We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Photo op

Good for a photo op but don’t bother to try and get on one as they are rammed full of people. Just... read more

Reviewed May 9, 2023
Wombling_Free_7548
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fun ride

Fun ride up or down the road. Kids would enjoy it. Its a quicker way to get to Galata tower if you... read more

Reviewed January 3, 2023
AishaSM
,
Muscat, Oman
via mobile
Read all 476 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Istanbul
from $13.20
More Info
from $43.56
More Info
from $36.50
More Info
from $85.79
More Info
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
214
186
53
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
186
53
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews istiklal street fun ride galata tower op district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 476 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

NO TRAM any more 😢.
The old tramway is not any 1 of the most attractive parts of the shopping street.
Even the old tramhous is exit. If it comes back? Yes one's when nobody knows.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank FrankAga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Great classic ride in Beyoglu district. Really iconic and Istanbul-ish. Even better as it runs through Istiklal, a very long street, so not good to walk to and from whilst shopping and hopping into and out of shops along the long stretch. Better to take advantage of the tram.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Tartarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

In one of the fits of municipal madness that sweep the world from time to time, almost every city, apart from Melbourne, San Francisco and a few others, killed off their tram networks. Now, Istanbul has revived some of its tram routes, but it s 'mainly for tourists' exercise. Even so, it's fun and if you haven't travelled in a tram before (streetcar in the US) you'll enjoy it.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank 619jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2017

One used to be able to move all over Istanbul on both sided of the Bosphorous many years ago. It is available only between Taksim and Tunel know, a stretch of istiklal street that is about 2 km. long. Walk one way and take the tram the other way if you are tired or lazy.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Tansu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

What a fabulous way to travel around and through Istanbul. Clean, modern and punctual. Not to mention convenient and easy to use. After our experience we wouldn't travel in Istanbul any other way. Can only highly recommend this mode of travel to any traveller coming to this fantastic city.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Reg Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews