We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Tunel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunel Residence
Ranked #69 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
greece
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel is perfect ,the spot is perfect as it is close to everythink that somebody want to do in this city and the most nice is the people they work there (reception,bell boy ,security)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michalisGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
54
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Located right at the IST M2 Sishane Metro station, Tunel Residence is a clean, stylish, apart hotel. Since it is new and I am staying at an offseason period, I was able to get a good rate ~$150.

My relocation agent recommended this place for the location and stylish living situation however this place is by no means set up for a biz traveller or an expat in transition. Patchy wireless coverage and ethernet lines for internet access at the study room in my unit. Bedroom has good internet coverage but has no study desk. Pretty uncomfortable if you are planning to pull 80 hour weeks.

There is a kitchen but the cleaning staff doesn't take care of dishes, there is a restaurant but can't have dinner without reservation, the smoke alarm goes off when the downstairs restaurant has problem with the ventilation system, quite noisy in the middle of the night when other guests come in and go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friscantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

1. Location is just great, near Taxim but not into the panic, steps away from Metro & Tunel, short walk from Spice market
2. clean rooms but I have to say that the day prior of our arrival they didnt clean our room and we asked 2 times to replace the towels
3. the restaurant at the lobby is GREAT especially for late breakfast : )
4. the check in took as at least 10 minutes for no reason

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Peter_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Europe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I was on a business trip and had a suite booked on the top floor, overlooking a great part of the Bosporus. Overall an awesome place to stay, except for the dodgy electricity plugs and window handles. ;-)

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Retrozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed at Tunel Residence with my husband and mother for 4 nights and found it fantastic. We were in a 1 bedroom Walwa suite which was a lovely size, with fully equipped kitchen, dining table, large bathroom with drencher shower, large master bedroom and living area. The room was designed very well with nice attention to detail and contemporary but comfortable furniture and finishes, everything was also clean and new. I have heard that the single rooms are very small in comparision, so if you are looking at that option, this is something to consider. The sofa bed is as per most sofa beds, a little on the hard springy side. It could do with a nice spongy liner, but having said that my mother loved the room and location so much that it wasn’t an issue for her.
Along with our beautiful room, Tunel residence has a lovely gym, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi as well as sauna, steam room, hammam and a spa offering all massage etc services. We had a hammam, which was quite an experience. Remember to drink a lot of water first because it is HOT!!, in some ways its quite torturous, however my skin felt amazing afterwards. My mother had a massage following this and said it was lovely. It’s a shame the staff member in the spa didn’t speak a little more English as we felt a little lost, however it was a great experience all the same and highly recommended.
Linked to the Hotel is a funky restaurant ‘Little Chef’. They had a great breakfast, a beautifully cooked omelet and lovely fresh juices. The service was not so great on another evening however. A little slow with a few mistakes, i.e. the wrong meal arrived for my husband, a wrap arrived instead of a sandwich. This was not a problem in itself except when the meal was replaced it was obvious the same filling had been unwrapped and put into a sandwich and all the fries were cold. A shame as the interior is fantastic. They do get very busy so I’m hoping we just got them at a bad moment.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Close to all transport links, the metro, the Tunel train which takes you to Taksim Square, and a short walk to the tram which takes you into the old city (Blue mosque etc). Surrounding the hotel are strips of restaurants and bars, and the main shopping street leading from Taksim Square is just around the corner, as well as all of this the area has character!! It was just perfect for Istanbul.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We booked a double room in Tunel Residence from 1st to 6th April (5 nights) and were most disappointed with the size of the double room. The standard sized double bed filled the room ,leaving very little space to get around it. There was only one bedside lamp because the other bedside table contained the fridge! There was a very small wardrobe with no full length mirror and no hooks to hang coats. The only other furniture in the room was a table fitted against the wall and an upright chair, which we used to drape our coats over !The TV was on the wall above this table. The bathroom was a good size and we were able to leave our cases under the washand basin luckily. There was only one bathrobe and slippers hanging in the bathroom. It's a pity the bedroom was so small because otherwise the place was lovely . I did complain but they said all rooms were that size. I believe the suites were bigger but we didn't need a kitchen and that's why I booked a double room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinjudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Tunel Residence is an amazing place to spend your days in Istanbul.
Not the cheapest place to stay certainly, but incredibly beautiful, hip and chic.
The rooms/suites are amazing, finished with details you rarely see in a place like this. The bath/sauna, available to all customers for free, is a big plus.
Service is excellent, and the bar/restaurant downstairs is fantastic.
To recommend!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurizio_Navarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Daru Sultan Galata
Daru Sultan Galata
#303 of 1,060 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,219 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Beyoglu
Louis Appartements Galata
Louis Appartements Galata
#12 of 1,219 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#29 of 1,219 in Istanbul
108 reviews
Sisli
Keten Suites Taksim
Keten Suites Taksim
#74 of 1,219 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Beyoglu
T-Loft Residence
T-Loft Residence
#57 of 1,219 in Istanbul
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunel Residence

Property: Tunel Residence
Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:96 Sishane, Beyoglu, Istanbul 1546362, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tunel Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunel Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing