We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Home Sultanahmet
Ranked #670 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Terrible experience.
You can not believe all these happened to me just at one time staying there. I could not change my hotel, because all the hotels around were full. I made my reservation one month in advance. When I got there, they told me there was no info of me in their system, but I had the name of the person who I made my reservation with; so, they offered me a room in 4th floor (my reservation was for the 2d floor). There is no Wi-Fi upper than 2d floor. The room was very small. Toilette and shower are extremely small and uncomfortable. One night when I came back to the hotel, they told me that they moved all my stuff to the next room with out my permission. The new room had no air condition functioning. Finally, in the last day, when I wanted to pay my bill, they charged me 1.5 times more than our agreement. I had no other chance because my taxi was waiting for me to take me to the air port.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Farzin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 61 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Badly in need of repair and poorly managed; unsavory crowd for dinner and drinking on one occasion; stale toiletries; weak AC in some rooms (intolerable during a heat wave - 6/9-6/14 2012); bed bug on one occasion; rotten egg for my first breakfast; would have left for another hotel but was stuck due to having booked through Expedia! A few more dollars gets you a much better place as I did after I left this place.
I suspect the good reviews are written by or on behalf hotel management.

The only thing working here are the friendly staff who manage to sooth you with kind words and I suspect know that their job relies on continued operation of this place.

Room Tip: Luck of the draw! I wish I had taken photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

All the hotels building are the same, you have to concern about people, location and service
If we start with reservation, the manger "Mustafa" very helpful, and arranged car to pick up us from airport, a perfect breakfast, not much things but very enough to start your day with happiness, i took room 502, which is not much sea view but really wide and you move so smoothly and still have some sea view, you will enjoy the hotel team, they are funny, helpful, and you will fell very optimistic when you talk to them.
Just in top you have the terrace with overview for the old city with Marmara Sea, you have to take photos in that terrace
For the location for me surprised how much easy for it, in general you will mix the roads but for that hotel you never lost, in south you have the metro station and if you cross it you will find the Grand Bazzar (Which you shall visit in Istanbul), and you can get your stuff and return direct to hotel, except you have to have strong leg muscles for the inclined street :), from the north you have the other metro line, and around are the old historical places
You dont waste your time and money with that hotel

Room Tip: 502 is wide, it can accommodate triple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OctopouS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

my husband and i stayed here recently and from the moment of arrival until the day we departed we were welcomed with friendly and helpful staff.we ate in the rest and had a very enjoyable meal.our room was very clean,beds very comfotable.slept well every night,we were there for 4 nights.our room had a beautiful view.this hotel is small and very well situated.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We spent three nights in this nice hotel; rooms and baths are very clean, even though some of them are very small. It is very close to the most important attractions. Good breakfast with some turkish specialties. The staff is very nice and helpful and add a great value to this reccomendable accomodation!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plastica66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We have rented three double bed rooms. They were very clean and good looking. The staff and the owner himself are always more than happy to help for any need you can experience.
Very, very good place to rest or have fun since it is located in the very center of the old city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcomoiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The hotel is located very close to the main sides of Istanbul, a couple of minutes by walking. It is very easy to get to the hotel, since the tram stop "camberlitas" is just 3 minutes by wallking and its safe.
From the beginning on the staff was very kind and helpful. We could come anytime if we had any problems.
Our room was not hugh, but it was big enough for both of us and it was very lovely. For us a younf couple we found it romantic also.Very cute curtains and sheets and new furniture and also a flatscreen. For me it is important that the room is somewhat clean and I have to say that really this hotel is one of the cleanest hotels I have been to. Also the bathroom was cleaned every day and we really enjoyed the rainshower.
Also to mention the breakfast....very very delicious. Bread, scrambled eggs, Cereals, Vegetables....all kinds of stuff...

For what we paid for this hotel, this was the best deal we have ever made.

I am not paid to advertise this hotel;) This hotel is really wonderful and next time I will go to Istanbul I will definitly chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#457 of 1,175 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#236 of 1,175 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#539 of 1,175 in Istanbul
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#435 of 1,175 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#496 of 1,175 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#440 of 1,175 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Home Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Home Sultanahmet

Address: Pierlotti Cad. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #670 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $24 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — My Home Sultanahmet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Home STA Hotel is opened to serve you in Sultanahmet,where the most brilliant historical city center of İstanbul.Through it’s location, it is within walking distance to cultural centers such as Topkapı Palace ,Yerebatan Cistern ,Hagia Sophia , Grand Bazaar ,Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque, Süleymaniye Mosque , Turkish And Islamic Arts Museum,Hippodrome ,Kumkapı Fish Restaurants… It’s ready for the best service with the 15 rooms which are meticulously designed into this historical feature.The rooms facilities ;Air-condition, Satellite LCD TV, Mini bar , Direct-dial phone, Electronic safe box, Wireless Internet Access , special bathroom with shower and hairdryer,ergonomic beds , 24 hour room service .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your My Home Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing