We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, Food Was Good Not Great, Same With The Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant - CLOSED

Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
733 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,282 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Food Was Good Not Great, Same With The Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very nice location...perfect for people watching. We must have had the best table in the house. You can also sit inside if you prefer.

Service was good, not great. We have certainly had better. Same with the food. Not that we considered this restaurant "fancy", it appears to us, the "fancier" you go, the less you get in terms of food and service in Turkey.

We enjoyed the night but could not really recommend this restaurant as one you "have" to go to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    144
    68
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Did I miss something?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ordered the Manti...mmmm skip. Ordered the kebab....mmm so-so. Ordered the vegetarian clay pot - this was good. The alfredo a UK woman raved about, was sub-standard. The service was very good, the food was missing something (perhaps the correct sauces). I think its location - on what appears to be restaurant row - and having a tourist menu (which should have clued me in immediately) might be factors. Though I read many have genuinely enjoyed their dining experience here. We, alas, thought it was fair at best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“An outstandingly good restaurant clearly loved by it's staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having visited No.1 ranked restaurant and feeling let down we went to the Metropolis. The staff were excellent, friendly, politely chatty and very professional. The food was absolutely first class. The attention to detail by the staff seemed to reflect how proud and committed they were to their restaurant. All round first class experience, we visited 2 further times and were received almost as friends. Really can't recommend this restauran highly enough,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I used to use this restaurant a lot and was looking forward to revisiting it. I was disappointed. While the food is fine - there isn't a huge choice - the place had lost it's charm and the staff likewise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjk101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food was excellent so was the wine, I had the anatolian wedding dish.
Our waiter, Musliam gave us great service. He was funny and attentive.
Is located on a nice street with many other restaurants. Street is a little busy but you only really notice if tourist buses are going by.
Would defenitely return because was one of the best meals I had in Turkey.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gab099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing