We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Antis Istanbul”
Review of Antis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antis Hotel
Ranked #332 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Antis Istanbul”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at the Antis hotel was an overall positive experience. Staff were courteous, helpful and friendly and the room was clean. As an experienced traveller, I could never describe it as being a four star hotel and would probably award 2.5 stars if asked to judge it in contrast with other hotels across the world.

Some plus and minus points to consider:

The hotel's location in the scenic old town is excellent and within easy walking distance of Istanbul's major tourist attractions and close to many other similar boutique hotels.

Wireless internet access in the hotel is good across all floors and for a business traveller, who needs to keep in touch with the office and the outside world, is a big plus point.

Rooms are small and the hotel as other guests have commented, is opposite the railway on the sea facing side. Trains are intermittent but noisy and if you are a light sleeper then ask for a room facing the Blue Mosque and then only the loudspeaker calls of the Muezzin to prayer will wake you.

The breakfast buffet was one of the saddest I have yet seen and in my case,I simply went looking for one of the local bars for a decent cup of coffee and fresh bread. This was a real disappointment and needs attention from the management.

If you are elderly or infirm and the hotel lift should fail, then the narrow and steep spiral marble stairs present a health and safety issue.

Before you travel, take the advice of other guests and reconfirm your room and stay by email. I had asked for an airport transfer but we were not met at the airport. However, Taxis are easy to find and 35 euros will get you to the hotel. The reception staff were very apologetic and arranged a free transfer back to the airport on leaving, which went perfectly.

Overall, I can recommend the hotel but do not expect a **** star palace when you arrive, I would describe it as equivalent to a standard European Travellodge. If you are courteous to local people they will be courteous in response and it's important to recognize the cultural dimensions where complaints. May be involved.

Finally, if you are from England and the EU, Turkey requires a Visa. You can get one at the airport on arrival but be prepared for a disorganised zoo trying to get through passport control. Not a good first impression for any visitor!

Room Tip: Select room facing Blue Mosque and away from train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    176
    57
    26
    28
See reviews for
84
228
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very close to important attractions in Istanbul all within walking distance. Railway line very near to property but did not disturb too much as we very tired after a days sight seeing. Staff very friendly and helpful - Orkan,Harkan and Irlan among others.Rooms clean and serviced well.Good value. Breakfast was more than adequate.Would recommend .

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were a group of 4 friends who have known each other for over 30 years. We had no great expectations of the hotel as we just wanted a convenient base from which to explore the city. We got what we wanted; the Antis Hotel is clean and comfortable; the view from the terrace is great, but only really used in the evening (other than for looking at the view). The closeness of the railway line was unexpected, but proved to be no problem. Staff at the hotel were all very helpful and good humoured. The location is ideal for exploring on foot the main sites and there are loads of restaurants very close by as well as a market/bazaar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is described as a boutique hotel nestling in the lower flanks of Istanbul’s old town. The geography is correct but any idea that this is either an attractive location or hotel should be quickly consigned to the dustbin. Our sea view room was so close to the railway line that we could have served the commuters breakfast. Talking of breakfast this was truly appalling, from their cheap chicory coffee to the stale breads and watered down orange juice. Warming to the gastronomic theme, when we were there their terrace top restaurant didn’t serve food. Paradoxically this made it better than the breakfast.

Most of the hotel’s many other problems could have been solved with the hint of a smile from the staff but, then again, what was there to smile about? There are plenty of other good small hotels in Istanbul so it’s easy to avoid this mournful throwback.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel, but it does offer great value for money in a great location. Even the railway line next to it (and right outside our twin room) was not noisy enough to disturb us.
Breakfast was fine, and the staff happy for us to take our loaded plates up to the rooftop terrace every morning to enjoy the Mamaris sea view.
The evening BBQ service (on the same terrace) seem to have ended for the season, but it was no hardship to find a decent restaurant each night, all within walking distance of the Antis.
Lots of hot water, flat screen TVs and a mini-fridge full of soft drinks brings the Antis up from budget to mid-range, and the friendly staff were always willing to offer advice or just to hold the lift door open while we struggled with our breakfast coffee.
And in a city where you can spend hundreds of euros a night on a luxury hotel suite, it is very good value for money, leaving some spare cash to to spend on Istanbul's many delights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serdargider, Owner at Antis Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Antis Hotel Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Antis Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
We hope to see you again.
Best Wishes from İstanbul
Serdar Gider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having just returned from a 1 week stay at the Antis Hotel I thought I must write to let others know what a superb hotel this is - on all fronts.
The staff are really lovely and the hotel is beautifully clean and the food really good. My sister and I eat one evening on the beautiful terrace overlooking not only the Mamara sea but on the other side the fabulous Blue Mosque. I hope you get the picture. We also had a really lovely room with a massive window overlooking the sea. Again the room was always kept very clean by the lovely cleaning ladies. The location is just a 5 min walk away from the central square so couldn't have been easier for us to get to all the 'Top 10' sites.
Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel - not forgetting Okan who was very informative and arranged a wonderful trip on the Bospherous - an excellent holiday and this is a hotel I will recommend to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 306 is lovely with a fabulous shower - but I'm sure any of the sea facing rooms are equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serdargider, Owner at Antis Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Antis Hotel Guest,
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.
Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.
Hope to be together again.
I appreciate your kind comments
Best regards,
Serdar Gider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Minutes stroll to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia & Topkapi. I previously stayed in large hotel in the Beyazit area but much prefer this smaller and more intimate hotel in the centre of the old town. Ticked all the boxes on my list – great location, warm welcome & service, good food, elegant rooms comfortable bedrooms and most importantly - extremely clean.

Had delicious BBQ in the terrace restaurant and bar on the 4th floor with most amazing views of Blue Mosque and Sea of Marmara. The meal price was comparable to the local restaurants & although quiet with such a fantastic view I’d say it was a must for at least one evening meal.
Breakfast served in the ground floor elegant and quiet restaurant area was good with enough choice of dishes. Turkish bread is so fresh & delicious so be prepared to put on a few pounds!

I’d say the Antis Hotel was in a relatively quiet area for such a central location; far enough away from the whirling dervish café music and no refuse trucks and traffic noise that I had previously experienced in the Beyazit area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe seaview if you can - watching the cruise liners & vast cargo containers is com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serdargider, Owner at Antis Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Antis Hotel Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey. You can contact with me directly serdar.gider@antishotel.com
Best Wishes from Istanbul Antis Hotel
Serdar Gider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#215 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,084 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#308 of 1,141 in Istanbul
436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Amber Hotel
#96 of 1,141 in Istanbul
633 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#43 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antis Hotel

Property: Antis Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok. No:98 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic district of Sultanahmet just steps from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace; beautiful views of the Marmara Sea and the Asian side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing