel as it was my first time traveling with friends and not the family !

Room Tip: Dont insist on having the sea view room. You can just get a glance of the sea through the front buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Negin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

we recently stayed here for a week in april 2012.

the hotel is perfectly centrally located in istanbul in the lively beyoglu tunel neighborhood. it is right next door to the new sishane metro stop and just down the steps from the old tunel funicular subway and the lower end of the colorful iskilal caddesi promanade avenue. i emphasize "down the steps" because you have a climb to go back updirectly - ha!, but you can easily walk around the neighborhood a bit to avoid the steep steps.

the staff are very friendly and english is spoken at the reception, but please be polite and do make an effort to speak some turkish! the housekeeping staff are also very helpful, nice people and the hotel is very clean and sharp looking.

the rooms are very small, all bed really, but modern and clean and otherwise perfectly fine. not sure re a few noise complaints i had read about as the hotel was very quiet for our entire stay. the immediate hotel street and area are very quiet all day and night although there is plenty of nightlife close by.

what else? hmm. we liked the tiny bathroom and shower, particularly the cedar stand on the shower floor -- no slipping! oh the air and temp were fine all night -- i enjoyed opening the window every morning as we got ready for another day tourist expeditions.

we did not use the spa or other facilities or the restaurant, but you may want to after a long day of sightseeing.

i would most definately recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: our room looked out the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

we've stayed at tunel residence's junior suite for four days with our two kids and we had a wonderful time. perfect location, close to metro station,istiklal street, galata tower and nearly everything.the junior suite is very well furnished and has equipment for everything that a family needs, even a small pool,jacuzzi,sauna and steam bath. very friendly and helpful staff .good drinks and food at big chefs.the only negatives were that the hamam did not work and we could not have the amazing experience of a turkish hamam and they did not refill the toiletries unless we asked for it.anyway, we all had a great time and the amazing thing is that our 5 year old boy and our 3 year old daughter thought that this was our new home!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location was amazing, close to istiklal street, lots of restaurants and within walking distance of tourist sights. The room is quite small, and nicely decorated but we didn't spend too much in it. The gym was quite adequate. However, there were some problems.
Firstly, there was a deal listed on the website where if you stayed five nights you got a free transfer from the airport, two free transfers if you stayed ten nights. However, they refused to honor this deal because we booked through an external website. This was all right, but I thought it was not the best customer service.
Secondly, the shower was essentially dangerous, it kept switching from hot to cold on its own.
Thirdly, the room was not cleaned every day automatically. When we asked for it to be cleaned it was.
Fourthly, they did not refill the toiletries and sometimes the tea and coffee unless we asked for it. Again, when we asked they did, however it is a basic thing that I think most hotels automatically provide.
Fifthly the door had little glass windows in the top which let light in all night.
Again, good location, the room was all right but honestly I would look for another hotel in the same location.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

we booked the suite, which was located at the sixt floor,with view of Ayha Sofia and no noice from the street. Also great location,on foot to taxim square or Galata tower.

Room Tip: stay at higher floors, are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athenshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Everything is great except the lack of air conditioning, if you visit in summer , you might not survive!

Opening the window is a good solution if you are ok with the noise !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#297 of 1,141 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#53 of 1,141 in Istanbul
637 reviews
Beyoglu
Daru Sultan Galata
Daru Sultan Galata
#246 of 1,047 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 1,200 in Istanbul
106 reviews
Beyoglu
Nuru Ziya Suites
Nuru Ziya Suites
#8 of 1,200 in Istanbul
300 reviews
Beyoglu
Louis Appartements Galata
Louis Appartements Galata
#12 of 1,200 in Istanbul
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunel Residence

Property: Tunel Residence
Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:96 Sishane, Beyoglu, Istanbul 1546362, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tunel Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunel Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing