We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pleasant staying at Sphendon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sphendon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sphendon
Ranked #225 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Novosibirsk
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The pleasant staying at Sphendon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I would say that the staff is the most pleasant part of my staying at this hotel. All the people were friendly and ready for help.
There is no doubt that the location is very convenient to discover the ancient city. What is more important, it was quiet in my room and I could relax after the long walkings.
The breakfast was rather delicious, but for me there was short of sweets and fruits.
Overall, I would stay again at this hotel during my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maksim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    75
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
130
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a very average hotel in comparison to the other boutique hotels in Sultanahmet. The rate was too high for the quality of service we got. There was no elevator (not a big issue), no iron or board, water was leaking from the toilet bath area and the check out time was earlier than other hotels. I would not recommend this place, unless it is the only option you have like it was for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was small but perfect. There can be a lot of steps depending on what floor you are on but this was not a problem for us. The in-room wifi was fast and access was easy. You will be a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque. You can walk to the Grand Bazaar. Be sure to stop by the Hippodrome Restaurant after a long day of sightseeing. It is a five minute walk from the hotel and a great place to relax and grab a bite to eat. We definitely recommend staying at the Hotel Sphendon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floydfloydfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Everything was great. Breakfast buffet could use more variety but the food was good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keiraned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This spot was recommended to me by my Rick Steves Travel Guide and I was very happy I took the suggestion. This little boutique hotel is fantastic, clean, well run, quiet, and very well positioned in the old part of the city on a small winding neighborhood street. It is about a 6-7 min. walk up the hill to the Blue Mosque & Aya Sophia & a tram stop. There are lots of good restaurants very close. The staff was very polite, cordial and helpful. They arranged reasonably priced transportation from from the airport for me.

The room was always well kept, clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. All in all this is a GREAT spot for me to say!

Room Tip: Front rooms lover look a small neighborhood street, back room overlooks a pretty courtyard and the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pabel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madremanya, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

For us was a perfect location, you can go everywhere walking, the rooms were clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and they can recommend you where to go and visit.

Room Tip: Our room was external and quiet by night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iosebah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in this small boutique hotel located at the base of the Blue Mosque within walking distance of all the major tourist sites in Old Istanbul. The hotel staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. A Turkish buffet breakfast was served every morning that was just fine. There is an outdoor patio that is lovely and a small rooftop from which to view the Bosphorous. The rooms themselves were very basic and small - a bit disappointing for my taste. By the end of the stay, however, I was very glad to have been so centrally located and have met such wonderful people

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noho63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Emine Sultan Hotel
Emine Sultan Hotel
#176 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#187 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#86 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#301 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#269 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#102 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sphendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sphendon

Property: Hotel Sphendon
Address: Eminonu, Akbiyik Degirmeni Sk, 50, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sphendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
İstanbul Sphendon Hotel - an historical and charming family-run special class hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness, comfort, accommodation and lodging in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of the historical peninsula, Sultanahmet-İstanbul. We are ideally located within two minutes walk to the most important Ottomon & Byzantine monuments of Turkey such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapı Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern and not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sphendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing