We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sphendon
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$107
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$125
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
181
77
23
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
77
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquehagia sophiatouristic placessmall hotelold cityclean roomsturkeyexcellent locationsultanahmet areabasilica cisternwould highly recommend this hotelhistorical sitesrooftop terracegrand bazaarsalehhippodromemarmara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 286 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Do not stay in this hotel as the service was so poor even before arriving for my stay with family.
The reservations team and front desk team were so unprofessional and very rude.
The emails that were sent to me were the first bad impression I had received as it was inappropriate and when I called the hotel, the employee actually raised his voice and saying unpleasant things such as "It is not my problem!", "What do you want!" etc. The transport given from the hotel is twice the price than other hotels which I have checked. After I lodged a complaint, not even a single response of an apology from any of the management team. Such a disappointment for a hotel service and do not fall for the good reviews that have been given. There are other hotels same area with fantastic rating, incomparable with this one.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank lolodrezet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsphendon, Sahibi at Hotel Sphendon, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Dear guest
My name is Malik ,on behalf of Sphendon Hotel team I would like to say that I am sorry for the bad experiance you had in Sphendon hotel before,butt as a general manager and part owner of the hotel I would like to informe you that we are the new owners of the hotel ,we bought Sphendon hotel in 1st of febrewary 2015 ,and your experiance will not be happening again.
we have changed everything here,,furniture,decoration,staf,and the most importanat thing the service.
Sphendon hotel is doing great now ,you can check our web site ond other sites like trip advisor and read the comments there for past 3 monthes .
once again we are sorry for what happened , and wish you all the best.
best regards .
Malik Çelebi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Sphendon for 4 days in October and had a wondeful experience. The location was fantastic, only a short and pleasant walk to sights such as the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The rooftop views were absolutely amazing! To sit up there and overlook the city and hear the prayers at dusk is something I highly recommend everyone do. The staff was super helpful, eager to give us restaurant tips and arrange transportation and boat cruise. The rooms were cute (victorian style decor), adequate and comfortable, very clean. They serve a full Turkish breakfast in their little garden and the assortment of food they put out each day won't disappoint you! Every day there was a home baked treat to enhance the breakfast. There is no bar on site, but you can bring a bottle back and enjoy it up on the roof top terrace and stores are only a block or so away. As two women traveling solo we felt totally secure and comfortable in the hotel and neighborhood. I highly recommend Hotel Sphendon and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theonlycorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Location of this hotel is little far from tram stop 'Sultanahmet'. You should walk around 10 min. But this location is nice - real old Istanbul. Near hotel there is one small shop and a lot of mosques. Read prayer time in Internet and you wull wake-up always in time, without alarms.
I have gor DBL room and this room was small for two persons, but desing is nice, very clean.
Breakfast is poor: just coffe/tea, butter/bread and some fruits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Arkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice hotel, with very helpful and nice staff. The terrace for the breakfast is very pleasant and the top terrace with the view onto the sea is impressive.
You have to know that the call for the pray last only 10 mn, so you don't have to get up at 6 AM, juste wait a little bit before sleeping again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Hotel Sphendon is a 12-room hotel on a quiet street several hundred yards from the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. We stayed a week in mid-October. As you drive up to the hotel, at first glance it looks like you might be out of the way on a deserted street. Hang in there...it is only one block from the more bustling area and you will appreciate the calm and quiet instead of being on one of the more heavily traveled and touristed streets. Complimentary breakfast is served (traditional Turkish breakfast - wide variety). There is no restaurant on the premises but, again, you are only one block from several streets lined with great places to eat. The hotel staff is friendly, helpful, and will go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant visit. Absolutely no communication problems for English speakers. There is a very pleasant small garden patio for your breakfast and a small roof-top patio with a view of the Sea of Maramara Price is very reasonable. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but are pleasantly furnished and scrupulously clean. My place to go on any future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews