We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City trip Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #276 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“City trip Istanbul”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I found this place online and it was half price, so I booked it as the reviews were not bad either. It is clean, the room was very small and next to the main street and the small Mosque, so I never had a good night sleep. It was loud most of the night, and you got woken up at around 5ish by the Mosque. The room was too small and therefore too hot in there, open window meant noise and closed window meant too hot. The mattress was very hard and not comfortable. The staff was friendly but did not interact with their guests at all. Hardly any words were spoken like "How are you today? I wasn't even asked at the end if I liked my stay, just took the key and that was it. Also when you came back from a day our or night out...all they said was "hi" and gave you the key. I thought it came across very impersonal for such a small hotel.
Not sure what people are raving about the breakfast. I thought it was actually awful. The only thing you could eat was the bread, butter and jam or honey and the eggs. There were some plates/dishes which should have been hot in my opinion, like the roasted little potatoes, but it was all ice cold and tasteless. The coffee had no taste, I thought the breakfast was an insult to the delicious Turkish cuisine. The lady who observed the breakfast was talking to people who were on the group and offered them free tea in the afternoons, also I always smiled at her and said good morning, she was hardly able to say hello and smile at me. Very unfriendly!
The view on the terrace was the best thing of all.

The hotel is perfectly situated in a nice area and close to all the main attraction, for the price I won't complain, but the staff and the breakfast surely can need some improvement. You're better off with something nice from a Turkish bakery for breakfast. Shame as the hotel is actually really lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HastingsSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    143
    60
    12
    12
See reviews for
128
166
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great little gem near all the main tourist attractions in Sultanahmet. Easy walk to the Grand Bazaar. Price was right, staff was lovely. Breakfast was splendid. Rooms were small, but fine for our purposes (two 30-something girls). Did I mention the rooftop and the view?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsoonedi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very Nice hotel. Close to the blue mosque, the Hagia Sofia and the Topkapi Pallace. The staff is very kind and friendly. The breakfast is not very impressive but is eaten at the lovely roof terrace. The room is clean and looks new.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Found the Hotel Dara online and it had lovely reviews. We were 2 girls traveling for fun, so we wanted to find a place that was affordable and felt safe. This place is located in the heart of the tourist scene - minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Has a lovely buffet breakfast every morning on the roof deck that has nice views of the Marma Sea and all the ships coming in. The staff is very friendly - gave us a map and a run down on directions to everywhere and how to get around via foot and via the Metro. They were always smiling and spoke great English really well. There is always someone manning the front desk so we always felt really safe. The rooms are small and minimalist but clean and comfy. Great water pressure in the shower, great hot water. Can easily walk to restaurants.

Only negative I can think of...it is right next to one of the smaller Mosques, and that means the 5:30am call to prayer is loudly broadcast right next to your window. So we woke up at 5:30am each day. It was painful. Authentic, but painful. If I came back, I'd ask to be put in a room that does not face the front street entrance in order to avoid this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main street in order to avoid the 5:30am call-to-prayer from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeju
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

it was a start of my family trip from istanbul. and choosing this hotel turned out very nice for my family. we arrived very late about 9. but we can use pick up service for free. though we arrived at hotel late, the receptionist welcomed us very friendly and explained things about a room and some attractions near the hotel. the room was spacious enough for us (4adults). without my asking, they gave us 4 single beds, so we could sleep well. breakfast was also nice. there are all sorts of food including some breads, jam, ham, butter, honey, olives, some vegs, eggs, juice, teas and coffee. we enjoyed much our breakfast for 4days. the location is really good. its only five minutes distance to some historical attractions. the most important thing is the all staff. they are truly kind. and always try to help the guests with nice smiles. though some staffs couldnt speak english well, it never bothered us. because of hotel dara, we started our trip very well.
thanks for treating us so well. take care. thanks for all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatbritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in Dara for four nights in March 2013 and were very happy with the hotel. The service was friendly, breakfast nice (something a bit different, and the roof top terrace was great) and the room very clean if a bit small. The location is very good, close to all the major sights but away from the crowds. Would definitely stay there again.

PS: Also try the nearby Sokullu restaurant.

Room Tip: There is a mosque next door, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room from the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanna_helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I repeat my visite to Dara Hotel from Istanbul, Sultanahmet ..all last 7 months ...and what can I tell
is that my first impression is now more better....
Everything is perfect for tourists in this coquette family hotel, from the location near Sokollu Camii, neat Aya Sophia, near Blue Mosque, with the magnifique panorama of Marmara Sea from the terasse , where even in winter time you can take breakfast seeing the sea , because is close with transparents walls...and Semra take care of all custommers to eat all delicious almost 80 kinds of foods ...always fresh and very delicious...
That the hotel is very, very clean and always ready to receive the customers, even early that the check in hour....it is admirable...
The staff is admirable, very helpful, always smiling, and trying to offer everything to the customers.I recomand again to all my friends and all the trip advisor readers this excellent hotel from Istanbul...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#146 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#584 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#25 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#279 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#467 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#291 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dara Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk ayasofya Mahallesi Su Terazisi Sok. No:25 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dara Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dara is located at the heart of the Old City in Istanbul. Historically, the building was once used as a sweet Ottoman mansion, which was renovated as a Hotel in 2009. Hotel Dara has 50 seat capacity with a rooftop restaurant. Along with a team of professional staff, it offers a great opportunity for its guests to have their rich breakfast while enjoying the mystical view of the Marmara Sea and the beautiful Sokollu Mehmet Pasa Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dara Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing