We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Turkish hospitality and culture”
Review of Hos seda

Hos seda
Ranked #229 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: With Our Executive Chef and with our wonderful stuff takes special pride in working closely with the old town. based seafood, entertainment and produce suppliers to stock our kitchens with local and organic ingredients.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Great introduction to Turkish hospitality and culture”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hos Seda offers a shuttle service to and from your hotel but during summer it is much more rewarding to walk the streets and take in the surroundings. The atmosphere is electric in the square and adds to the whole vibe. The seafood was fresh and delicious. Our host, Ahmet, took great care of us. Well worth the it on your next trip to Istanbul.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    58
    41
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fresh Fish, Fantastic Service, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want to immerse yourself in Turkish culture, look no further than the Kumkapi district. Hos Seda definitely offers the best value for money which does not compromise on taste, service or atmosphere. Hos Seda offers complimentary pick up and drop off from your hotel which most other restaurants in that area do not offer. This is great if you stay late and have a few drinks. The cuisine is local and the fish is fresh and perfectly cooked! We recommend the eggplant dip for mezze. We did not wait long between meals and the waiters happily assisted when required. We were entertained by a Turkish quartet playing traditional Turkish music throughout our dinner. We highly recommend!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experince.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm a resident in Istanbul go around city often and eat at many different restaurants. Hos Seda is one of fish restaurant at Kumkapi where is one of popular area to eat fish.

I often go to Kumpapi and try other restaurants. A friend of mine who is fond of Hos Seda invited me for a dinner. Restaurant is just located in the hearth of Kumkapi. Mr. Ferhat ( he might be owner or manager) welcomed us with a big smile on his face. Food at Hos Seda was beyond my expection. I would recommend this restaurant to every one and will keep going there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KadirCikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“A VERY ENJOYABLE EVENING”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hos Seda Fish Restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. They said the Restaurant would pick us up and then bring us back after the meal. We had a very enjoyable couple of evenings food and service wise. The staff were very attentive and if you like really fresh Sea Food cooked expertly this is the place to go. My husband highly recommends the fresh calamari deep fried in batter as a started and the main course fish meals were also very, very, good.
Jean Wright

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanW247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service, & experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently dined at the Hos Seda restaurant in the Fish Market area of Istanbul & highly recommend it. There are a range of menu options though the speciality is, as would be expected, sea food. We found the service to be friendly & competent. It was slow by American standards but typical of the relaxed pace of life in Istanbul. The prices were in the upper mid-range but seemed fair. The supervisor was knowledgeable & we enjoyed the opportunity to select our fish from among those available. Perhaps best of all, the experience was enjoyable & memorable. Hos Seda is located in the center of the bustling, festive Fish Market street & the atmosphere was festive. When in Istanbul, I highly recommend you try this place; they even provide round-trip, free transportation from your hotel. It was recommended to us by Sinan at the Ambassador Hotel, another place I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hos seda also viewed

 

Been to Hos seda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing