We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!!”
Review of Best Island Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Island Hostel
Ranked #609 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is awful. In the day me have been stolen there. The service is bad, and staff unfriendly. Many Problems with the staff. If you ask, the staff did not respond in English, I asked for the loss of money and have insulted me and shouted in Turkish, in addition to open my room to insult, horrible place!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dany_zul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    14
    13
    49
See reviews for
2
32
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location of hostel is perfect. All Old Town and Istanbul you can have easily from here. Unfortunately building was under construction and smell of paint was everywhere.
Room was very cold and wet.
There's only 1 shower for everyone and Internet is really poor..
But the staff is really nice and for that value of money and location it's definitely a place worth to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a simple place, probably not the brighter one but cheap and with a very friendly staff. It is in the heart of the city, just near from the blue mosquee, and the tramway is very close. It's very practical to move on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is awful. If you have any love to your money stay somewhere else in town. In the same day me and other two people have been stolen there. People from the hostel staff sneaked into the private accommodations and "cleaned the guests". Besides, the toilets are bad, and in the third floor there is no door knob or locker in the toilet, and you are obliged to hold the door with your hands while trying to use the loo.

The service is bad, and staff unfriendly and not clear about what they offer to you.I was with two male friends and the lady in the reception didn't warned us that the triple room we had to pay in advance was actually a double bed and a single bed. End of the history, we had to share a bed for the first and only night I spent there.

Breakfast is not good as well. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: No tips, just do not stay here. This place should be closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'd booked some other place online who overbooked me and was traipsing about with all my bags. I turned up here and they seemed kind of friendly. They had a room below ground level that looked (up) to peoples ankles in the restaurants, or a nearby apartment room in a building that housed the staff. I took the room, and paid in Euros, and they gave me one euro coins, saying it would be easy to change them to a note.

It was hard to change them to a note, as coins get a lower rate, but when I complained, they gave me a note.

Then it was OK. I slept well. The toilet was upstairs, but it was OK. They stored my bag for free in the day and I got ten minutes on a (slow) computer. I can't really complain about the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If what you are looking for in a hostel is a $7 bed in a 12 bed dorm then this is your place. My boyfriend and I were looking for an inexpensive private room in Istanbul. The best Island hotel was not great. In fact it was awful. Our room was dirty, our sheets were stained, and the shower had mirror shards in it. Our room was literally right next to reception (less than a foot from the desk). It was loud all night with the receptionist talking loudly and people coming in and out. The breakfast was tiny. We ended up calling it a loss after one night, and booking a different hotel (they wouldn't give us our money back for the 2 other nights we were supposed to stay here). Don't stay here if you want anything more than a cheap dorm bed.

Room Tip: There is no good room here. But if you still decide to stay here, insist that you see your room bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havalemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The owner of this hostel just canceled our reservation for 12 people without any reason and without inform us. Once we arrived there he had a strong argument extremely rude to force us to accept that it was our mistake and hot his.

The cleaning of this hostel is really bad and the staff extremely unfriend.

I do not recommend this hostel at all for nobody!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferp187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#456 of 1,141 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#613 of 1,141 in Istanbul
9 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#83 of 1,200 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Neverland Hostel
Neverland Hostel
#186 of 1,200 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#36 of 1,200 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Cheers Midtown
Cheers Midtown
#136 of 1,200 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Island Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Island Hostel

Property: Best Island Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Best Island Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing