We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room at the Inn”
Review of Antis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antis Hotel
Ranked #333 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our trip didn't get off to a good start when we arrived to find that our room (booked two months ago and confirmed by e-mail a few days prior to arrival) had been given to other guests who'd decided to extend their stay.At least, this was one version - the other being that the room had 'electrical problems' so who knows.We were moved to a hotel round the corner - adequate but not what we'd booked and paid for none the less, for the first night.Compensation was a free transfer back to the airport on departure, which was fine I guess. Otherwise the hotel was perfectly adequate as a base.Very clean and railway noise didn't bother us as the hotel has double glazing anyway. Just disappointed that hotels act dishonourably with their bookings - shrugging the shoulders when guests complain that they're being bumped off is not acceptable.If we'd wanted to stay at the place round the corner we'd have booked that.

Room Tip: Sea view= railway noise (but didn't bother us)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearlcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Antis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 475 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at the Antis hotel was an overall positive experience. Staff were courteous, helpful and friendly and the room was clean. As an experienced traveller, I could never describe it as being a four star hotel and would probably award 2.5 stars if asked to judge it in contrast with other hotels across the world.

Some plus and minus points to consider:

The hotel's location in the scenic old town is excellent and within easy walking distance of Istanbul's major tourist attractions and close to many other similar boutique hotels.

Wireless internet access in the hotel is good across all floors and for a business traveller, who needs to keep in touch with the office and the outside world, is a big plus point.

Rooms are small and the hotel as other guests have commented, is opposite the railway on the sea facing side. Trains are intermittent but noisy and if you are a light sleeper then ask for a room facing the Blue Mosque and then only the loudspeaker calls of the Muezzin to prayer will wake you.

The breakfast buffet was one of the saddest I have yet seen and in my case,I simply went looking for one of the local bars for a decent cup of coffee and fresh bread. This was a real disappointment and needs attention from the management.

If you are elderly or infirm and the hotel lift should fail, then the narrow and steep spiral marble stairs present a health and safety issue.

Before you travel, take the advice of other guests and reconfirm your room and stay by email. I had asked for an airport transfer but we were not met at the airport. However, Taxis are easy to find and 35 euros will get you to the hotel. The reception staff were very apologetic and arranged a free transfer back to the airport on leaving, which went perfectly.

Overall, I can recommend the hotel but do not expect a **** star palace when you arrive, I would describe it as equivalent to a standard European Travellodge. If you are courteous to local people they will be courteous in response and it's important to recognize the cultural dimensions where complaints. May be involved.

Finally, if you are from England and the EU, Turkey requires a Visa. You can get one at the airport on arrival but be prepared for a disorganised zoo trying to get through passport control. Not a good first impression for any visitor!

Room Tip: Select room facing Blue Mosque and away from train station
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very close to important attractions in Istanbul all within walking distance. Railway line very near to property but did not disturb too much as we very tired after a days sight seeing. Staff very friendly and helpful - Orkan,Harkan and Irlan among others.Rooms clean and serviced well.Good value. Breakfast was more than adequate.Would recommend .

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisey
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were a group of 4 friends who have known each other for over 30 years. We had no great expectations of the hotel as we just wanted a convenient base from which to explore the city. We got what we wanted; the Antis Hotel is clean and comfortable; the view from the terrace is great, but only really used in the evening (other than for looking at the view). The closeness of the railway line was unexpected, but proved to be no problem. Staff at the hotel were all very helpful and good humoured. The location is ideal for exploring on foot the main sites and there are loads of restaurants very close by as well as a market/bazaar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is described as a boutique hotel nestling in the lower flanks of Istanbul’s old town. The geography is correct but any idea that this is either an attractive location or hotel should be quickly consigned to the dustbin. Our sea view room was so close to the railway line that we could have served the commuters breakfast. Talking of breakfast this was truly appalling, from their cheap chicory coffee to the stale breads and watered down orange juice. Warming to the gastronomic theme, when we were there their terrace top restaurant didn’t serve food. Paradoxically this made it better than the breakfast.

Most of the hotel’s many other problems could have been solved with the hint of a smile from the staff but, then again, what was there to smile about? There are plenty of other good small hotels in Istanbul so it’s easy to avoid this mournful throwback.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel, but it does offer great value for money in a great location. Even the railway line next to it (and right outside our twin room) was not noisy enough to disturb us.
Breakfast was fine, and the staff happy for us to take our loaded plates up to the rooftop terrace every morning to enjoy the Mamaris sea view.
The evening BBQ service (on the same terrace) seem to have ended for the season, but it was no hardship to find a decent restaurant each night, all within walking distance of the Antis.
Lots of hot water, flat screen TVs and a mini-fridge full of soft drinks brings the Antis up from budget to mid-range, and the friendly staff were always willing to offer advice or just to hold the lift door open while we struggled with our breakfast coffee.
And in a city where you can spend hundreds of euros a night on a luxury hotel suite, it is very good value for money, leaving some spare cash to to spend on Istanbul's many delights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serdargider, Owner at Antis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Antis Hotel Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Antis Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
We hope to see you again.
Best Wishes from İstanbul
Serdar Gider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having just returned from a 1 week stay at the Antis Hotel I thought I must write to let others know what a superb hotel this is - on all fronts.
The staff are really lovely and the hotel is beautifully clean and the food really good. My sister and I eat one evening on the beautiful terrace overlooking not only the Mamara sea but on the other side the fabulous Blue Mosque. I hope you get the picture. We also had a really lovely room with a massive window overlooking the sea. Again the room was always kept very clean by the lovely cleaning ladies. The location is just a 5 min walk away from the central square so couldn't have been easier for us to get to all the 'Top 10' sites.
Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel - not forgetting Okan who was very informative and arranged a wonderful trip on the Bospherous - an excellent holiday and this is a hotel I will recommend to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 306 is lovely with a fabulous shower - but I'm sure any of the sea facing rooms are equally...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serdargider, Owner at Antis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Antis Hotel Guest,
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.
Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.
Hope to be together again.
I appreciate your kind comments
Best regards,
Serdar Gider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#139 of 1,159 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#306 of 1,159 in Istanbul
444 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antis Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok. No:98 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic district of Sultanahmet just steps from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace; beautiful views of the Marmara Sea and the Asian side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing