We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hassle free - unusual for Akbiyik Cad”
Review of Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant - CLOSED

Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“hassle free - unusual for Akbiyik Cad”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Actually found out about this by reading reviews on here and it was just near our hotel (Empress Zoe). What impressed us - as well as the good quality food - was the fact that this was the only restaurant on this busy tourist street that did not have someone hassling you to come in to their place. They are welcoming but discreet, allowing you time to decide for yourself if it is where you want to eat. Some waiters' English is better than others, but the atmosphere is rather more calm than some of the surrounding bars and cafe. the music is more relaxing and the service is very good. We went there twice and enjoyed their Ottoman and Anatolian dishes in particular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localyokel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    144
    68
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely evening at the Metropolis”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After 5 nights in Istanbul we finally found a place to eat which we really enjoyed. The food was excellent, a good choice with especially good Turkish dishes. The service was attentive without being over bearing, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the music was so relaxing, we didn't want to leave. All this along with great value for money. We probably wouldn't have tried it without the recommendation of our hotel, the Four Seasons in Sultanahmet, it was just around the corner so really convenient. Don't hesitate if you're looking for somewhere to eat in this area then GO TO THE METROPOLIS - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanLYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arriving after a long flight, my friends and I decided to enjoy a late lunch somewhere near the hotel (Acra Hotel). We walked around and found this cozy-looking restaurant. Lunch turned out to be great! We enjoyed an appetizer made up of halloumi cheese, aubergines and the staple flat turkish bread. The kebabs were also delicious! The staff were so courteous and non-obtrusive, we enjoyed hanging out and relaxing.

We would've wanted to eat there again but decided to sample as much of Istanbul's food fares as we could. When I go back to Istanbul, I will definitely visit Metropolis Cafe again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

loved the outdoor area here! It was heated by heatlamps in the end of March, and I enjoyed a few nights here. The staff was very friendly without being intrusive--lovely people. It was very comfortable, the coffee was good, and the food was perfect.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“E X C E L L E N T”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Everything was very well organized, the timing of service, the quality of the food, the service from the waiter (warm without being invasive), the romantic ethnicity of the environment etc etc have contributed to make a very special dinner at a very reasonable price. I recommend the Testikebab but the best of the dinner is the kunefe, a cheese made dessert which had the taste like a sweet buffalo mozzarella, I know it could sound strange but this is the feeling that I got and it was really delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paolo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing