We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart breakfast.”
Review of New Galata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Galata
Ranked #173 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I heart breakfast.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great Apartment! Spacious, feels cool, but cozy in the morning, never closed the window. Appliances, bathroom, etc, everything in good repair. The host/hostess were welcoming, helpful, and great cooks : )!
They brought up breakfast every mornign, always a variety of pastries, cheese, jams, eggs, etc. Juice, coffee, I"m embarrassed to say it was one of my favorite parts of turkey...
Love it here. Off of a main busy walking street, and a short train from the touristy destinations. Very easy to get around, and hard to get bored.
Leave the main walk for dinner though.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms were the same, each is a floor in the building I think. (they have an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zostarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    20
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
79
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel based on all of the wonderful reviews it received on Tripadvisor and were very excited about our 4 night stay over New Years. I would note that we were charged EUR140 per night, which is much higher than normal off peak rates because it was New Years, and so this review reflects what we would expect of a hotel of this price. Had the price been significantly lower, perhaps our feedback would be less critical.

On the plus side, the room was very spacious. The bed was huge and very comfortable- I think a double king - and we slept very well each night. The hotel location is excellent, on a side street near Tunel Square which is at the bottom end of Istikal Avenue and only a 10 min walk downhill to the bridge. The staff were very friendly and helpful and pleasant and they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine on New Year's Eve which was a nice touch. FInally, the little kitchenette in the room was quite handy and we made good use of it each day.

On the downside.....

The hotel offers free Wifi in all rooms and indeed there was a small router/booster in the room which was permantently lit in green. In spite of this the wifi coverage was very very patch (we tried both Wifi addresses provided) and most evenings the wifi suffered outages for long durations.

There was a really bad smell from the shower drain of raw sewage. The staff did attend to this smell when asked, and the problem did reduce, but never fully disappeared during our stay.

There was a lot of noise from upstairs, I think because there were children running around. The staff did kindly apologise for this inconvenience, but having said that I think because of the structure of the building, each and every footfall from upstairs could be heard very clearly and quite annoyingly (floors are wooden throughout). Each footfall sounded like an elephant stomping around.

Breakfast was served in the room each morning, on demand. This was a lovely novelty at first but the breakfast was small, unimaginative, and cold. Very disappointing. We had to make our own extra coffee each morning as the pot was so small. Fruit was gone bad two of the four mornings and overall we were very unhappy. There was a large array of servings each morning - which appeared to be a real plus - but the servings were so small. Think two spoons of yoghurt, 4 actual walnuts, one egg each, two spoons of jam, etc.

The room was dusty and the curtains were dirty. The bed spread has stains on it.

Reception was only manned in the mornings. In short the place is run more like a boutique hostel than a real hotel.

Should charge hostel prices.

Room Tip: Dont pay over the odds and think "boutique hostel" rather than "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5oda, Owner at New Galata, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your kind words and then your candid review about 5oda. We thought we should respond to your review.

First of all, regarding the rate, you did choose to travel during Christmas and New Year period which is understandably the high season and all hotels raise their prices during this period, based on the simple economic principle of demand and supply. Unlike other hotels that artificially increase their rates, we only applied our regular season rate which we think is fair.

Re: breakfast, we take pride in our rich and varied breakfast and are really sorry to hear your comments about it. If only you had called us to order more, we would have replenished and brought more of what you wanted. Furthermore, our staff told me that there was a timing issue with the ordering of the breakfast. I was told that your breakfast was ordered and brought to your room before you were ready so that must be the reason why it was a bit cold. However, with one phone call, we could have done all that is necessary to bring you a warm and sufficent breakfast.

Re: the bad odor from the shower drain, we tried to take immediate action and solved most of the problem but the odor problem sometimes stems from the general shortcomings of the city's sewage system and even sometimes due to the strong winds that push the smell back.

We occasionally encounter the same problem with our internet provider. We do have the best available internet package but due to some infrastructure problems, we sometimes get intermittent service, even though it is rare.

We sincerely apologize for the noise problem because there was a family with three children right above you. Despite our continued request, we are aware that children did cause some disturbance. After all we are a small B&B with 5 rooms only and inevitably our guests become subject to other guests presence, sometimes in ways they do not prefer.

Regarding the curtains and bed covers, we apologize for the stains. Due to our busy season in New Year period, they were not attended to. Now they have been washed and cleaned.

We are definitely not a hostel and agree that we are not a proper hotel either. We are a small B&B that aims to provide sincere service and attend to all our guests needs. Thank you for your sincere feedback that will help us improve our service. We hope to welcome you again at 5oda and make up for the unpleasant side of your stay with us.

Kazim Uzunoglu
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed in the 5Oda for two nights with my wife. We went to Turkey to do business in the fashion industry and decide to stay in this lovely hotel after a friend recommended it. The rooms are amazing, perfect size for a couple, with a little kitchen included that allows you to prepare a meal. They serve breakfast (an amazing one, super complete) in the room. The hotel is built on a restored building, and the restoration is very good. From the window of the second floor we could hear the sounds of gulls flying around the neighbourhood of Beyoglu, but only when the windows were open. If you close them, you hear nothing!
The weather outside was really cold (we visited in November) but the rooms were warm and nice. The bathroom is a little bit small, but goes perfectly with the style of the room.
The best of all?: the attention of all the people in 5Oda, everyone treated us as friends, they speak at least spanish, french, english and turkish (and maybe more) and helped us a lot with all of our requirements. Definitely recommended!!
Located near Galata tower, is perfect to move around one of the coolest areas of Istanbul!

Room Tip: I would recommend the lowest floor possible, as the elevator is super tiny, and we preferred to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sermiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here after hearing about it from my sister and her husband. Overall, a great experience. There was a little bit of miscommunication about our arrival time. Unlike hotels, the staff are not available around the clock. It also happened to be unseasonably warm and we were in the room on the first floor, which made keeping the windows open a little uncomfortable-since we were basically street level (they had turned the whole building over to heat). Besides these two blips the stay was great. Breakfast was brought to our room, and it was a breakfast fit for a king and queen. The staff were very nice and helpful with directions and recommendations. The room was large and recently re-done. The hotel is off a quiet side street in a great neighborhood. We walked everywhere in the city. It's about a 45 min walk to the Blue Mosque area and 10-15 min walk to the Galata bridge. There are a lot of lovely places to eat within 10-15 min of 5oda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is in a trendy part of Istanbul with lots of bars and restaurants. Our room was clean, modern and very spacious. It is easy to travel to the historic region from the hotel. The management team was very keen to help us and give us advice about where to go and what to do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyronedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just returned from Istanbul and has a wonderful time at 5oda. The location is excellent - easy to sightsee and also to go out at night. The team there is incredibly friendly and helpful. And, very importantly, the beds were so comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

U would have to say by far this is one of the best boutique hotels I ever stayed in, location is excellent, just of estiklal street, rooms are lovely decorated, breakfast was just lavish, something new everyday brought up to your room......and last but not least, the staff were just very helpful and friendly, all the guest that stay there are all people who keep coming back, so that alone tells you something, I will definitely go back.

Ali Hassan

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akazmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#458 of 1,149 in Istanbul
100 reviews
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#645 of 1,149 in Istanbul
47 reviews
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#206 of 1,149 in Istanbul
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,986 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Galata

Property: New Galata
Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sok. No:16 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small and unique hotel with 5 rooms. Our little lodge simply offer 5 large rooms located in the Galata district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5oda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing