We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service Goes a Long Way.”
Review of Antis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antis Hotel
Ranked #336 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service Goes a Long Way.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Antis for 4 days, out of season (late Nov 13). From the moment we walked through the front door the service was excellent. All of the staff were extremely helpful. We had a bit of an issue with the shower but the cleaner noticed it while we were having breakfast and by the time we got back to the room it was being fixed. We didn't even ask! All of the staff spoke excellent english (which was a real help to us), they kept the roof terrace open for us so we could have a few G&T's before bed. Recommended bars and clubs to go to, booked us taxis, even called ahead to one place to make sure we got great service there. On the last night the owner gave me a free drink and asked me all about my stay, whether we liked the hotel, would we come back etc. It was really lovely to get that kind of service and we would definitely go back and would recommend the Antis. It's a beautiful city and Sultan Ahmet is the most beautiful part. For nightlife beyoglu is the place to go but taxi's only cost about £7 each way. If you do stay i'd avoid the tourist trap restaurants round the corner and eat at the blue mosque bazaar.

The rooms were functional and some of the views would have been spectacular, we were on the second floor facing the city which, but the 3rd & 4th probably had the best views, i'll ask for a sea view when i go back. The shower was great as well, it was like standing under a waterfall.

It is in a prime spot. great views across the coastline on one side and superb views of the blue mosque on the other side. It is within 2 minutes walk of the blue mosque, mosaic museum (which we didn't go to) and blue mosque bazaar where there are two very affordable, friendly cafe/restaurants. The Hagia Sofia is right next to the blue mosque as is the basillica cistern, the topkapi palace and archaeological museum are five minutes from there. You are also in easy walking distance of the grand bazaar and the spice bazaar. The fish market is ten minutes walk in the other direction. You can do most of the 'cultural & historical stuff' is within ten minutes walk of the hotel and the nightlife is on the other side of the water yet easy to get to.

Great location, great service, lovely people, good room, great price. I'd heartily recommend the Antis Hotel and Sultanahmet, Istanbul

Room Tip: ask for 3rd or 4th floor if you are after the views, i'd probably go for the sea view as well ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StreetFoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    176
    57
    26
    28
See reviews for
84
228
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

we stayed in the hotel at the beginning of November, it was clean well decorated, rooms were small but comfortable , staff were friendly, breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from.location was excellent, few minutes walk to the blue mosque and aya sofya ,situated at the bottom of a hill but as it was so close to everything it didn't matter , transport nearby although only needed for visiting outside of sultanhmet area as most things within walking distance,lots of restaurants short walk away. Terrace had a lovely view of the sea and blue mosque but as it was November it was not really used, it would be beautiful to dine there in the spring /summer . .would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samchPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Antis Hotel last year and returned again this November 2013.
Again we were not disappointed, the hotel staff, Okan and Senol gave us a warm welcome and a cup of chai on arrival. Our room was on the third floor and was very comfortable and very clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
The hotel is idealy placed for all sites in the old city and the tram is cheap and takes you further afield.
Would recommend the Antis Hotel for a break in Istanbul

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyprusLancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from an amazing city break to Istanbul and we chose Antis for our hotel for 3 nights and took of advantage of the free transfer from airport to hotel, thankfully as I don't think we would have found it, however, once you know where you are, its very easy to find, its just a matter of getting your bearings!

The hotel is a small hotel on a hill, which is a steep hill, so you do need to be aware of this, however, what a FABULOUS little hotel! A 5 minute walk up hill and to the left and you arrive in the tourist area, a further 5 minute walk and you are at The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, not far from these are also the Basillica Cisterns, the tram stops, taxi ranks, shops, cafes, bars, restaurants, everything you could possibly need right on your doorstep!

This hotel is truly in a fabulous location and the service from ALL staff was brilliant, they couldn't do enough for you! We were even told of a LOCAL place to go for Shisha which truly was an experience away from the touristy areas and most likely half the price! Also staff arranged for a taxi for us to take us to a local shopping mall on the Sunday evening and made sure we weren't ripped off as it were! Again, nothing was to much hassle!

Oakan was amazing, always smiling and wishing you good morning and again nothing was too much trouble for Oakan, all you had to do was ask!

The one thing they could improve on is service on the roof top terrace, as the views up here are breathtaking and amazing and we often sat here before we started our day and when we finished our day and if someone had come up we probably would have ordered a drink or something to enjoy with our view.

The room was clean and did what it needed to for us as we were only sleeping in it!

Breakfast was a selection of croissants, eggs, very much continental and none the less for me very yummy and did what it needed to do!

If you choose Antis as your hotel choice PLEASE take a moment to go up to the Mesale Restaurant, this was probably our favourite restaurant, cheap, delicious and with entertainment and the staff are incredibly friendly!

Istanbul is an amazingly beautiful city which is very much overlooked by many, my partner and I WILL be returning and it WILL BE to Antis!

I can't rave enough about the location of this hotel, the staff and city itself! It is a clean hotel with great staff, however, it is small and by no means a Hilton of the world, but I would NOT hesitate in staying here again!

Beautiful!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandz5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed liked the hotel as it is of the main tourist area. The hotel is clean and neat with in a quiet area within the Sultanahmet area. Staff are friendly and accommodating, the buffet breakfast is fine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Indiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Antis Hotel for 4 nights in November 2013. It's within a walking distance (10 minutes) to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and Topkapi palace. We booked through lastminute.com and our deal included one transfer. Please make sure you email the hotel in advance as the transfer is from the airport to the hotel otherwise the metro costs 12 liras. The hotel was hard to find and is located a little behind the other main hotels in the area. Our room was small but clean, the shower was great and the staff were friendly. We stayed on the second floor in a corner room which did not have much of a view as it faced the back roads. The roof terrace has a lovely view of the mosque. The breakfast was very basic (boiled and scrambled egg, small sausages, variety of cheese and wedges every day we stayed there). The hotel is near nice shops and many restaurants. I would stay again but not with a family- it's a more a place for couples/friends.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor- Room 204 has NO view at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sufi3082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very good location, close to lots of great restaurants, and a short walk (up hill) to the Blue Mosque and other major sites. The hotel is difficult to find though, due to narrow twisty streets.

We stayed here twice during a 34 day tour of Turkey.

The first two day stay we had a very small room with two tiny beds, we had a view of a wall and rail road tracks, very noisy when the train comes by in the very early morning.

The bathroom shower stall leaked at the drain, flooding the bathroom floor. We told the staff about the flooding and they did nothing. (We came back three weeks latter and according to our friends who got stuck with the room, the floor was still flooding! Despite the flooding, the shower was excellent.

Our second two night stay was in the room next door, a tiny room with one large bed and a view of a wall! In this room there was an electrical problem. An electric control on the wall by the air conditioner buzzed every 15 minutes or so making it impossible to sleep, so we had to turn off the electricity in the room. We tried opening the window because no electricity means no air conditioning, but we could not leave the window open because of the noise of other air conditioners and the smell of oil coming into the room. The next night we loosened some wires and wrapped a towel around the electric box which muffled the noise.

The shower did not flood like the other room, but the shower head leaked.

Others in our group complained about noise coming from the halls, which did not bother us.

The breakfast was okay, nothing special. Beware that they charge for extras such as orange juice, in Euro's rather than Lira's which makes it very expensive.

Other than not performing maintenance, the staff was friendly and helpful.

I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors, not facing the rail road tracks, better yet find a better hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#209 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#183 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#117 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#197 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymond Blue Hotel
Raymond Blue Hotel
#282 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antis Hotel

Property: Antis Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok. No:98 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic district of Sultanahmet just steps from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace; beautiful views of the Marmara Sea and the Asian side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Antis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing