We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location, Brilliant Staff, Tiny Room!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dara Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #257 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location, Brilliant Staff, Tiny Room!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were a family of 6 ( 4 kids) and booked a family room for 8 Nights (1 double and 3 single beds).

Erhan offered free pick up and drop off to airport as well as a complimentary meal at an excellent restaurant.

Erhan and his staff (Haruk, Byram, Mohammed and Samra) were simply fantastic in looking after all our needs. Lots of genuine love given to the children, in particular the little one was spoilt by Byram and Samra.

The hotel is very clean and very new, staff come to clean the room and replace towels every day. There is always at least one person if not two at reception to meet your needs. The room has a safe, phone, TV, mini fridge, shower and hair dryer. But no Kettle or cups for tea / coffee.

Breakfast was on the balcony with brilliant views of the sea of marmara and included cereal, selection of fresh fruit, selection of bread and various spreads, boiled eggs, fresh orange / cherry juice, tea / coffee, milk for the kids.

The location is on a hill, with Sokullu Mosque 30 seconds away which was perfect for me for the early morning and late night prayer.

Blue Mosque was 10 mins away - again meaning all the family could go for the sunset prayer every evening.

The only two negatives were, no one turned up to pick us up at the airport, but Erhan refunded me the cost of the taxi from the airport to the hotel and also the bathroom was very small (i.e. your head is practically touching the wall when sat on the loo!!! )

I would recommend any young family with kids to use Dara, I will be returning to it next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IK786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    143
    60
    12
    12
See reviews for
127
165
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

You cannot fault the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff in this hotel. I was well impressed.

We arrive in Istanbul in the pouring rain (the last time I saw rain like that was the Sheffield 2007 floods). A taxi driver couldn't find the hotel (you will find this typical of Istanbul taxis - use trams or buses instead - we started walking to the hotel but the map got ruined in the rain. A local saw we were struggling and invited us in and called the hotel who immediately came to pick us up from the local's house.

The breakfast service, or anything we wanted, the hotel arranged. They were brilliant in that respect.

The one issue was the room. The hotelier did apologise for the room saying it was the last one they had. It was nice - clean, tidy, nice décor. The one issue was the size. The double bed took up most of the room and there was no floor space hardly for anything.

The location is ideal, at the bottom of the hill leading to the blue mosque.

I do recommend this place, especially for the service. But I think you need to know what you may get is a tiny room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Dara Hotel. The staff were very friendly, and our room was upgraded from a double to a triple. The room was small by North American standards but average for Europe. The breakfast buffet was ok, and the rooftop is quite lovely. The location is good, in that it is minutes from the Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Hippodrome, the Palace and tons of other sites and restaurants. HOWEVER, if you are a young woman who does not want to cover to ankles and wrists (keeping in mind it is 40 degrees celcius out) I do not recommend spending a lot of time in this area, or just have a thicker skin than me! This is based solely on my own experience, I wore sundress that showed no cleavage and cut off at the knee and I was glared at, leered at and received so many dirty looks that it really started to ruin my trip. We did notice that the worst of this was on Sunday, and it wasn't as bad on other days of the week. We stayed in the Sirkeci area for 2 days at the end of our trip and I did not have to deal with a fraction of the same negative attention. In addition, it is a bit of an uphill walk to those attractions from the hotel. Given the warnings about the location, we paid 55 euros a night and at that price I would definitely recommend it and let people make up their own minds

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagnerers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We went to Dara Hotel on the 9th of June and it was 6 of us so we stayed in two rooms. Our genius friend was the one who found the hotel and we all praised him for that. The hotel was absolutely fantastic, the location, the services, the staff, even when there was a misunderstanding in terms of airport transportation, the manager "Erhan" was just great and sort it out immediately.. The location is just perfect, right next to everything, and we found out that the "call for prayer" was very useful for us as then we could attend it in the mosque which was so peacful and everyone can go and visit it. The breakfast at the top of the hotel was just another dream, the quality of the food was excellent and the view from the top was superb and so relaxing.
Would I recommend this hotel to my friends? Sure I will. In fact I already told all our friends about the great hotel of Dara.. Highly Recommended...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambajri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Dara Hotel is small enough so that the employees can interact personally with guests. The manager actually gave us a ride to a restaurant he recommended the first night we were there. He gave us his cell phone number to call if we had an emergency of some kind. When we go back to Istanbul we will most certainly stay at Dara again.

One other great thing was the breakfasts served on the roof of the building - GREAT food and great view. Also, FREE internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaC1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

What I liked about Dara Hotel: It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The location is excellent, close many sights and a tram stop. The air conditioning works very well. It was small, so I felt comfortable letting my kids go alone from floor to floor to visit relatives in other rooms.
What wasn't so great: I could never get the wi-fi working in my room, only in the lobby. The sights are nearby, but you do have to walk up a steep, narrow street. The elevator is tiny; even an umbrella stroller might not fit. Call to prayer was loud, although we got used to it.
There are shops nearby to get drinks and snacks. The kebab restaurant up the street was quite good, and the Chinese restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLMomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Excellent value and location for a budget hotel! We stayed 6 nights in the Dara Hotel at the end of June. The hotel is a few blocks off the Hippodrome in a quiet neighborhood. We felt safe walking to and from the hotel at night – just had to be mindful of the cobblestones and sidewalks. The hotel has been renovated fairly recently, and it was spotlessly clean. The double and triple rooms we saw seemed very nice. Our twin room, however, was really tiny (could not walk around the beds at all), and looked into an enclosed service area and the fire escape. We often got cigarette smoke drifting in, but we don’t know where it came from. The room was well-soundproofed (with AC) and very quiet. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful (if not always successful). English is a bit limited, and our Turkish is non-existent! We’d definitely recommend this hotel to someone who doesn’t need a twin room!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Daphne Hotel
Daphne Hotel
#274 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#522 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asur Hotel
Asur Hotel
#336 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#308 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#302 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dara Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk ayasofya Mahallesi Su Terazisi Sok. No:25 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dara Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dara is located at the heart of the Old City in Istanbul. Historically, the building was once used as a sweet Ottoman mansion, which was renovated as a Hotel in 2009. Hotel Dara has 50 seat capacity with a rooftop restaurant. Along with a team of professional staff, it offers a great opportunity for its guests to have their rich breakfast while enjoying the mystical view of the Marmara Sea and the beautiful Sokollu Mehmet Pasa Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dara Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing