We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly priced hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #271 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fairly priced hotel with good location”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in at Dara Hotel Istanbul in February, which is obviously low season for tourism. The hotel is well located in Sultanahmet, very close to all the major historical sites and museums and to the city centre itself. The hotel room we stayed in (2 persons) was not very spacious but with nice view to the next-door mosque and Bosphorus strait. The room itself was a bit worn-out and needed some repair here and there (TV did not work properly, toilet was loose from the floor) but it was definitely good value for the money (we paid ~€46 per night for DBL, BB). Probably would try some other hotel in the same neighbourhood next time, but would still recommend the hotel as it comes with good balance between the location, services and comfort it provides, and the cost for it all. Breakfast was sustainable and the hotel personnel friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: would recommend 2nd or 3rd floors. Central heating should be turned on (if needed in winter months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    143
    60
    12
    12
See reviews for
128
166
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Dara Hotel for 3 nights based on the high Tripadvisor reviews, and even though, the hotel is in a convenient location in Old Town close to the major sights, we feel the hotel does not deserve these high reviews.

We did like the spacious room, but our room was filled with pesky mosquitoes which came in through the screenless windows that the maid leaves open after cleaning.

The bathroom lock in our room was also broken, and we had to call the front desk to open the bathroom with pliers/screwdrivers after one of us was stuck in the bathroom after turning the faulty lock.

We did love the rooftop view, but the complimentary breakfast was not very fresh as the grapes had mold on them. The staff is nice, but they can be irresponsible when changing shifts. We had booked a shuttle pickup for one of us, and the front desk staff confirmed the reservation in the morning before the pickup. However, we later found the shuttle was full since the staff didn't call in to make the reservation for us until later that day when it was already full. Then we were never informed of the overbooking until it was time to leave for the airport the next morning. The staff called us a taxi, and even though only one person was going, we had to pay the full taxi fare instead of the shuttle price.

Overall, Dara Hotel is a three star accommodation at best, and we recommend it for a short stay for a convenient location to the tourist sites in Old Town. However, we will look for another hotel when we are in Istanbul next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trojanlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I came in this hotel based TripAdvisor reviews of other Romanian tourists and I had a marvellous surprise
to find indeed a very nice and clean hotel, an excellent staff, very good services ....
Situated in a very old area of Istanbul, with an amazing panorama of Marmara Sea, near Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia,
Grand Bazar, Topkapi Sarayi, a.s.o.. this small and very coquette hotel offer all you need when you visit Istanbul.
Congratulations to all for the excellent services !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parasca2adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temepreance
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my last night of a 2weeks stay at Dara hotel in the area of Sultan Ahmet. I selected this hotel based TripAdvisor reviews who spoke highly of it. Even then they didn't do this hotel & it's staff justice. The rooms albeit small are spotless, clean linen very day, the rooms aroma is refreshing and always done timely. They attend to any issues within seconds literally. Rook comes with a hearty breakfast served at the roof of the restaurant and has a stunning view of the Sea of Mermara. Samra who is the restaurant manager is the consummate hostess. I always felt as her house guest not a costumer in a restaurant. Once I over slept past breakfast time and lo and behold she insisted on my having breakfast even when the Buffett had closed. Wanted a trip to Ephesus. No problem Aytoc arranged for Volare travel to do what turned to be a Spectacular day at a reasonable cost. Pick up and delivery to the airport no problem. Guidance on places to visit and direction just ask Emir or Aytoç they will offer the best and cost effective advise one can hope to get. Perhaps what clinched it for me is from the outset I felt like a member of an intimate family not some guest in a hotel. Although they serve only breakfast, one can get tee, coffee, other teas during the day. What a service. How long does it take ... Minutes if that. In my return trips to Istanbul I will undoubtedly stay at Dara no matter what the other options. The hotel is located in the heart of all the top historical sights in Sultanahmet. It is within walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi palace, Basilica Cisterna, but more importantly to Sultanahmet Tram station. Which puts the visitor within immediate reach of any location in Istanbul using the public transport system. I used the smart card which saved me a lot of money. The card is used on all modes of public transport including the ferry services. The staff at the hotel explained how it works. Some US & European chains who do the "cookie cutter style customer service" may want to come to Dara to learn what the real genuine thing looks and feels like.
A flawless performance like this needs leadership at the top and that is Osman, others are leaders in their areas: Emir, Aytoç, Yalmaz in the reception area these guys don't miss a beat. The bell staff Ahmet, Bayawn, &Erban. Samra provides the real feel of your own home kitchen with a spread you wouldn't see anywhere else of Turkish assorted breakfast delicacies. She works every days (in 2weeks she was there every day) and she knows every one that comes to her breakfast, what they like and how they like it. I didn't have to tell her she figured it out the first time. And, she always smiles and the pride she shows in her work

Room Tip: I booked a single room, for few more dollars I would have gotten a double which would have given me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedA48000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed many times in this hotel, and even just I visited it when I am only passing in Istanbul.
Why ?
Because everything is EXCELLENT , AMAZING, EXTRAORDINARY !!!
The location is central , just in the hearth of the historical area, near a very old other mosque Sokullu,
very easy to reach him , very close from Aya Sophya, from Blue Mosque, a.s.o.
I liked very much the family atmosphera of this hotel, the rooms very nice, extremely clean , every day
the house-keeper take care of them.
I didn't find any problems with AC, with water or electrical installation.
Everything was perfect !
Amazing is the terasse where is the breakfast : you have a amazing panorama of the Marmara Sea and of the
harbour, and of the Sokollu Mosque from where we can hear the muezin - don't forget - we are in a Islamique
country.
EXTRAORDINARY ! The staff of the hotel is extraordinary, beginning of course with Ms. Semra , our breakfast
author, and all the staff of the reception, Emir and Yilmaz, Aitach and Ahmet, and also Osman bey , the Marketing Manager, all are so helpfull, so polite, benevolent and all the time to your dispositions with any service, any informations.
CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL AND TO THE BOSS OF THEM FOR EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent 5 nights in the hotel along with my sister and her husband and my daughter - we had three rooms in total. The hotel was clean and well managed with a very efficient and friendly staff. I was unfortunately ill for the last 36 hours which meant that I had to reschedule my flight. The staff were helpful in sorting out another flight for me as well as a taxi to the airport.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel. Its standards are high and it is well placed for visiting some of the wonderful historic sites of Istanbul.

Martin Thomas

Room Tip: All the rooms were of a good size with well designed en-suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Small but cosy rooms, although understandable as ideal location. Very friendly and helpful staff, and roof top terrace breakfast fantastic for both food and view. Also very close to the awesome Sokullu restaurant! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustydisturbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldara, Director of Sales at Dara Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest ,

I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above review about your accommodation at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you are happy for your experience.
I have also informed my colleague with your nice comments in order to make all of them pleasure about your feedback.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel on your next holidays.
Kind Wishes and Best Regards,
Osman YASAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#144 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#583 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#272 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#467 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#283 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dara Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk ayasofya Mahallesi Su Terazisi Sok. No:25 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dara Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dara is located at the heart of the Old City in Istanbul. Historically, the building was once used as a sweet Ottoman mansion, which was renovated as a Hotel in 2009. Hotel Dara has 50 seat capacity with a rooftop restaurant. Along with a team of professional staff, it offers a great opportunity for its guests to have their rich breakfast while enjoying the mystical view of the Marmara Sea and the beautiful Sokollu Mehmet Pasa Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dara Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing