We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently renovated, very nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marinem Istanbul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marinem Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #1,022 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recently renovated, very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I recently stayed here as a short city break. Despite the reviews I actually found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Apparently it has just been renovated. Location was also very good, near all of the sights I wanted to see.

I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMachineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    9
    17
    24
See reviews for
13
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel would definately not get 4 star rate if it is located in Germany or Austria. It would be a 2 star hotel there. The room was ok but the carpet was really dirty, the toilet was shaking when you sat on it.... the bed was too soft and I had a feeling I would fall over in my sleep...the big minus is that the corridors are not air conditioned so when you step out of your room, you are in a sweat. Breakfast is not what I expected, they had only bread, no pastry at all.... Location is ok, about 1, 5 km to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. And no one speaks english, very bad thing. stay there if it is just for sleepover.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croatiainmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinemGM, Yönetici at Marinem Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Dear Guest, we apologize for the bad experience in the past. We strive to improve the quality of service. We are pleased to welcome you again. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

From looking at their website, I thought that Marinem Hotel was going to be newly refurbished, quite big and overall offer a better quality of service than we received. Initially when we arrived at the hotel, I could tell by the area that it wasn't going to be as good as I hoped. It was located in a busy congested high street, looked a little run down and to top it off the driver who dropped us off told us to beware of the area. Although this wasn't really an issue for us as there were 6 of us who stuck together all the time, we didn't encounter any problems with safety etc.
Arrived at the hotel and we greeted by the bellboys who helped us with the luggage. The reception was smaller than it looked on the website but still looked quite nice. We had some trouble with the rooms, they placed us in 2 rooms on different floors, even after we'd asked the unfriendly guy on reception if the rooms were close to each other, he assured us they were, but we found out we weren't and they'd placed us on the 2nd and 4th floors. The lift getting to the rooms was a nightmare. Its supposed to fit 4 people, but with luggage don't even think about it. There was only 1 lift and it was ridiculous how small it was.
When we got to our room, we were far from happy. The room was dark with no natural light at all. It was dark in there even when it was morning, it just gave us a dingy, depressed feeling. The window it did have faced a grey wall with a load of pipes. The room was stuffy and had this underlying stale smell to it that lingered almost all of the time. The taps in the bathroom were VERY bad, the water would hardly flow out and this was very frustrating. The shower was not clean and we saw a hair in it still there from the previous guests. We complained about the room on the day, and the guy at reception (who spoke very little English) told us that he would change our rooms the next morning. So when we went back in the morning, he wasn't there and a lady (who spoke good English) said that no rooms were available and that we should come back the next day to rooms with windows. After spending 2 horrible nights in the unpleasant rooms, we did eventually get 2 triple rooms with windows, with a view of the high street. We were very grateful to the lady who changed our rooms.
The breakfast was poor. Watered down juice, the coffee machine which seemed to pour out the same drink no matter what button you pressed and nothing continental about it. We thought we'd go to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner on the first night, looked at the menu in the reception at what they offered. When we went down to the restaurant it was closed.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel. It was definitely not a 4*. More like 2-3*. The location was ok, it was in close proximity to the local shops, tram and bazaars. But the quality of the hotel was just not good enough for me to go back there. Next time I would choose a hotel nearer to the tourist attractions, such as Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Seemed like a nice hotel from the outside and was impressed with the bellboys rushing up to grab our suitcases but we soon found out on the contrary.
It was a struggle to communicate with the reception guy who spoke little english and never smiled. We had booked 2 seperate rooms that were far from each other and didn't know where the other half of our family was placed as the guy on reception just sent half of us up with a bell boy to our room without telling what rooms we were in!!
The rooms were dark and dingy, bathroom was ok but as small as a normal ensuite and surprisingly tatty considering the hotel was supposedly built in 2009!!
Don't be fooled by the pics on any of the websites as the window behind closed curtains faces a wall and a generator. The rooms were hot and sticky and no amount of AC could cool it down. By morning the rooms stank of sewage (god knows from where).
We complained and after 2 days of managing in those rooms we were placed in rooms with windows which were much more airy and next door to each other. There was a very pleasant reception lady who helped us change rooms and we were very grateful to her and tipped her generously.
The hotel was situated in a good location, near shops and the tram. It was only a few stops away from the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace which is the reason why we booked it.
We will never ever book in that hotel again as it tainted our trip to Istanbul.
The lift (yes only 1) was very small and only accomodated 4 people or 2 people and luggage. They also do not offer evening meals although they advertise an a la carte menu!!
The breakfasts were not what we expected. It was not continental and was what we think typical Turkish people eat but alot of it was unedible ie watered down juices, soups?? and dirty cutlery.
The lobby was quite nice though and was like it looks in the pictures, but the fact there were no real windows in some of the rooms makes it puzzling how it can be advertised as a four star hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed in Marinem Hotel this autumn, with a group, my clients, for 3 nights.The staff bearly speks other language than turkish,otherwise they were all the time there trying to help somehow.I stayed in a double for single use in the first night.A small room , clean but not for 2, with an "incredible view" on a wall of the nearby building.No daylight, just some creepy walls.No hot water at all.Second night I was moved in another room a single room 5sq meters but with hot water.My wardrobe home is bigger than that room,It is defently not a 4* hotel as described.My clients were very disappointed as they had no windows,and the rooms were so small and some of them smelly.The rooms were changed daily, as one of them have received triples or doubles instead of twins.And this was surprizing of how arriving at the hotel after 10 hours walking and shopping and noticing you do not have the same room anymore.
I think it was the worst experience I have ever had.I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.Stay away from Marinem!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katacomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Misa Hotel
Misa Hotel
#539 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Maya Hotel
Maya Hotel
#450 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Kadak Garden Hotel
#564 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#561 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#689 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Fors Hotel
#553 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marinem Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinem Istanbul Hotel

Property: Marinem Istanbul Hotel
Address: Gencturk Cad. Aga Yokusu No:18 | Sehzadebasi, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,022 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marinem Istanbul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of old Istanbul, the Grand Bazaar, proximity to historical places like the Basilica Cistern allows you to easily visit historical and touristic places in Istanbul. Marinem Istanbul Hotel III. Obelisk of Tutmosis, and Church of Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Calligraphy Museum, Suleymaniye Mosque are within walking distance. Marine Hotel Istanbul Ataturk Airport is only 15 minutes from the Aksaray tram stop is just 300 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Marinem Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing