We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, fantastic people!”
Review of Emin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emin Hotel
Ranked #770 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, fantastic people!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Really nice hotel, nice staff, will definately go back, miss it already haha, near to everything, but not to close to keep you up at night, staff could not be anymore friendlier and helpful if they tried. Always on hand if any help is needed! Be sure to do the bospherus boat ride its totally amazing and gives amazing views of an amazing city x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beccyuk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    33
    6
    11
See reviews for
13
41
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Good:
1. Location. Literally 10 yards from the tram line in Sirkeci. Minutes away from Topkapi, Blue Mosque and Istanbul Train station
2. Friendly staff.
3. Lovely street cats that fancy your breakfast salami...
The bad:
1. The room size was tiny. With all our luggage there, we had to step over the bed to reach stuff - there was no where to open up our luggage apart from on our beds.
2. We had a triple room on the second floor with windows that opened up to a concrete wall. The pidgeons there were very friendly as they used to come into the bathroom through a hole in the wall. Yes, there was a hole in the wall - I assume used as ventilation, but the grill was missing.
3. The towels and sheets had holes in them and whilst they smelt clean, they were stained.
4. Breakfast was very limited with no cereals or toasting machines. It was the typical fare of three different cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, bread, cake and boiled eggs (which run out and aren't replaced) and salami.
5. As it's located on a side street - a car can't travel along it, so be prepared to wheel your luggage from the taxi to the hotel.
6. The A/C in our room kept breaking down.

It is also a good idea to book directly with the hotel rather than through a website. The rates are cheaper this way.

When we first booked the hotel, they tried to charge my card a test amount and it was rejected - as the bank were not aware of this transaction they barred my card. The bank called but the hotel didn't and said that as I was not prepared to allow this transaction that they could not guarantee my room. It took a lot of talking with the guy and my card being allowed for Turkey did they then say it was all ok. Agro I didn't need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is very very cheap and has small rooms even by Istanbul standards but if you want a place to lay your head and are not going to spend hours in your hotel room then value for money is what you get.
The staff are brilliant, breakfast is taken in the restaurant which forms part of the hotel and is included in the price. The breakfast was very very good with a range of breads, salads, hams, eggs and juices with tea and coffee as well, excellent.
Do not confuse this hotel with western sized rooms as you will be disappointed but the bathrooms are adequate the water hot for the shower and the bed comfy. For the price an absolute bargain if you just want somewhere to sleep. Location is superb and tram stop 200yds away.
One point of caution, there is no lift and I was on the 4th floor, luckily with only hand l;uggage so heavy suitcases would be difficult as the stairs are steep but apart from that a great place but remember if you like space in your room book elsewhere but if you want value for money then book here.

Room Tip: They are all small but if heavy luggage then 1st floor a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

As soon as we arrived we were helped immediately with the carrying of our bags and our room was allocated very quickly. The location of the hotel is just amazing! It is within walking distance of boat, tram, taxi and train services; and Sultanahmet. As well as being near to the bazaars and Topkapi Palace which is a must-see attraction in Istanbul. The staff are fantastic and are happy to help you with anything you need and always welcome you to the hotel after a fun-filled day. The rooms are brilliantly cheap and the breakfast is very delicious. The only criticism I have is that the rooms are just a bit too small and slightly humid.
Many thanks to Muracat and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Widad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This inexpensive hotel has ok service and is relatively close Sultanahmet, but the rooms are minuscule, humid, and smell like cigarette smoke. Our room's AC had a leak. This is a good place to stay if you're on a budget, but don't expect quality service or rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dimpulz113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel has excellent location, in the heart of the city, walking distance to all the sights of Istanbul. The rooms are very small but very clean, linen and towels changed every day. Free wifi, AC works perfect. Staff is very helpful, make you feel home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

very nice hotel just in the heart of Istanbul, lots of historical places worth seeing in Istanbul are nearby. Staff and service are excellent, they do make you feel like home. Rooms are small but very clean, air-conditioned, wi-fi, so if you are not going to go to Istanbul and sit in the room whole day, than it's for you. already miss it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamuna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Emin Hotel
#1,045 of 1,150 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Sultanahmet
Flower Palace Hotel
Flower Palace Hotel
#395 of 1,150 in Istanbul
168 reviews
Sultanahmet
Just Inn Hotel
Just Inn Hotel
#555 of 1,150 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Seres Old City
Seres Old City
#405 of 1,150 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#156 of 1,150 in Istanbul
925 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#230 of 1,150 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Hotel

Property: Emin Hotel
Address: Saffettin Pasa Sok. No:18 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #770 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Emin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing