We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Island Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$107
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$125
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
16
21
14
13
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
21
14
13
48
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 112 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Funny that all the good references come from first and one time users... If you can stay elsewhere don't hesitate, if you have already booked, sorry...

Worst hotel in our 3 months trip around Europe and Turkey. The room is filthy, everything is disgusting, the floor, the walls, the door, the bed (dust, hair and more between the mattress and the bed, the sheets were clean).

Nobody cleaned the room during our stay. The bathroom had no door! You shower with just a curtain, anyone can open anytime! Bathroom and toilet were very dirty too.

We paid 70TL for an upstairs double, which was way too much for what we got. Downstairs cost 60TL, you can bargain.

Unpleasant and sneaky staff, tried to cheat us of our money in the end, they ask for a deposit for your key and pretended we didn't have a receipt for the deposit so made a fuss to give it back.

Worst breakfast too, almost nothing in your plate, and bread from a couple of days ago.
Poor wifi, only on the first floor.

The only good point is the location, you are 2 min walk from the sites, but there are several much better options in that street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdmpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

dirty, staff was not nice, bad wifi, bad smell, price not so good..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hostel is in a great location you're basically inbetween the blue mosque and hagia sophia and will reach either one in under 10minutes. We found the staff very helpful, they let us check in at 8am, and gave us instructions/directions of how to get to different places.
The room we stayed in seemed almost unfinished? Their was a small pieces of floor board uplifted and in a small pile near the opening doors to the extremely small balcony (but hey we had doors we could open which on a hot day would be great) But it was clean. The shared bathroom seemed to be shared by more than people on our floor (not much the owners could do about it as if someone couldnt get into the shower on their level instead of waiting they would just go to the next level and try) The shower/bath doesnt drain very effectively at all, so if you showered you would be standing in ankle deep water.
The rooftop kitchen/bar had some great views and we loved the free breakfast (an egg,2 olives, cheese, bread and butter).
Overall we would stay here again the only thing that deters us is the creaky stairs when sleeping and bathroom issue, minor things.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private double room with a shared bathroom, 2nd level, which had a fantastic view of the hagia sophia from our room. Stairs were creaky though an we woke alot, not sure about dorms or other rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

i checked in assuming it was a nice clean hostel,then i was shocked.,the dorm floor was broken, the walls had fungus and the bathroom was (terrible ) then i said no problem, i will adapt,but then i had a huge problem and i had to return home, so when i talked to them,they told me no money refund, which means, i paid 9 nights and i can't have my money back, and the owners wife was so rude that she called me a liar and that i just want to check out and she will not give me my money back . this is a baaaaad hostel ,do not go there and it is not cheap , you can pay the same price and stay in a nicer hostel in the same street or near.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank falfola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was the last hostel out of 4 that we stayed at, and my three friends and I loved Turkey until we stayed at this hostel. The security is TERRIBLE! We had a key to our 16 bed dorm and we were the last ones into the room one night, and we locked the door. We woke up 2 hours later to a strange man in our room doing disgusting things. We chased him out, but the owners did absolutely nothing to help us out, they didn't even chase after him and they suggested we didn't call the police. We all have been traumatized by this experience and we left Turkey early because of it. I still have nightmares about what happened. There were also random strange people sleeping on the roof. Do not stay here stay here if you care about your safety, especially if you are a woman. No one ever deserves to have this happen to them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews