We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much...Good location though”
Review of Antis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antis Hotel
Ranked #401 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was a lastminute.com recommended hotel and looked reasonable online and after checking reviews on here I opted for a 'superior room with sea view'.

The first room I was given was a step up from a Blackpool B&B, this was quickly changed but the only chance of a sea view is to open the window and look around the corner!
Staff were friendly and helpful with any issues, for example the mini bar contained drinks that were months past their use by date and this was sorted.

If you just want a base to dump your bags and explore the city then this is a good location for the sights and also close to a tram line to go further afield. But....if you want any hint of above average then don't go for this place. Twin beds....limp pillows and dated decor wouldn't make this place ideal for a romantic getaway.
The prices of the hotel food and drinks advertised in the lift must have been a typing error, Mojito's at €9 a pop and an unappetising plate of cheese with a bottle of wine for €25! Plenty of local restaurants serving up good food for a lot less than this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MurkingOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 482 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sorry for the late review. We(3 of us) booked in on the 26 October 2013 for 7 nights. At first there were some confusion with our booking but this was soon resolved. We booked a room with a City View, we were allocated a room surrounded by Molded walls outside but again this was resolved the followings day. The management blamed Lastmiute.com for the confusion which apparently is very common. That said, after the first day everything was as we expected. Good service, clean and comfortable room. Staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Breakfast was adequate and the same menu everyday with only one hot item. - can get a little boring. Location was perfect for us as most of the major attraction were within walking distance. Do not book any tour via the hotel, it can be 50% cheaper if you book direct - we experience this the hard way. Local surrounding area are quite lively with shops and restaurant. Beware of the local yellow taxis, we tried to book, they refuse to put the meter on. One taxis tried to charge us 50 euro for a three miles journey. and 70 Euro for a 5 miles journey. Public transport - Trams, Buses are very convenient and cheap and easily accessible from where we were. A good experience which is recommended.

Room Tip: Beware of the local yellow taxis, we tried to book, they refuse to put the meter on. One taxis wante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJeetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great Service at the Hotel.
Great view from the window to the sea.
Nice and friendly employees from the arrival onwards.
Breakfast okay, not special.
Coffee not so great.
Rooms are very clean.
Location great

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Meer sind sehr schön. (Hotel ist zwar direkt an der Eisenbahn, aber man hört keinen Zug-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location, helpful staff, hotel is in great condition, could not recommend it more. Spent 5 days there early in January and it was an excellent trip. 5 min walk from the Blue Mosque and the heart of Istanbul's historic city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaphaelGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It was the first time that I was coming to Turkey. While looking for a hotel to stay in, I noticed a more affordable price in Antis hotel. We, 3 people: me, my sister and our 9 -year-old nephew Javid stayed there for a week, during 15-22 December, 2013. Antis hotel is located in a beautiful & historical place called Sultanahmet . After the crowd in Taksim, Sultanahmet made me feel like in paradise. There was a restful silence around providing serenity, peace.
And when they showed us into the room .... Perfect!! Room was perfectly clean, very comfortable and warm. It was supplied with everything required to live in. Room furniture, curtains, beds and even luster were compatible with each other, tastefully chosen. In addition to TV, refrigerator, wardrobe, cabinet, table, chairs, there was a small safe box. Everything was in its proper place in the bathroom and WC as well. Behind the entrance door to the room a small cardboard plate was hanged by. To turn it to green side meant that the room is suitable to be cleaned. The rooms were cleaned every day, bed-linens were changed and returned to the initial clean state. To turn it on the red side , meant " I 'm relaxing, please do not bother me . And nobody was disturbing you. I liked it.!
The white furniture, gold curtains, the wall paint, the corner bar in the hotel lobby, even the selected music, everything created such a beautiful harmony with each other, so it is likely that there is no other appropriate place to relax in. We went to breakfast from 08.30 till 10.30 in the morning. Breakfast was very good, delicious, many assortments.. That is to say, if somebody asks me to evaluate Antis hotel, I would evaluate it with the highest star, 5 star.
We often contacted to the hotel front office manager Okan and he helped us in all matters. The taxi service was ready at the moment we needed, he directed us to the places we have never been, did not know and wanted to go etc..
We were very pleased to choose Antis hotel. And, of course, thanks to Okan who established an environment that was based on mutual respect and trust!
If I come to Turkey once more, I will again stay in the Antis Hotel. I would be very grateful all the hotel staff, especially the friendly gentleman Okan and highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilhame K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Antis for 4 days, out of season (late Nov 13). From the moment we walked through the front door the service was excellent. All of the staff were extremely helpful. We had a bit of an issue with the shower but the cleaner noticed it while we were having breakfast and by the time we got back to the room it was being fixed. We didn't even ask! All of the staff spoke excellent english (which was a real help to us), they kept the roof terrace open for us so we could have a few G&T's before bed. Recommended bars and clubs to go to, booked us taxis, even called ahead to one place to make sure we got great service there. On the last night the owner gave me a free drink and asked me all about my stay, whether we liked the hotel, would we come back etc. It was really lovely to get that kind of service and we would definitely go back and would recommend the Antis. It's a beautiful city and Sultan Ahmet is the most beautiful part. For nightlife beyoglu is the place to go but taxi's only cost about £7 each way. If you do stay i'd avoid the tourist trap restaurants round the corner and eat at the blue mosque bazaar.

The rooms were functional and some of the views would have been spectacular, we were on the second floor facing the city which, but the 3rd & 4th probably had the best views, i'll ask for a sea view when i go back. The shower was great as well, it was like standing under a waterfall.

It is in a prime spot. great views across the coastline on one side and superb views of the blue mosque on the other side. It is within 2 minutes walk of the blue mosque, mosaic museum (which we didn't go to) and blue mosque bazaar where there are two very affordable, friendly cafe/restaurants. The Hagia Sofia is right next to the blue mosque as is the basillica cistern, the topkapi palace and archaeological museum are five minutes from there. You are also in easy walking distance of the grand bazaar and the spice bazaar. The fish market is ten minutes walk in the other direction. You can do most of the 'cultural & historical stuff' is within ten minutes walk of the hotel and the nightlife is on the other side of the water yet easy to get to.

Great location, great service, lovely people, good room, great price. I'd heartily recommend the Antis Hotel and Sultanahmet, Istanbul

Room Tip: ask for 3rd or 4th floor if you are after the views, i'd probably go for the sea view as well ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StreetFoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

we stayed in the hotel at the beginning of November, it was clean well decorated, rooms were small but comfortable , staff were friendly, breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from.location was excellent, few minutes walk to the blue mosque and aya sofya ,situated at the bottom of a hill but as it was so close to everything it didn't matter , transport nearby although only needed for visiting outside of sultanhmet area as most things within walking distance,lots of restaurants short walk away. Terrace had a lovely view of the sea and blue mosque but as it was November it was not really used, it would be beautiful to dine there in the spring /summer . .would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samchPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#165 of 1,175 in Istanbul
280 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#346 of 1,175 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#317 of 1,175 in Istanbul
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,175 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#67 of 1,175 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#102 of 1,175 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antis Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok. No:98 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic district of Sultanahmet just steps from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace; beautiful views of the Marmara Sea and the Asian side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing