We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Hotel Buyuk Keban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buyuk Keban
Ranked #315 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I checked out of the hotel today after a week stay. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Child friendly hotel.
Breakfast is basic no orange juice, no jam. The bathroom had a shower door missing which lead to the whole floor getting drenched. One of the bedrooms didn't unlock with the card and this problem persisted throughout the stay. I requested the downstairs rooms but was put in the top floor.
Overall this hotel is cheap and cheerful and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Majidah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Majidah,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, you stated that you liked the hotel but gave us a low rating anyways, which is hard to understand.

Regarding the shower door, as i have personally explained it to you during your stay, Hotel Buyuk Keban bathrooms are custom designed upscale bathrooms. Before your check-in, previous guests that has accommodated in your room broke the glass in that room. And when you place an order for the missing piece as you would expect, it takes time to be delivered. But of course, it is not your concern, but it was explained to you. We could have changed your room, but the hotel was 100% occupied which made it impossible. But i'm deeply sorry for the the inconvenience.

Besides that, you have written very kind stuff about our hotel, i would like to thank you for that.

I hope you would choose our hotel for your upcoming visit to Istanbul, we would definitely like to see that happen.

Kindest Regards from Istanbul,

Huseyin Aksoyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 524 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I realy not undersand.I chouse this hotel following the rewieu written by other traveler. I fly freqventlly in Istanbul and last say that I am confortable in this town. In the same time I decided to stay in this area becouse my standard destination are look litell beat unsafty. Big mistacke.the hotel is located well but the trafiv and noice it is a hell. The vistators are in the big part person how came for small comerce. Durring the night in the main lobby was person how pack and trasport with elevatores the goods atthe superior plain.. The staff is frindlly ...my be to much.Somebody for my multinational team ask for a smoking room and the man from reception expleain us that in all the room you can smoke with the open window....even that are catalogated like unsmoking room. This rooms are small and clean with a good house keeping.the bath is realy small but functional the bad are a hell...agin can be metter of teaste but iI compare with other 3 star hotell in Istanbul...
The breakfast is more or less ok, the staff are realy nice but in the morning it is full and become realy defficil to plan your time.
I will not recomand this hotel even that is looking intersting.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Iulian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Iulian P,

First of all i would like to thank you for your choosing for our hotel on your previous trip to Istanbul.

However, i'm disappointed to read your negative comments for our hotel. If you could have let us know about the problems you have experienced we could have talked and tried to figure out a solution.

Anyways, we as Hotel Buyuk Keban staff read, review and talk about the comments that are written about our hotel weekly. I will share what you wrote with my staff and we will try to improve ourselves by what you have written here.

We wish you a happy 2014!

Kindest Regards from Istanbul,

Huseyin Aksoyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great 3 stars hotel, very clean rooms, free internet access, with a very good breakfast open buffet, and a very friendly staff.
I've stayed for 2 weeks, and we have rented the conference room for the 2 weeks, it's an excellent conference room with separate part for coffee break, has all facilities from data show, LCD screen, free WI-FI connection ...etc, coffee break is very good and always on time.
Special thanks to Mr.Hannan who was very helpful & kind person and professional at his work, he was covering all our needs.

Room Tip: make sure to tell the reception to select the bigger room on the front or side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amustafa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mr.Abd Alla,

Thank you for your kind comments, it was a great pleasure hosting your event at our hotel. I hope everything was like you expected.

I hope to see you again in our hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,

Hannan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through its official website, ZEHRA from reservation department got in touch with us immediately. Everything was perfect through out the stay. Staff was really helpful, breakfast was awesome, i think it is a great deal for what you pay. Also free wifi was really convinient as well as the location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SalimS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear SalimS,

Thank you for your kindest comments for our hotel. Thank you for remembering us...

We hope to see you when you are Istanbul and please let us know if there is anything we could do for you.

Kindest Regards from Istanbul,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

First of all, Hotel Buyuk Keban is settled in a good location where you can easily access to public transportations and old historical city sides..
Secondly, you will stay in this hotel with low price and high quality, rooms look so new and clean..
Finally, i strongly recommend this hotel for who wants to visit historical places of istanbul and who also wants to see other parts of istanbul with easy access to public transportation. This feature of this hotel also allows their business customers to make their business activities with easy transportation..
Have a nice and easy holiday!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank dorukgny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mr.Doruk,

Thank you for your kindest comments for our hotel. Thank you for remembering us...

We hope to see you when you are Istanbul and please let us know if there is anything we could fo for you.

Kindest Regards from Istanbul,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is located in Fatih area of Istanbul, it was clean and very comfortable, the staff was very helpful , all area of the hotel was kept clean and spotless, you near to all the sites, the best way to get about o on the trams can get very busy

Room Tip: Cleaning was done each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Mr.Alan,

I'm so happy to see your positive comments for our hotel. We as staff, check the comments daily and really appreciate what is written on there.

You review made us extremely happy.

I would like to thank you & hope see you in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards from Istanbul,

Hotel Manager,
Huseyin Aksoyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed there for almost two weeks. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was very, very clean and looked like the fotos of the site. Less than 5 minutes walk from Aksaray Tram Station and around 10 minutes by tram from Hangia Sofia. I used to walk that distance and was very nice. The breakfast was traditional, very tasty, especially the marmelades!! and the soups. No safety issues.
The only issue was that for some reason I could not have access to wi-fi from my room and I had to work from loby and the gym was openend after 11am. But not such a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katerina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuyukKeban, General Manager at Hotel Buyuk Keban, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Katerina,

Thank you for your kindest comments..

All of the staff at Buyuk Keban get together and read the comments daily, i think your positive feedback will be very useful for them, as well as the prospective visitors.

We would love to see you in our hotel next time you are in Istanbul...

Kindest Regards from Turkey!

Hotel Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#402 of 1,159 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Misa Hotel
Misa Hotel
#463 of 1,159 in Istanbul
44 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#303 of 1,159 in Istanbul
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Maya Hotel
Maya Hotel
#456 of 1,159 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#223 of 1,159 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Bulvar Palas
Hotel Bulvar Palas
#500 of 1,159 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buyuk Keban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buyuk Keban

Address: Gencturk Cad. No: 39 | Laleli, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buyuk Keban 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buyuk Keban is located in ''Old City'' Istanbul therefore it is close to all touristic attractions and shopping districts. It is 500mt.`s away from Aksaray tram station and it is accessible from the airport via metro. Hotel has 131 rooms including single, twin, double rooms and family suites. Also, hotel has disabled rooms - and whole hotel is disabled accessible. Our rooms are equipped with shower, telephone, safe, mini-bar, satellite LCD TV, seating unit, hair dryer and FREE Wifi for our guests.We are confident that you will enjoy accommodating at Hotel Buyuk Keban...We are looking forward to see you here in Istanbul.Regards,Hotel Buyuk Keban Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Buyuk Keban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing